View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Clansman Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:35 pm Post subject: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hi everyone,
[long time no post heh?]
I'm having this issue that annoys me to death! I've been using, administrating and installing gentoo desktops and servers for 3 years now, and I've really enjoyed using, administrating, installing and seeing it grow over time. Some of my 2003 installations still stand, updated and working perfectly with minimum maintenance effort.
I'm installing a new server for a friend (starting from gentoo 2006.0 hardened stage3) and it's giving me some issues with the network configuration.
One of the network cards will have about 3-5 ips (2-4 alias) and a couple of static routes, at the time of installation.
By looking at /etc/conf.d/net.example, I inferred that the following configuration would work:
Code: |
#modules="iproute2"
config_ethLAN=( "192.168.1.126/25 broadcast 192.168.1.127" "192.168.1.1/25 broadcast 192.168.1.127" )
routes_ethLAN=( "192.168.0.0/24 dev ethLAN" "default via 192.168.0.254" )
|
It doesn't. The NIC starts up ok with all aliases, but both routes fail do setup correctly.
If I force the iproute2 module, the NIC starts up ok but without aliases (it get's configured with the first ip as explained in /etc/conf.d/net.example) but the routes show up fine.
This setup works perfectly if things are setup manually.
Now for the questions:
1. How can I configure such a setup?
2. If iproute2 can't handle creating alias with the "space separated ip definition" syntax, how is it done then? How are aliases created with iproute2?
3. Why are the routes failing (with ifconfig)?
Cheers everyone, _________________ http://www.pjvenda.org
Last edited by Clansman on Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:39 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 2:43 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
Clansman wrote: |
By looking at /etc/conf.d/net.example, I inferred that the following configuration would work:
Code: |
#modules="iproute2"
config_ethLAN=( "192.168.1.126/25 broadcast 192.168.1.127" "192.168.1.1/25 broadcast 192.168.1.127" )
routes_ethLAN=( "192.168.0.0/24 dev ethLAN" "default via 192.168.0.254" )
|
|
You don't need to specify dev ethLAN in the route setup as that's inferred by routes_ethLAN
Quote: |
It doesn't. The NIC starts up ok with all aliases, but both routes fail do setup correctly. |
Probably a bug - sounds like you're using baselayout-1.11, should be fixed in baselayout-1.12
Quote: |
If I force the iproute2 module, the NIC starts up ok but without aliases (it get's configured with the first ip as explained in /etc/conf.d/net.example) but the routes show up fine. |
iproute2 does not need aliases
Code: | ip addr show dev ethLAN |
There you go ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Clansman Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:13 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
UberLord wrote: |
You don't need to specify dev ethLAN in the route setup as that's inferred by routes_ethLAN
|
uhh, looks obvious. sorry.
Quote: | Quote: |
It doesn't. The NIC starts up ok with all aliases, but both routes fail do setup correctly. |
Probably a bug - sounds like you're using baselayout-1.11, should be fixed in baselayout-1.12
|
hmm, can't check right now, but is baselayout 1.12 already x86 (as opposed to ~x86)?
Quote: | Quote: |
If I force the iproute2 module, the NIC starts up ok but without aliases (it get's configured with the first ip as explained in /etc/conf.d/net.example) but the routes show up fine. |
iproute2 does not need aliases
Code: | ip addr show dev ethLAN |
|
I don't get it. iproute2 doesn't need aliases, but I do
Thanks for your kind reply.
Cheers, _________________ http://www.pjvenda.org |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 3:46 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
Clansman wrote: |
hmm, can't check right now, but is baselayout 1.12 already x86 (as opposed to ~x86)? |
Not yet.
Quote: | I don't get it. iproute2 doesn't need aliases, but I do ![Smile :-)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
Why do *you* need aliases? It's not a new interface - you cannot bind to it or use it in firewall rules.
If you need it working with aliases then I suggest you use baselayout-1.12 and force the ifconfig module as that defaults to iproute2. _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Clansman Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 4:26 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
Thanks for the quick tips
2 examples just popped for alias usage:
- tinydns and dnscachex don't work on the same address;
- ip based vhosting for ssl websites;
Why do you say that I can't bind to it or use it in firewall rules? About the firewall, I didn't try, but I sure can bind an application to a specific address - an aliased address in particular!
Cheers, _________________ http://www.pjvenda.org |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 4:32 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
Clansman wrote: | 2 examples just popped for alias usage:
- tinydns and dnscachex don't work on the same address;
- ip based vhosting for ssl websites; |
Huh? They bind to a specific IP address - not an alias
Quote: | Why do you say that I can't bind to it or use it in firewall rules? About the firewall, I didn't try, but I sure can bind an application to a specific address - an aliased address in particular! |
Again, you're binding to a specific address - not an alias. The fact that the address is aliased from an interface does not matter. _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Clansman Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 4:59 pm Post subject: Re: Configuration of aliased static ips, static routes? |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Again, you're binding to a specific address - not an alias. The fact that the address is aliased from an interface does not matter. |
Whoops!! My mistake. I was convinced that "multiple ips on an interface" meant "aliases". It seems that it isn't so anymore.
Thanks a lot and sorry for the noise.
Cheers, _________________ http://www.pjvenda.org |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Clansman Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2006 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's me again;
I've read some iproute2 manpage, updated baselayout to 1.12 and retouched /etc/conf.d/net.
Works beautifully now. Thanks for the advices!
Cheers, _________________ http://www.pjvenda.org |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|