View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:52 pm Post subject: problem with eth0 [SOLVED] |
|
|
Ok, I've just spent an hour reading through the forums on this problem and I'm still stuck. I'm a bit of a linux noobie so be easy on me Anyway, on boot up i get "eth0 does not exist". Now this rig was working perfectly but the powersupply failed and knocked out the mobo so I had to swap it out with a spare which has a different onboard LAN card.
lspci gives:
Code: | Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 13) |
So, I made sure to build this into the kernel...device drivers->network device support->ethernet( 1000 Mbit )->new syskonnect gigaethernet support...I also tried the marvell yukon chipset(derecated) neither one worked.
ifconfig -a still only lists lo with 127.0.0.1 now all my reading leads me to believe that the drivers aren't installed on the kernel but I've added them in (not as modules). Did I miss something?
Last edited by metal688 on Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:46 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
guduri Apprentice
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 230 Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try it with the live cd and see if it works. If it does check and see what module the livecd loaded and go from there. _________________ Power is about what you can control. Freedom is about what you can unleash. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thepustule Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 212 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've had different Marvel Yukon NICs work sometimes and not work sometimes depending on my kernel version. It seems Marvel is coming out with new Yukons all the time and the linux kernel people are having challenges keeping up.
What is your kernel version? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It does work from Live Cd I'll have to check wat module it uses...kernel is 2.6.14
Edit: When I run lsmod on live cd I see "ieee1394 59192 2 sbp2,ohci1394" I'm assuming this is the module for the LAN card? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
guduri Apprentice
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 230 Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I dont think so. That looks like firewire. Could you post the output of lsmod. _________________ Power is about what you can control. Freedom is about what you can unleash. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here is the output I get when I run lsmod.
Code: |
livecd ~ # lsmod
Module Size Used by
ipv6 188544 12
parport_pc 28004 0
parport 22696 1 parport_pc
floppy 45204 0
pcspkr 2764 0
rtc 8940 0
skge 28080 0
dm_mod 38340 0
ata_piix 6244 0
ahci 7972 0
sata_qstor 6468 0
sata_vsc 5284 0
sata_uli 4576 0
sata_sis 4448 0
sata_sx4 9924 0
sata_nv 5988 0
sata_via 5572 0
sata_svw 4868 0
sata_sil 6116 0
sata_promise 7268 0
libata 28036 12 ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sis,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil,sata_promise
sbp2 17160 0
ohci1394 26388 0
ieee1394 59192 2 sbp2,ohci1394
sl811_hcd 9664 0
ohci_hcd 15396 0
uhci_hcd 24368 0
usb_storage 50464 0
usbhid 26112 0
ehci_hcd 23272 0
usbcore 76892 7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
guduri Apprentice
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 230 Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Enable the following in the kernel (your network driver is skge)
Code: |
"Device Drivers"->"Networking device support"->"Ethernet (1000 Mbit)"->"New SysKonnect GigaEthernet support"
|
_________________ Power is about what you can control. Freedom is about what you can unleash. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have the syskonnect enabled in the kernel...I did the following
Code: | cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig
"Selected the driver"
make
shutdown -r now
|
I'm not even sure if the reboot is neccessary but it doesn't work either way...I think I might be skipping a step? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thepustule Apprentice
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 Posts: 212 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You sure are.
You configured, and built a nice new kernel, and then proceeded to reboot with the old one. You need to do a couple more things.
First, Code: | make modules_install | to get the modules put into their place where the kernel can load them.
Then you need to copy your brand new kernel from /usr/src/linux-<version>/arch/<arch>/boot/bzImage to your /boot directory.
Then you need to configure grub or lilo (not sure which you use) to actually boot that new kernel instead of the old one. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ahhh HA! I knew it would be something stupid... Ok I will give that all a try when I get home from work. Thanks for the help guys, hopefully this works |
|
Back to top |
|
|
metal688 n00b
Joined: 30 Nov 2005 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks guys! That worked...my server is now back up and running |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|