Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Apache won't start with php
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 4:30 pm    Post subject: Apache won't start with php Reply with quote

I am trying to get apache (1.3.something-r4) to work with PHP. After emerge apache php mod_php when starting the server I get the following:
Code:
knarf root # /etc/init.d/apache start
 * Starting apache...
Syntax error on line 57 of /etc/apache/conf/apache.conf:
Cannot load /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so into server: /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so: undefined symbol: unixd_config                       [ !! ]

I already reemerged it, but no change... My USE flags look like this:
Code:
USE="artswrappersuid cjk curl directfb flash gd imap lcms matrox mbox \
     moznocompose moznoirc moznomail odbc pic samba tiff usb vim-with-x \
     wmf xface xfs xinerama xml xosd"


Any hints on how to get this to work? I really have no clue what goes wrong here...
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you examined line 57 of apache.conf? Remember to run the necessary commands to configure apache to run with PHP. See the desktop configuration guide on www.gentoo.org.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That I did, and it contains the following:
Code:
<IfDefine PHP4>
LoadModule php4_module    extramodules/libphp4.so
</IfDefine>


It tries to load the module but it cannot find mentioned symbol.

Thanks for mentioning this guide tough... as soon as apache and php work, I will install squirelmail...

But for now, it cannot find a symbol it needs... why is that and what can I do about it?
Code:

[knarf@pts/2 ~]% ldd /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so
        libcrypt.so.1 => /lib/libcrypt.so.1 (0x403c7000)
        libssl.so.0.9.6 => /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.6 (0x403f4000)
        libcrypto.so.0.9.6 => /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.6 (0x40423000)
        libsablot.so.0 => /usr/lib/libsablot.so.0 (0x404e6000)
        libexpat.so.0 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.0 (0x405a6000)
        libqt-mt.so.3 => /usr/qt/3/lib/libqt-mt.so.3 (0x405cc000)
        libpspell.so.15 => /usr/lib/libpspell.so.15 (0x40c30000)
        libpdf.so.1 => /usr/lib/libpdf.so.1 (0x40c32000)
        libz.so.1 => /usr/lib/libz.so.1 (0x40cd6000)
        libtiff.so.3 => /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3 (0x40ce4000)
        libpng.so.3 => /usr/lib/libpng.so.3 (0x40d2b000)
        libmysqlclient.so.12 => /usr/lib/libmysqlclient.so.12 (0x40d57000)
        libming.so => /usr/lib/libming.so (0x40d98000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x40dd4000)
        libmhash.so.2 => /usr/lib/libmhash.so.2 (0x40df6000)
        libmcrypt.so.4 => /usr/lib/libmcrypt.so.4 (0x40e14000)
        libltdl.so.3 => /usr/lib/libltdl.so.3 (0x40e4a000)
        libpam.so.0 => /lib/libpam.so.0 (0x40e51000)
        libt1.so.1 => /usr/lib/libt1.so.1 (0x40e5a000)
        libttf.so.2 => /usr/lib/libttf.so.2 (0x40ea7000)
        libX11.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6 (0x40ed1000)
        libXpm.so.4 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXpm.so.4 (0x40fb0000)
        libjpeg.so.62 => /usr/lib/libjpeg.so.62 (0x40fbf000)
        libxsltbreakpoint.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxsltbreakpoint.so.1 (0x40fdf000)
        libxslt.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxslt.so.1 (0x40fe2000)
        libdb.so.2 => /usr/lib/libdb.so.2 (0x41010000)
        libgdbm.so.2 => /usr/lib/libgdbm.so.2 (0x4101f000)
        libcrack.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcrack.so.2 (0x41025000)
        libbz2.so.1.0 => /usr/lib/libbz2.so.1.0 (0x4102f000)
        libresolv.so.2 => /lib/libresolv.so.2 (0x4103e000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x41050000)
        libnsl.so.1 => /lib/libnsl.so.1 (0x41053000)
        libcurl.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcurl.so.2 (0x41067000)
        libxml2.so.2 => /usr/lib/libxml2.so.2 (0x4108d000)
        libodbc.so.1 => /usr/lib/libodbc.so.1 (0x4118e000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x411f0000)
        libstdc++.so.5 => /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.3/libstdc++.so.5 (0x41319000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x413dc000)
        libaudio.so.2 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libaudio.so.2 (0x4142c000)
        libXt.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXt.so.6 (0x41441000)
        libmng.so.1 => /usr/lib/libmng.so.1 (0x41498000)
        libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 (0x414dc000)
        libXmu.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXmu.so.6 (0x41544000)
        libXi.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXi.so.6 (0x4155a000)
        libXrender.so.1 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0x41562000)
        libXft.so.2 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXft.so.2 (0x4156a000)
        libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0x4157d000)
        libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0x415d9000)
        libXext.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXext.so.6 (0x41604000)
        libSM.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libSM.so.6 (0x41614000)
        libICE.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libICE.so.6 (0x4161d000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i686-pc-linux-gnu/3.2.3/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x41634000)
        libaspell.so.15 => /usr/lib/libaspell.so.15 (0x4163d000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x80000000)
        libXau.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXau.so.6 (0x416dd000)
        libGLcore.so.1 => /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1 (0x416e0000)

It looks like it can find all the libs it needs (GLcore??? well, whatever)...
but then why...
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 10:04 pm    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

OK, this was solved by unmerging apache2 and remerging mod_php.. No clue what apache2 was doing there in the first place, but now it's gone everything works smoothly...

Tnx spyderous for your time and that guide :-)
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You had apache2 on there? The problem may have been having apache2 without a USE flag for apache2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had... and I did not want it... I don't know how it came there. Could it be that "emerge apache" also merges apache2?

Code:

[knarf@pts/0 ~]% emerge -p apache

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild    U ] net-www/apache-2.0.46 [1.3.27-r4]


Yes... so now if I ever run emerge -u again, my apache will stop working because apache2 gets installed. Then I manualy emerge -C it and remerge mod_php...

Does no one else have this problem?
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must be running ~arch. There's really very few reasons not to run apache2, since almost all the modules support it. My solution to this is to place a package.mask file in PORTDIR_OVERLAY/profiles/:
Code:
>=apache-2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 9:47 am    Post subject: And AxKit? Reply with quote

Does AxKit also support apache2?

The main reason for installing apache here is I want to experiment with AxKit.
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 3:19 pm    Post subject: Re: And AxKit? Reply with quote

vodka wrote:
Does AxKit also support apache2?

I can't imagine why not as long as you have mod_perl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 6:36 pm    Post subject: Re: And AxKit? Reply with quote

spyderous wrote:
vodka wrote:
Does AxKit also support apache2?

I can't imagine why not as long as you have mod_perl.


In fact, I was just told it wasn't ported to apache2. But take a look for yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tommitek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2003
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the "Desktop Configuration Guide" -- step 8 (Apache and Squirrelmail Webmail) and have the exact same problem when trying to start apache:

Code:
Syntax error on line 57 of /etc/apache/conf/apache.conf:
Cannot load /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so into server: /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so: undefined symbol: unixd_config

Aside from unmerging Apache2, how can the "unixd_config" symbol be satisfied to make this work?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
foxcub
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 131
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem. I had apache with php installed, then I added apache2. I do not have apache2 in my USE flags, and I don't need PHP for it (the only reason I need apache2 is for subversion). After an emerge -u world yesterday, php upgraded itself, but now I'm getting the same error as the original poster (about an undefined symbol in a module). What is the problem and how can I solve it? It's almost as if php found apache2, and compiled itself for apache2, and, as a result, did not want to work with apache.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 8:13 pm    Post subject: package-mask Reply with quote

Code:
[knarf@pts/5 :l/portage]% su -c "echo \">=apache-2\" > profiles/package.mask"
Password:
[knarf@pts/5 :l/portage]% cat profiles/package.mask
>=apache-2
[knarf@pts/5 :l/portage]% sudo emerge -up apache

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild    U ] net-www/apache-2.0.46 [1.3.27-r4]

Well... Any suggestions? And yes, that is my $PORTDIR_OVERLAY...
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm....try >=net-www/apache-2 and see if that helps. That's the format of package.mask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That I did immediately after posting (should have tried before posting but in this case that didn't matter since...), but it still tries to upgrade...

Code:
[knarf@pts/0 ~]% cat /etc/make.conf | grep ^PORTDIR_OVERLAY
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage
[knarf@pts/0 ~]% ls /usr/local/portage/profiles/package.mask
/usr/local/portage/profiles/package.mask
[knarf@pts/0 ~]% cat /usr/local/portage/profiles/package.mask
>=net-www/apache-2


:?
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2003 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not really sure why it's not working, but here's an option that's more work. Move all the apache-2* ebuilds to PORTDIR_OVERLAY, and in them, change KEYWORDS="~x86 ..." to KEYWORDS="-x86 ..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vodka
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 24
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2003 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And then the next time, when a new apache ebuild is released, I have to do that over again since there will, again, be a newer version :-(.

For now I added >=net-www/apache-2 to /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask, and there it *does* work... so next time I sync, I'll do that again... and again... and...
_________________
Ik ben niet gek ik ben een vliegtuig. Als je het niet gelooft stap je maar uit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum