Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
WPA with ipw2200 driver from portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:44 pm    Post subject: WPA with ipw2200 driver from portage Reply with quote

My issue is that I cannot connect to a wifi with a WPA key using wpa_supplicant, here's my wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
network = {
        ssid="tylers"
        #scan_ssid=1
        #key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk="lolnublol"
        priority=5
        #psk=0cf2711f2cc5f480b0ccf7f2230799aa7d7cdfe84701c31fc12c15b6a1a3c1c2
}
I've tried with and without the comments, messing around with that a lot, here's my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules=( "!wpa_supplicant !iwconfig" )
#modules=( "iwconfig" )
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-Dwext"
#config_eth0=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
#config_eth1=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
config_ESSID=( "tylers" )

And I've played around with using static vs DHCP and what not, never really getting connected to my wifi.
I've tried wpa and wpa2 using personal home key of
Code:
lolnublol
and when I run /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start I get this(Without loading the iwconfig module)
Code:

darkside ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
* Caching service dependencies ...                                       [ ok ]
* Starting eth0
*   Starting wpa_supplicant on eth0 ...                                  [ ok ]
*   Starting wpa_cli on eth0 ...                                         [ ok ]
*     Backgrounding ...
And then nothing happens, iwconfig doesn't get associated with my ssid unless I enter in the key manually, and even then I can't bring up eth0 and ping the router.
if I load the iwconfig module after wpa_supplicant, as you see in the above conf.d/net file I get this:
Code:
darkside ~ # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
 * Caching service dependencies ...                                       [ ok ]
 * Unmounting network filesystems ...                                     [ ok ]
 * Stopping eth0
 *   Bringing down eth0
 *     Stopping dhcpcd on eth0 ...                                        [ ok ]
 *     Shutting down eth0 ...                                             [ ok ]
 * Starting eth0
 *   Configuring wireless network for eth0
 *   WEP key is not set for "tylers" - not connecting
 *   Couldn't associate with any access points on eth0
 *   Failed to configure wireless for eth0


I've tried many wiki's I've seen on this, and simply cannot get WPA to work, it's not vital at my house since I just ban any mac addresses that I don't recognize ^_^ but at school I need to be able to set a key and enter it and have been unsuccessful thus far.
Other information: ipw2200 provided by portage, kernel version refuses to work
kernel = 2.6.18-gentoo
Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CoffeeBuzz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 269
Location: Canada Eh.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:27 pm    Post subject: Re: WPA with ipw2200 driver from portage Reply with quote

tylerwylie wrote:
here's my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules=( "!wpa_supplicant !iwconfig" )
#modules=( "iwconfig" )
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-Dwext"
#config_eth0=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
#config_eth1=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
config_ESSID=( "tylers" )

.


Curious, why is wpa_supplicant disabled? I would think you want it enabled no?

modules=( "wpa_supplicant" "!iwconfig" )
_________________
HP Pavilion zd7260us
Xgl Overlay: http://svn.xgl-coffee.org/xgl-coffee/trunk
Xgl Forums: http://forums.xgl-coffee.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:34 pm    Post subject: Re: WPA with ipw2200 driver from portage Reply with quote

CoffeeBuzz wrote:
tylerwylie wrote:
here's my /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
modules=( "!wpa_supplicant !iwconfig" )
#modules=( "iwconfig" )
wpa_supplicant_eth0="-Dwext"
#config_eth0=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth0=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
#config_eth1=( "192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
#routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
config_ESSID=( "tylers" )

.


Curious, why is wpa_supplicant disabled? I would think you want it enabled no?

modules=( "wpa_supplicant" "!iwconfig" )
When I run it like that all I get is this:
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
 * Stopping eth0
 *   Bringing down eth0
 *     Stopping dhcpcd on eth0 ...                                        [ ok ]
 *     Shutting down eth0 ...                                             [ ok ]
 * Starting eth0
 *   Starting wpa_supplicant on eth0 ...                                  [ ok ]
 *   Starting wpa_cli on eth0 ...                                         [ ok ]
 *     Backgrounding ...
And then nothing happens. No attempt to connect to a network and what not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is correct.
Monitor wpa_supplicant like so

wpa_cli status

If it's connected then

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 status

should show started. If wpa_cli status doesn't say it's connected then it's a problem with your wpa_supplicant config
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
That is correct.
Monitor wpa_supplicant like so

wpa_cli status

If it's connected then

/etc/init.d/net.eth0 status

should show started. If wpa_cli status doesn't say it's connected then it's a problem with your wpa_supplicant config
Okay so if I can get associated with a wireless router how do I get the router to assign my pc an ip via dhcp? dhcpcd wouldn't work. if I tried manually I wouldn't be able to ping my way through a wet paper bag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloeki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 437
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" "udhcpc" )
config_eth0="dhcpcd"
config_wlan0="dhcpcd"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
network={
        ssid="youressid"
        psk="yourpsk"
        priority=5
}


that's mine. adapt. and read /etc/conf.d/net.example and /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, the least read files in the world.

check link with ifplugstatus (emerge ifplugd)
check association with iwconfig or wpa_cli
check ip with ifconfig
check dhcp with cat /etc/resolv.conf
final check by pinging your router, then google.com
_________________
Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lloeki wrote:
Code:
# cat /etc/conf.d/net
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" "udhcpc" )
config_eth0="dhcpcd"
config_wlan0="dhcpcd"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
# cat /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
network={
        ssid="youressid"
        psk="yourpsk"
        priority=5
}


that's mine. adapt. and read /etc/conf.d/net.example and /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf, the least read files in the world.

check link with ifplugstatus (emerge ifplugd)
check association with iwconfig or wpa_cli
check ip with ifconfig
check dhcp with cat /etc/resolv.conf
final check by pinging your router, then google.com

Alright thanks I'll give it a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerwylie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 458
Location: /US/Georgia/Atlanta

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck, still fooling around with some settings again though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloeki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 437
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to run commands by hand. as root:
first stop your net.yourinterface
then start wpa_supplicant by hand (see man wpa_supplicant for options) with the switch that makes it not daemonize, and maybe some verbose mode
then, if it associated correctly, run dhcpcd yourinterface
_________________
Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blurpy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Feb 2003
Posts: 111
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't connect to anything with ipw2200 v1.1.3, v1.1.4 and v1.2.0 using wpa supplicant. Try downgrading to v1.1.2, which is the last version which works for me.
Strangely, I can connect with any version using iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum