Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Intel Centrino 1.4GHz speedstep problem.. another
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:55 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Intel Centrino 1.4GHz speedstep problem.. another Reply with quote

sometime age i have working cpufreq but i dont used it but now i need it and when i want turn it on its just dont work. I dont have modules like speedstep-* cpufreq-* cose i have everything compiled into kernel:

Code:
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y


and when i try `/etc/init.d/cpufrequtils start` i get this:
Code:
 * Service cpufrequtils starting                                                 
[ !! ]unknown or unhandled CPU?
 * ERROR:  cpufrequtils failed to start


running cpufreq-info or -set gives me this:
Code:
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
  no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU


my /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/ is empty. My /proc/cpuinfo
Code:
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor         1.40GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 1400.286
cache size      : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx
bogomips        : 2802.12


i have everything about my cpu in /proc/acpi/processor but its dont gives me anything. I read about throtling/scalling etc here and on google but didnt find any solution for me.
x86info:

Code:
x86info v1.20.  Dave Jones 2001-2006
Feedback to <davej@redhat.com>.

Found 1 CPU
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Family: 6 Model: 13 Stepping: 8 Type: 0 Brand: 2
CPU Model: Pentium M (Dothan) [C-0] Original OEM
Feature flags:
 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflsh ds acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe
Extended feature flags:
 xd
Cache info
 L1 Instruction cache: 32KB, 8-way associative. 64 byte line size.
 L1 Data cache: 32KB, 8-way associative. 64 byte line size.
 L3 unified cache: 1MB, sectored, 8-way associative. 64 byte line size.
TLB info
 Instruction TLB: 4K pages, 4-way associative, 128 entries.
 Instruction TLB: 4MB pages, fully associative, 2 entries
 Data TLB: 4K pages, 4-way associative, 128 entries.
 Data TLB: 4MB pages, 4-way associative, 8 entries
 64 byte prefetching.
1.30GHz processor (estimate).
gives me nothing same as uname -a:
Linux SynDroM 2.6.18-gentoo #1 Tue Oct 3 17:22:09 CEST 2006 i686 Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.40GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

i dont have any other ideas what can be wrong :(


Last edited by kamracik on Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Celeron M doesn't have SpeedStep support. You'll have to use "Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation" and the userspace governor with a software CPU daemon, like powernowd.

Code:
1. Compile the kernel with support for "Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation" and the userspace governor.
2. emerge powernowd
3. /etc/init.d/powernowd start
4. rc-update add powernowd default

_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure?? cose now i have checked my old kernel and with it everything just work fine using onlu cpufrequtils. i easly can change speed from 175MHz to 1,4GHz in 8 steps.

i'm wondering isn't that a bug in 2.6.18 kernel.. cose if with my previous kernel it works and i dont change config so here it should work too.. isn't it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if the CPU is truely a Intel Celeron M, then I'm sure. I have one myself, and I've read through the CPU specs from Intel which clearly states that Celeron M does not have SpeedStep support.
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so maybe my is choosen ;)

Code:
cat /proc/acpi/processor/C000/throttling
state count:             8
active state:            T0
states:
   *T0:                  00%
    T1:                  12%
    T2:                  25%
    T3:                  37%
    T4:                  50%
    T5:                  62%
    T6:                  75%
    T7:                  87%


Code:
cat /proc/acpi/processor/C000/info
processor id:            0
acpi id:                 1
bus mastering control:   yes
power management:        yes
throttling control:      yes
limit interface:         yes


this tells me too that my processor allows for throtling :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, ACPI throttling is not the same thing as SpeedStep, trust me.

Here's my "stuff" for example:

Code:
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor         1.50GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 187.500
cache size      : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe nx
bogomips        : 3000.11


Code:
$ cat /proc/acpi/processor/C000/throttling
state count:             8
active state:            T0
states:
   *T0:                  00%
    T1:                  12%
    T2:                  25%
    T3:                  37%
    T4:                  50%
    T5:                  62%
    T6:                  75%
    T7:                  87%


Code:
$ cat /proc/acpi/processor/C000/info
processor id:            0
acpi id:                 1
bus mastering control:   yes
power management:        yes
throttling control:      yes
limit interface:         yes


You'll unfortunatly have to do as I wrote - run a software CPU scaler (and yes, cpufreqd is also a software scaler, it just doesn't work as reliable as powernowd).
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i'll try powernowd ;)

but thought that cpufreq-set and -info uses speedstep :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

however powernowd dont work too :/ it wants to access /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/cpuinfo_max_freq but i dont have that file in afect of kernel. Its just dont want use it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you compiled your kernel with p4-clockmod and the userspace scaling governor?
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes with all of them. i tell you that i use the same config as for 2.6.17 kernel but and in there everything works fine but when i compile 2.6.18 it fails and not only i have got that problem as i see in another topic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... Well, perhaps you should stick with 2.6.17 until they fix your issue then?
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunately i dont have another way. thx for help :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamracik wrote:
unfortunately i dont have another way. thx for help :]


Did you "modprobe p4-clockmod"
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i have compiled it into kernel :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamracik wrote:
no i have compiled it into kernel :]


Strange, I have it as a module and can modprobe it and I get the correct files/directories under /proc and /sys

I'm using 2.6.18 gentoo-sources.
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange.. i will try compile it as module and will see
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now i see the problem ;)

Code:
FATAL: Error inserting p4_clockmod (/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/p4-clockmod.ko): Device or resource busy


and here is the solution ;)

http://lkml.org/lkml/2006/7/31/43

thx guys for that clue :]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roderick
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jul 2005
Posts: 908
Location: St. John's, NL CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamracik wrote:
now i see the problem ;)

Code:
FATAL: Error inserting p4_clockmod (/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo/kernel/arch/i386/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/p4-clockmod.ko): Device or resource busy


and here is the solution ;)

http://lkml.org/lkml/2006/7/31/43

thx guys for that clue :]


THat's why I compile things like this as modules. Kernel will generally load what's correct and you can get better error messages.

After, you can always compile direct into kernel once you know it's the thing you want.

Cheers
_________________
If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 209
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello all!

so, with the kernel-config from http://lkml.org/lkml/2006/7/31/43 you can change the frequency of your celeron ?
are you sure? because celeron cpus have a fixed multiplier, so the only way to change the frequency is by changing the FSB. and there is no utility for linux to do this, as far as i know.
so please check your frequency with /proc/cpuinfo and /sys/devices/system/cpu/CPU0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_frequency .
could please post this two files here again, after you changed your cpu-freq ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

before:
Code:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor         1.40GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 1400.000
cache size      : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe
bogomips        : 2802.18


Code:
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
140000


after changing frequency:
Code:
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 13
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor         1.40GHz
stepping        : 8
cpu MHz         : 175.000
cache size      : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe
bogomips        : 2802.18

Code:
# cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq
175000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robak
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Jan 2004
Posts: 209
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this confuses me a little bit.
but it seems to work correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamracik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Location: Poland->Lodz

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah :] i know that ;) but the stangest thing is that i cant disable cpufreq :/ i saw that when i even skip everything about freq in kernel it still uses scaling by automatic ondemand governor :] and that is really confusing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum