View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tony_yum n00b
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:12 am Post subject: Failed to load module "Radeon" |
|
|
Hi, I have recently upgraded my X.org to 7.0 and since then my X wouldn't start. Seemed like I have to update the driver for my mobility radeon 9200. So I did and I got an error saying unrecognized chipset after the upgrade. Reading around the forums, I found out that ATI no longer support my graphics card and so I have to look for open source alternatives.
I added x11-base/x11-drm ~86 to /etc/portage/package.keywods
and added x11-base/x11-drm video_cards_radeon to /etc/portage/packages.use
Did an
emerge x11-xorg
Now when I try starting X with "radeon" as my driver I get failed to load driver "Radeon"
Code: |
tasty linux # modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/video/aty/radeonfb.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.10-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.ko
|
Your help would be much appretiated. _________________ Tony Yum ( places to go out http://www.revmap.com ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bugg_tb Apprentice
Joined: 19 Nov 2004 Posts: 282 Location: Leeds, UK
|
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've never played with radeon cards but 2 thoughts spring to mind, in your /etc/make.conf file have you added the appropriate driver to the
VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"
and then emerged X11?
and also have you modprobed the related radeon modules into the kernel? _________________ Remember, even at a Mensa convention someone is the dumbest person in the room! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuppe666 Guru
Joined: 02 Mar 2004 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had this the problem for quite some time...
check this out http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_DRI_with_ATi_Open-Source_Drivers
Make sure you "make clean" your kernel, although I am not sure why you are not using 2.6.18.2 the latest stable. Unless there is a *GOOD* reason to do so I would suggest strongly that you ungrade to this and *keep* 2.6.10 as a stable kernel.
I would suggest removing with rm -R your /lib/modules/2.6.10 *if* you are going to use the same kernel which I would NOT suggest. You should keep this as a backup.
You have the choice of using the drm from the kernel or from xorg. You are currently *mixing* both. If you previously use the one from the kernel it will try and use that one!? I have no idea why. It is not your fault.
After you have upgraded I suggest you re-emerge x11-base/x11-drm again.
You should end up with something like this...
Quote: | modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.18.2y/x11-drm/radeon.ko
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
tony_yum n00b
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply. I'm going to try upgrading the kernal and see how it goes and let you guys know.
thanx again _________________ Tony Yum ( places to go out http://www.revmap.com ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tony_yum n00b
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've emerged the lastest gentoo-sources and did genkernel, setup grub to boot the new kernel and rebooted.
Got the error message "block device is unspecified or not detected".
I am 100% sure I have the same parameter as the the other 2.6.10 kernel, ( except ofcause the initram and kernel image ).
I looked around and I found that there is a bug with genkernel and I need to put udev at the end of the kernel line, ( similar to my other box ). Reboot, doesn't work. Run grub again, still giving the same error message.
Think I might do a manual kernel build instead of using genkernel and see what happens. _________________ Tony Yum ( places to go out http://www.revmap.com ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wynn Advocate
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tony_yum wrote: | I've emerged the lastest gentoo-sources and did genkernel, setup grub to boot the new kernel and rebooted.
Got the error message "block device is unspecified or not detected".
I am 100% sure I have the same parameter as the the other 2.6.10 kernel, ( except ofcause the initram and kernel image ).
I looked around and I found that there is a bug with genkernel and I need to put udev at the end of the kernel line, ( similar to my other box ). Reboot, doesn't work. Run grub again, still giving the same error message.
Think I might do a manual kernel build instead of using genkernel and see what happens. | You may find some helpful hints in [FAQ] KC13: I just installed a new kernel and it won't boot _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tony_yum n00b
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Okay got it booting up by using the manual build of the kernel.
Tried using the kernel radeon driver
Code: |
> modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/video/aty/radeonfb.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.ko
|
startx fails, this is part of the Xorg.0.log
Code: |
(II) LoadModule: "radeon"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module radeon
(II) UnloadModule: "radeon"
(EE) Failed to load module "radeon" (module does not exist, 0)
|
did emerge x11-drm
now I have
Code: |
> modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/x11-drm/radeon.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/video/aty/radeonfb.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.ko
|
Still get the same error when I do startx
Where does X try to look for it's drivers? _________________ Tony Yum ( places to go out http://www.revmap.com ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wynn Advocate
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tony_yum wrote: | Where does X try to look for it's drivers? | /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/
If you don't have radeon_drv.so in this directory then you need to add VIDEO_CARDS="radeon" to your make.conf (better than adding "x11-base/x11-drm video_cards_radeon" to /etc/portage/packages.use IMHO) and emerge x11-base/xorg-server (this is for xorg 7.1, for 7.0 I think it is x11-base/xorg-x11 that takes account of VIDEO_CARDS and INPUT_DEVICES). _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuppe666 Guru
Joined: 02 Mar 2004 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | > modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/x11-drm/radeon.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/video/aty/radeonfb.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/kernel/drivers/char/drm/radeon.ko |
< > Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
< > ATI Radeon
you need to unselect these you do not *need* them selected.
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_DRI_with_ATi_Open-Source_Drivers
Quote: | # /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6: kernel modules to load when system boots.
#
# Note that this file is for 2.6 kernels.
#
# Add the names of modules that you'd like to load when the system
# starts into this file, one per line. Comments begin with # and
# are ignored. Read man modules.autoload for additional details.
# For example:
# aic7xxx
intel-agp
agpgart
radeon
|
This is where I load my radeon module. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tony_yum n00b
Joined: 20 Feb 2005 Posts: 12 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mmm... From the link it says I could choose to either use the kernel driver or the separate DRM module. So I treid the kernel module first, that didn't work so I then emerge the drm separately. But forgot to take out the kernel version. I've done that now.
I already have in my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Code: |
intel-agp
agpgart
radeon
|
I have now taken out the
< > Direct Rendering Manager (XFree86 4.1.0 and higher DRI support)
< > ATI Radeon
from menuconfig
removed the kernel module for DRM and ATI Radeon
Code: |
> modprobe -l | grep radeon
/lib/modules/2.6.18-gentoo-r2/x11-drm/radeon.ko
|
restarted the box and startx still give the same error.
The module is definately loaded why would it say Failed to load module @radeon@ ( module does not exist, 0 )
At the moment part of my xorg.conf looks like this
Code: |
Section "Device"
Identifier "ATI Radeon"
VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
Driver "radeon"
End Section
|
Instead of Driver "radeon" should I be using somthing else that says, use the module that is already loaded or somthing? _________________ Tony Yum ( places to go out http://www.revmap.com ) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|