View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
michaelbevilacqua n00b
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Schwenksville, PA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:52 pm Post subject: SGI O2 180MHz R5000 IP32 not booting from firmware |
|
|
First off, thank you for the Gentoo LiveCD. It works perfectly on this O2, although for someone who has just now aquired a SGI machine (me), stating somewhere how to boot the CD properly in the online docs (put the CD into the drive, going into the graphical menu and choosing 'Install System Software') would have been grand.
All of the other documentation was good until it came to the kernel and bootloading sections. I am so confused at this point about getting this thing to boot between what should be cross-compiled and what should be 64 or 32-bit.
I'll begin with all that I have tried so far on this IP32 O2 180MHz R5000 with 220MB RAM.
Code: |
emerge mips-sources
emerge kgcc64
make ip32_defconfig
make vmlinux.32 CROSS_COMPILE=mips64-unknown-linux-gnu-
emerge arcload dvhtool
dvhtool --unix-to-vh /usr/lib/arcload/sash64 sash64
|
My arc.cf:
Code: |
# ARCLoad Configuration
append "root=/dev/sda1";
append "ro";
ip32 {
# Select this by setting OSLoadFilename="ip32(working)"
working {
description "SGI O2 R5000\n\r";
image system "/working";
}
}
|
Code: |
dvhtool --unix-to-vh arc.cf arc.cf
dvhtool --unix-to-vh /usr/src/linux/vmlinux.32 working
setenv SystemPartition scsi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(8)
setenv OSLoader sash64
setenv OSLoadFilename ip32(working)
|
Two problems:
Using sash64 errors with:
Cannot load scsi(0)rdisk(0)partition(8)/sash64
Relocation failed
Unable to execute scsi(0)rdisk(0)partition(8)/sash64: execute format error
Unable to load scsi(0)rdisk(0)partition(8)/sash64:execute format error
boot -f working root=/dev/sda1 ro errors with:
PANIC: Unexpected exception
Any help would be magnificent. _________________ Michael Bevilacqua |
|
Back to top |
|
|
michaelbevilacqua n00b
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Schwenksville, PA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For kicks I just tried:
Code: |
dvhtool -d /dev/sr0 --print-all
dvhtool -d /dev/sr0 --vh-to-unix ip32r5k ip32r5k
dvhtool --vh-remove working
dvhtool --unix-to-vh ip32r5k working
boot -f working root=/dev/sda1 ro
|
This also did not work. _________________ Michael Bevilacqua |
|
Back to top |
|
|
michaelbevilacqua n00b
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Schwenksville, PA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:36 pm Post subject: Using sashARCS instead of sash64 |
|
|
This seems to correctly execute and look for the arc.cf. However, GRUB is unable to find ip32(working) or the arc.cf file on pci(0)scsi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(8). And I still do not have a bootable kernel. _________________ Michael Bevilacqua |
|
Back to top |
|
|
michaelbevilacqua n00b
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Schwenksville, PA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:36 pm Post subject: (sort of) SOLVED! |
|
|
I totally robbed the LiveCD's volume header contents using Code: | dvhtool -d /dev/sr0 --vh-to-unix file file | and then editing the arc.cf to look like:
Code: |
detect;
# IP32 O2
ip32 {
description "SGI O2";
append "real_root=/dev/sda1";
r5000 {
description "\tR5000 CPU";
image system "/ip32r5k";
}
rm5200 {
description "\tRM5200 CPU";
image system "/ip32rm5k";
}
video=640x480 {
description "\tGBEFB Console 640x480 16bpp/75Hz";
append "console=tty0 video=gbefb:640x480-16@75" "ip32";
}
video=800x600 {
description "\tGBEFB Console 800x600 16bpp/75Hz";
append "console=tty0 video=gbefb:800x600-16@75" "ip32";
}
video=1024x768 {
description "\tGBEFB Console 1024x768 16bpp/75Hz";
append "console=tty0 video=gbefb:1024x768-16@75" "ip32";
}
video=1280x1024 {
description "\tGBEFB Console 1280x1024 16bpp/75Hz\n\r\n\r\n\r";
append "console=tty0 video=gbefb:1280x1024-16@75" "ip32";
}
}
|
I would still like to know where I went wrong as it seems the sashARCS on the CD works where the one I compiled does not and of course, the fact I was unable to get this exact same kernel to boot using the Code: | boot -f ip32r5k root=/dev/sda1 ro | method. _________________ Michael Bevilacqua |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Redhatter Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 Posts: 548 Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:43 am Post subject: Re: SGI O2 180MHz R5000 IP32 not booting from firmware |
|
|
michaelbevilacqua wrote: | First off, thank you for the Gentoo LiveCD. It works perfectly on this O2, although for someone who has just now aquired a SGI machine (me), stating somewhere how to boot the CD properly in the online docs (put the CD into the drive, going into the graphical menu and choosing 'Install System Software') would have been grand.
All of the other documentation was good until it came to the kernel and bootloading sections. I am so confused at this point about getting this thing to boot between what should be cross-compiled and what should be 64 or 32-bit.
I'll begin with all that I have tried so far on this IP32 O2 180MHz R5000 with 220MB RAM.
Code: |
emerge mips-sources
emerge kgcc64
make ip32_defconfig
make vmlinux.32 CROSS_COMPILE=mips64-unknown-linux-gnu-
emerge arcload dvhtool |
|
You're fine up to here... that's indeed what you're susposed to do.
This is the point where you fall down though:
Quote: | Code: | dvhtool --unix-to-vh /usr/lib/arcload/sash64 sash64 |
|
In the handbook, it states:
Code: | (Indy/Indigo2/Challenge S/O2 users)
# dvhtool --unix-to-vh /usr/lib/arcload/sashARCS sashARCS |
Quote: | My arc.cf:
Code: |
# ARCLoad Configuration
append "root=/dev/sda1";
append "ro";
ip32 {
# Select this by setting OSLoadFilename="ip32(working)"
working {
description "SGI O2 R5000\n\r";
image system "/working";
}
}
|
Code: |
dvhtool --unix-to-vh arc.cf arc.cf
dvhtool --unix-to-vh /usr/src/linux/vmlinux.32 working
setenv SystemPartition scsi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(8)
setenv OSLoader sash64
setenv OSLoadFilename ip32(working)
|
|
The rest is fine... except OSLoader should be pointing at sashARCS.
You don't want the LiveCD's arc.cf, as the "detect;" line will cause problems. That tells arcload to try and pick a config, based on the system's hardware. _________________ Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...
Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
michaelbevilacqua n00b
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Schwenksville, PA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Redhatter.
I realized where I went wrong with the sash64 in my third post that has the small and unnoticable line "Post subject: Using sashARCS instead of sash64"
Quote: |
You don't want the LiveCD's arc.cf, as the "detect;" line will cause problems. That tells arcload to try and pick a config, based on the system's hardware.
|
Actually this works where the sample from the documentation site failed, although I'm not sure whether it's the arc.cf or my sashARCS binary. Just wanted to let you know in case someone falls into the same pit trap. This seems to be a good way of getting a bootable/running system that will in turn enable you to build another experimental kernel. Failing and then booting in to make changes in this fashion is (in my opinion) more efficient than using the LiveCD.
I'll keep plugging away at my kernel and sashARCS and arc.cf to see if I can figure out where I went wrong with this. Thanks for your reply. _________________ Michael Bevilacqua |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wvcslc n00b
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you ever get a working kernel?
when I do:
emerge mips-sources
make ip32_defconfig
make menuconfig
add support for ext3
make vmlinux.32 CROSS_COMPILE=mips64-unknown-linux-gnu-
and then copy the kernel to the volume header and reboot I get : Entering Kernel
and then nothing else, after a few minutes the light on the front of my o2 starts blinking red |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Redhatter Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 Posts: 548 Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wvcslc wrote: | Did you ever get a working kernel?
when I do:
emerge mips-sources
make ip32_defconfig
make menuconfig
add support for ext3
make vmlinux.32 CROSS_COMPILE=mips64-unknown-linux-gnu-
and then copy the kernel to the volume header and reboot I get : Entering Kernel
and then nothing else, after a few minutes the light on the front of my o2 starts blinking red |
Whoah... talk about bumping a year old thread...
Okay... for starters, what type of O2 do you have? (R5000, RM5200, RM7000, R1x000?) Are you using serial console or framebuffer? Which version of mips-sources did you grab? _________________ Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...
Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wvcslc n00b
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
>Whoah... talk about bumping a year old thread...
eeerr, yeah sorry didn't notice the date .
>Okay... for starters, what type of O2 do you have? (R5000, RM5200, RM7000, R1x000?)
r5000
$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type : SGI O2
processor : 0
cpu model : R5000 V2.1 FPU V1.0
BogoMIPS : 178.17
byteorder : big endian
wait instruction : yes
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 48
extra interrupt vector : no
hardware watchpoint : no
ASEs implemented :
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available
> Are you using serial console or framebuffer?
framebuffer, i have it plugged directly into my monitor, serial console would be tricky as my other computer is a ppc mac mini gentoo and I would have to find some committable usb->serial adapter
> Which version of mips-sources did you grab?
I just did an emerge mips-sources
$ equery list mips-sources
[I--] [ ~] sys-kernel/mips-sources-2.6.23.14 (2.6.23.14) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wvcslc n00b
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well I decided to give up on default config and instead just grabbed the .config from the cd proc filesystem, then did a make oldconfig
This gave me a kernel that actually booted
So it appears the latest kernel and default config don't play nice together
But it works so I'm happy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Redhatter Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 Posts: 548 Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is information definitely worth knowing... not hard to cook up a patch that fixes ip32_defconfig.
I'll have a look with my O2 and see what I can come up with. _________________ Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...
Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|