Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mounting 2nd hard drive [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Carlino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Bordeaux, France

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:34 pm    Post subject: mounting 2nd hard drive [solved] Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm trying to figure out the way to make the 2nd hard drive mounted at boot. There's 2 NTFS part. I could access. Here's what I mean:
Code:
fdisk -l

Disque /dev/hda: 80.0 Go, 80026361856 octets
255 têtes, 63 secteurs/piste, 9729 cylindres
Unités = cylindres de 16065 * 512 = 8225280 octets

Périphérique Amorce    Début         Fin      Blocs    Id  Système
/dev/hda1   *           1         765     6144831    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2             766         778      104422+  83  Linux
/dev/hda3             779         906     1028160   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda4             907        9729    70870747+   f  W95 Etendu (LBA)
/dev/hda5             907        2170    10153048+  83  Linux
/dev/hda6            2171        7918    46170778+  83  Linux
/dev/hda7            7919        9729    14546826    b  W95 FAT32

Disque /dev/hdb: 120.0 Go, 120034123776 octets
255 têtes, 63 secteurs/piste, 14593 cylindres
Unités = cylindres de 16065 * 512 = 8225280 octets

Périphérique Amorce    Début         Fin      Blocs    Id  Système
/dev/hdb1               2       14593   117210240    f  W95 Etendu (LBA)
/dev/hdb5               2        8925    71681998+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdb6            8926       14593    45528178+   7  HPFS/NTFS


Plus
Code:
cat /etc/fstab
/dev/hda2        /boot   ext2    defaults,noatime                1 2
/dev/hda3        none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/hda5        /       ext3    defaults,noatime                0 1
/dev/hda6        /home   ext3    defaults,noatime                0 0
/dev/hda7        /hdshare        vfat    defaults,noatime                0 0
none        /proc     proc    defaults          0 0
none        /dev/shm  tmpfs   defaults          0 0

Anybody'd point at me the right doc to read ?
_________________
Core 2 Quad 9400, Asus PQ5 Pro, Nvidia Geforce GTX 66O


Last edited by Carlino on Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erdie
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 2656
Location: Heidelberg - Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just put you 2nd harddisc in your fstab and mount it somewhere (whatever you want).
_________________
Desktop AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 32GB RAM, Asus GF GTX 1060.
Notebook Tuxedo Pulse 15 Gen1 AMD Ryzen 7 4800H mit Radeon Vega 7
Raspberry Pi 1 + 2 + 3B+ + Zero W
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
/dev/hdb5 /whatever  ntfs  defaults  0 0


from mount (8 ):

Code:
Mount options for ntfs
       iocharset=name
              Character set to use when returning file names.  Unlike VFAT, NTFS suppresses  names  that  contain
              unconvertible characters. Deprecated.

       nls=name
              New name for the option earlier called iocharset.

       utf8   Use UTF-8 for converting file names.

       uni_xlate=[0|1|2]
              For  0 (or `no' or `false'), do not use escape sequences for unknown Unicode characters.  For 1 (or
              `yes' or `true') or 2, use vfat-style 4-byte escape sequences starting with ":". Here 2 give a lit-
              tle-endian encoding and 1 a byteswapped bigendian encoding.

       posix=[0|1]
              If  enabled  (posix=1),  the  file system distinguishes between upper and lower case. The 8.3 alias
              names are presented as hard links instead of being suppressed.

       uid=value, gid=value and umask=value
              Set the file permission on the filesystem.  The umask value is given in  octal.   By  default,  the
              files are owned by root and not readable by somebody else.

_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Bordeaux, France

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanx guys, I suspected smthing like this... but still, there's smthing I must have been missing ; now that fstav looks this way :
Code:
/dev/hda2        /boot   ext2    defaults,noatime                1 2
/dev/hda3        none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/hda5        /       ext3    defaults,noatime                0 1
/dev/hda6        /home   ext3    defaults,noatime                0 0
/dev/hda7        /hdshare        vfat   defaults,noatime                0 0
/dev/hdb5        /images         ntfs   defaults                        0 0
/dev/hdb6        /ressources         ntfs   defaults                    0 0
none        /proc     proc    defaults          0 0
none        /dev/shm  tmpfs   defaults          0 0


I get an error message at boot saying :
Code:
* Mounting local file system
mount : this mount point /ressources doesn't exist
mount : this mount point /images doesn't exist
Some local file system failed to mount (usbfs)                 [!!]

_________________
Core 2 Quad 9400, Asus PQ5 Pro, Nvidia Geforce GTX 66O


Last edited by Carlino on Thu Dec 07, 2006 9:10 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smerf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 778
Location: Polska

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mountpoint have to exist before mounting

Code:
mkdir /ressources
mkdir /images


'/images doesn't exist' ... have you read error message before posting it?
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer, Microsoft is the question, the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carlino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Bordeaux, France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
'/images doesn't exist' ... have you read error message before posting it?

.... rtfm....yes I know... sorry for noobing that bad..... hopefully there are guys like you out there ! :wink: Thanx for your help smerf
_________________
Core 2 Quad 9400, Asus PQ5 Pro, Nvidia Geforce GTX 66O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum