View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
opensas Guru
Joined: 24 Nov 2004 Posts: 408 Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:05 am Post subject: can't mount samba partition - SOLVED |
|
|
Hi everybody
I'm trying to mount a shared resource using mount -t smbfs
This is what I tried so far
Code: |
vmgentoo ~ # ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
PING xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.174 ms
64 bytes from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.157 ms
...
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=trabajo/sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2694: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=trabajo/sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2696: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2698: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano@trabajo,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2700: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
|
this is the samba version I've installed
Code: |
vmgentoo ~ # eix -e samba
* net-fs/samba
Available versions: 3.0.14a-r2 ~3.0.20b ~3.0.21a ~3.0.21b-r1 3.0.22 ~3.0.22-r2 3.0.22-r3 [M]3.0.23 ~3.0.23a
Installed: 3.0.22-r3
Homepage: http://www.samba.org/ http://www.openantivirus.org/projects.php
Description: SAMBA is a suite of SMB and CIFS client/server programs for UNIX
|
Any idea???
saludos
sas
Last edited by opensas on Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:21 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanfrancis Veteran
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 1482 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi !
Are you able to mount/use this share with another computer/OS ? (is it your samba share, never tested?)
You can list the samba shares with:
Code: | smbclient -L xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx |
to ensure the share you want is there.
Post the result here if you want more help |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Diezel l33t
Joined: 04 Feb 2003 Posts: 600 Location: Karjaa, Finland
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried mounting it with CIFS? I use CIFS at work and at home to access Windows XP and Server 2k3 shares. Check if it's in your kernel as [*] or [M]. After that just
Code: |
#mount -t cifs //windowshost/share /mnt/winshare -o username=username
|
_________________ A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
opensas Guru
Joined: 24 Nov 2004 Posts: 408 Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I've finally solved it
In order to specify the domain you have to use the workgroup option, like this
Code: |
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano,password=pass,workgroup=trabajo //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
|
thanks a lot everybody
saludos
sas |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanfrancis Veteran
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 1482 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great if that works |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alex.blackbit Advocate
Joined: 26 Jul 2005 Posts: 2397
|
Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, ...
workgroup and domain name are often the same thing somehow.
it is the same in samba configuration...
i believe the problem in this case was, that the error message is quite misleading... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
opensas Guru
Joined: 24 Nov 2004 Posts: 408 Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
|
Posted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
quite so
I should give a warning when it detects a "/", "\" or "@" character in the username argument...
saludos
sas |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|