Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
can't mount samba partition - SOLVED
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
opensas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:05 am    Post subject: can't mount samba partition - SOLVED Reply with quote

Hi everybody

I'm trying to mount a shared resource using mount -t smbfs

This is what I tried so far

Code:

vmgentoo ~ # ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
PING xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=0.174 ms
64 bytes from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=0.157 ms
...

vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=trabajo/sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2694: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=trabajo/sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2696: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2698: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed
vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano@trabajo,password=pass //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp
2700: session setup failed: ERRDOS - ERRnoaccess (Access denied.)
SMB connection failed


this is the samba version I've installed

Code:

vmgentoo ~ # eix -e samba
* net-fs/samba
     Available versions:  3.0.14a-r2 ~3.0.20b ~3.0.21a ~3.0.21b-r1 3.0.22 ~3.0.22-r2 3.0.22-r3 [M]3.0.23 ~3.0.23a
     Installed:           3.0.22-r3
     Homepage:            http://www.samba.org/ http://www.openantivirus.org/projects.php
     Description:         SAMBA is a suite of SMB and CIFS client/server programs for UNIX


Any idea???

saludos

sas


Last edited by opensas on Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !

Are you able to mount/use this share with another computer/OS ? (is it your samba share, never tested?)

You can list the samba shares with:

Code:
smbclient -L xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx


to ensure the share you want is there.

Post the result here if you want more help :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diezel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 600
Location: Karjaa, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried mounting it with CIFS? I use CIFS at work and at home to access Windows XP and Server 2k3 shares. Check if it's in your kernel as [*] or [M]. After that just
Code:

#mount -t cifs //windowshost/share /mnt/winshare -o username=username

_________________
A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
opensas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I've finally solved it

In order to specify the domain you have to use the workgroup option, like this

Code:

vmgentoo ~ # mount -t smbfs -o username=sscarano,password=pass,workgroup=trabajo //xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/public /mnt/xp


thanks a lot everybody

saludos

sas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great if that works :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, ...
workgroup and domain name are often the same thing somehow.
it is the same in samba configuration...
i believe the problem in this case was, that the error message is quite misleading...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
opensas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

quite so

I should give a warning when it detects a "/", "\" or "@" character in the username argument...

saludos

sas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum