Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth0 or eth1, but not both working together
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gpeangel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 1:35 pm    Post subject: eth0 or eth1, but not both working together Reply with quote

I am working to set up a firewall with older equipment (K6/200Mhz). The NIC's in play are an Intel EtherExpress Pro ISA (10 MPS) and a RealTek 8019 ISA.

1st Lesson:

Neither NIC recognized on boot. Reconfigured kernel to include the EtherExpress 10 driver, recompiled and on boot the EtherExpress NIC is recognized as eth0 and is fully available. The RealTek NIC is still not recognized.

2nd Lesson:

Reconfigured kernel to include both the EtherExpress 10 and NE2000 drivers, recompiled and on boot the RealTek is recognized as eth0 and is fully available. However, the EtherExpress is no longer found. Running:

Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start


...shows...

Code:
 * Bringing eth1 up...
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
 * Failed to bring eth1 up


I have verified that /etc/conf.d/net is set up correctly.

Similarly, if I boot from the LiveCD, I can configure and bring up the RealTek as eth0 and the EtherExpress as eth1. For the RealTek I have to execute the following:

Code:
modprobe ne io=0x300


...and for the EtherExpress:

Code:
modprobe eepro autodetect=1


Both are active and accessible when configured from the LiveCD.

I previously had Red Hat 7.3 installed on this box and Red Hat was able to recognize and configure both NIC's. Any suggestions on what could be happening here and how I may go about getting both NIC's up and running?

Many thanks,

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uzik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This might be hardware, what interrupt is the ISA card set to use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gpeangel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are both ISA cards:

RealTek:

I/O address: 300H
IRQ: 5

EtherExpress:

I/O address: 210-21FH
IRQ: 3

Both cards passed diagnostics with their respective DOS utilites to configure and test the cards.

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uzik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen diagnostics that didn't check for working IRQ's. Make sure
you don't have another card, such as a sound card, serial, or parallel
port, also using IRQ's 3 and 5.

There's a lot of very good info in the directory /proc
read the files 'interrupts', 'ioports', and 'pci' (just use 'more' to display them)
and see what interrupts the operating system thinks these
are using. If you're using a module for the ISA card you will likely
have to put a command line option on to tell it which IRQ to use.
(I hope I remeber those file names correctly!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrkPlague
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

remove both drivers from the kernel and compile them as modules. then you can pass the io parameters to them when you load the modules.
_________________
DKP

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand binary and those who don't...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gpeangel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Colorado, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to sort this out. Here's what it took:

As suggested, the drivers were compile as modules. Examining /proc/interupts showed which IRQ values were taken. The EtherExpress card was re-configured for I/O address 320 and IRQ 7. /etc/modules.d/aliases was modified to include the following two lines:

Code:
alias eth0 ne
options ne io=0x300 irq=5
alias eth1 eepro
options eepro io=0x320 irq=7


On reboot, both interfaces came up as expected.

Many thanks for the pointers.

Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uzik
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2003
Posts: 257

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congrats! Glad you got it working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum