Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Changing NIC speed to 10baseTx
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
minskpower
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:40 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Changing NIC speed to 10baseTx Reply with quote

I need to change the speed of my RTL8139 NIC to 10base. I've tried ethtool and ifconfig without success.
Apparently everybody wants to change it upwards, not downwards.
Can anyone point me to the right direction? Thanks.

PS RTL driver 8139 is built inside the kernel, not as a module.


Last edited by minskpower on Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:59 pm    Post subject: ethtool Reply with quote

are you sure you need to? Link autonegotiation usually works.

`man ethtool` wrote:

ethtool - Display or change ethernet card settings

ethtool -s ethX [speed 10|100|1000] [duplex half|full]
[port tp|aui|bnc|mii] [autoneg on|off] [phyad N] [xcvr internal|exter-
nal] [wol p|u|m|b|a|g|s|d...] [sopass xx:yy:zz:aa:bb:cc] [msglvl N]

speed 10|100|1000
Set speed in Mb/s. ethtool with single argument will show you
the supported device speeds.

autoneg on|off
Specify if autonegotiation is enabled. In the usual case it is,
but might cause some problems with some network devices, so you
can turn it off.


Code:
dan@pascal ~ $ emerge -pv ethtool

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/ethtool-4  119 kB

Total: 1 package (1 new), Size of downloads: 119 kB

_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minskpower
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erik! Thank you :)
You missed my point, I needed to force it to 10Mb, the device is capable of auto neg but the other end has 100. When I ran ethtool with -s eth3 speed 10 it didn't do anything. The man page didn't help much either.
But now your hint about autonegotiation gave me the idea to turn that off first, and THEN to force it to 10base. So it worked.
I've read countless posts via google stating the same problem. I hope this page will get indexed :)

So to summarize: first turn off autonegotiation, then apply desired setting:

Code:

ethtool -s ethX autoneg off
ethtool -s ethX speed 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i considered mentioning the turning autonegotiation off first thing, and mused to myself about whether it would be taken from that I mentioned it. I'm therefore glad you figured it out.

if you don't mind my asking, why do you need to force 10mb/sec?
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minskpower
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because of terrible RFI comming out of my ethernet cables. One of my neighbours is radio amateur and complained several times about the interference.
As it turns out, switching to 10mb solves this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How very interesting! I had no idea that shielded CAT-5 would produce radio interference. I guess they are just twisted-pair, which doesn't necessarily count as 'shielding,' but still, I am surprised to learn this. I wonder if your neighbor used frequencies that corresponded too well with the frequency of the ethernet transmissions?
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minskpower
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jun 2005
Posts: 94
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My cables are unshielded CAT-5 and apparently they should not generate interference by themselves, with phase cancellation and everything.
However digging the web for info I found an interesting page: http://www.ldblake.ca/radio/netproblem.htm

I don't have such a router, but I suspect my crappy 5-port switch was acting the same way and the 2nd, 3rd and 4th armonics were stepping all over his working bands.
In fact I'm sure this was the problem because once I switched to 10base he said his radios went dead quiet.
When I get a brand name switch I guess I'll be going back to 100mb :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
erik258
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 2650
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm looking forward to hearing whether that works. I have never heard of anything like this! In fact my roommate and I run computers unshielded in an old stereo cabinet converted to a motherboard rack, and we haven't had any problems yet. I have dozens (well, probably 15-18) net cables running around and never have a problem... but then again, I never listen to, let alone communicate over, radio.

If you think of it please mention whether that makes the problem dissapear.
_________________
Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum