View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:02 pm Post subject: Can't receive DHCP response [SOLVED] |
|
|
Good daytime
I've got a problem with DHCP in my network, while using Gentoo.
At first, when I started to install using Minimal Installation CD, all went good, network was detected at startup as it should be (sometimes I had to run net-setup script). After I have installed system, something went wrong.
While booting, system tells that dhcpcd couldn't get any proper respond from DHCP-server.
I tried other DHCP-clients (udhcpc and dhclient), but with no success. All of them I tried to run via commandline with various keys I could imagine to be useful. The result is the same server doesn't respond.
After that, I tried to boot from the very same CD I have installed system from (guess I hardly could change something there), thinking of some kernel misconfiguration etc. But even its dhcpcd couldn't establish connection with server! Neither while startup, nor via net-setup, nor manually (# dhcpcd eth0).
If I try to feed net-setup with info I got in WinXP from DHCP-server (IP, subnet mask, DNS etc), it worked. But the same in installed system gives no result, even if I copy /etc/conf.d/net and /etc/resolv.conf configured by net-setup to HD.
I've decided to try another CD and got a Kubuntu one. And its DHCP-client (dhclient) works! I brought eth0 down (tried to ping local servers no pings), then run dhclient (without any arguments, keys or options) from Konsole and it reached server (pings start coursing)
I'm almost sure the problem isn't in my kernel because it was there and I hope I fixed it (dmfe module for Davicom cards now is compiled in solidly).
Here's some info
ifconfig eth0: Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:9D:5E:3B
BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:7632 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:509361 (497.4 Kb) TX bytes:2828 (2.7 Kb)
Interrupt:16 Base address:0xd800 |
/etc/conf.d/net blank
/etc/resolv.conf blank
I'd greatly appreciate any help (-:E
Sorry if the solution already lays somewhere on forums, I've searched for it honestly, but couldn't find anything suitable \-:E
Last edited by krigstask on Fri May 18, 2007 12:01 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
impulze Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_maggie.gif)
Joined: 23 Sep 2006 Posts: 82 Location: Taunusstein, Germany
|
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
check for CONFIG_PACKET in your kernel configuration
if you compiled access through /proc/config.gz into your kernel you could check with
Code: |
zcat /proc/config.gz | grep CONFIG_PACKET
|
or when you have your kernel sources laying around which you used for the booted kernel
Code: |
grep CONFIG_PACKET /path/to/kernel/.config
|
_________________ Please add [SOLVED] to your thread title when the issue no longer exists or has been solved for you. Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for reply, impulze
Code: | # Networking options
#
# CONFIG_NETDEBUG is not set
CONFIG_PACKET=y
|
It seems to be compiled in (-:E |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
impulze Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_maggie.gif)
Joined: 23 Sep 2006 Posts: 82 Location: Taunusstein, Germany
|
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For now i don't know what's causing it. Is it possible to get the exact error you're getting when trying to receive a dhcpoffer? _________________ Please add [SOLVED] to your thread title when the issue no longer exists or has been solved for you. Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here're error messages I get:
dhcpcd -d eth0: Code: | Info, MAC address=00:08:a1:9d:5e:3b
Debug, broadcasting DHCP_DICOVER
Error, timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response |
dhclient Code: | Listening on LPF/eth0/00:08:a1:9d:5e:3b
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:08:a1:9d:5e:3b
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
No DHCPOFFERS received
No working leases in persistent database — sleeping |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've just tried Gentoo 2006.1 LiveCD and its dhcpcd works with my DHCP server all right \-:E
Still, Minimal CD and installed Gentoo can't establish connection )-:E
:summoning_kind_gurus:
(-:E |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A little bit more logic: LiveCD's dhcpcd refuses to work now too \-8E
As nobody can help me, I'd wait for 2007.0 release, probably those CDs will be able to deal with my dhcp-server properly... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
antipod Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman.gif)
Joined: 20 Mar 2003 Posts: 168 Location: Karlshamn, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
I hope you've got it to work now but anyway, I have a similar problem. For me my network works when using dhcpcd version 2.0.5-r1 (I guess it works with all 2.* versions) but if updating to version 3.* it will time out similar to your problem.
I know I can just mask those newer versions but still, I want it to work. Anyway, this might be your problem as well, so try to
Code: | emerge =dhcpcd-2.0.5-r1 |
and see if it works. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ooops... Swedish people... My nick'd been understood #-:E
antipod
I used (ehm... tried to use) exactly dhcpcd 2.0.5-r1 \-:E |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 6:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
2007.0 seems to solve this weird problem |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Su8l1me n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 25 Jan 2006 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I gave dhcpcd a timeout of 60 seconds when this started happening to me - seemed to solve the issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Su8l1me
It seems to be clue! (-:E
But could you tell, how timeout should be set for net.eth0? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krigstask n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/212726248945e5f4f138789.jpg)
Joined: 27 Feb 2007 Posts: 41 Location: Rampova, Inkerimaa, Venämaa
|
Posted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, UberLord!
I'll try it, if it won't work, I'll re-rename this thread again
:marking_thread_as_SOLVED: |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|