View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
unz l33t
Joined: 28 Jul 2004 Posts: 819 Location: Roma, Italia
|
Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Big Up! _________________ Ma che c'hai là? Sulla spalla!!!! http://lascimmia.it/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RMX n00b
Joined: 22 Aug 2004 Posts: 66
|
Posted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 4:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | VIEWS: Handling PackageView button press event
((0,), <gtk.TreeViewColumn object (GtkTreeViewColumn) at 0x2ae3b552bcd0>, 69, 19)
VIEWS: Package view _clicked() signal caught
MAINWINDOW: package_changed()
PORTAGELIB: get_user_config('package.keywords')
PORTAGELIB: get_user_config('package.unmask')
SUMMARY: create_ebuild_table: creating single arch table
PORTAGELIB: get_user_config('package.use')
* PORTAGELIB: get_user_config(): no read access on 'package.use'?
{}
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/views.py", line 462, in _clicked
self.mainwindow_callback("package changed", package)
File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/mainwindow.py", line 424, in packageview_callback
self.package_changed(arg)
File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/mainwindow.py", line 1089, in package_changed
self.summary.update_package_info(package)
File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/summary.py", line 466, in update_package_info
ebuild_use_flags = system_use_flags + package_use_flags
TypeError: can only concatenate list (not "dict") to list |
So I guess that's python's bad? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
No, python is not bad. It seems we were trying to add two different types of data together. Our bad
I'll check it out. What version of porthole was that?
Are you using /etc/portage/package.use as a directory? That may have caused the error. If so porthole has not been updated to handle package.* directories properly yet.
I should have that implemented soon. I have finally been able to do some coding again. _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RMX n00b
Joined: 22 Aug 2004 Posts: 66
|
Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm using porthole-0.5 and no, /etc/portage/package.use isn't directory, it's simple text file. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've found your problem. It is a permissions problem. Porthole-0.5.0 runs as a user and so.
It seems that our get_user_config() default returns an empty tuple for read access denials. If you set your /etc/portage directory permissions for read access by everyone as well as any existing files, that will correct the problem. Any future files added will automatically get the new permissions provided you set the directory permissions correctly.
I will look into changing that code to determine which type needs to be returned for this error.
Quote: | PORTAGELIB: get_user_config('package.use')
* PORTAGELIB: get_user_config(): no read access on 'package.use'?
{} |
A tuple is type {}, a list is type [] _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kobboi l33t
Joined: 29 Jul 2005 Posts: 672 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm having troubles using the bottom half of the GUI. When I select a package, I get all relevant information in tabs. But selecting another package after that doesn't change anything: all tabs are blank exept for the Dependencies tab, which just lists the name... of the package I had first selected! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kobboi l33t
Joined: 29 Jul 2005 Posts: 672 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Problem had something to do with my package.keywords being a directory. I put all of those entries in one package.keywords file and the problem now seems solved |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cgmd Veteran
Joined: 17 Feb 2005 Posts: 1585 Location: Louisiana
|
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, all...
Ive been using porthole for the past 2 years, and today, with version 0.5.0, I started having a problem.
When I enter a keyword and click "Find", it begins loading package descriptions, as always, but it now fails to progress beyond "19%".
I have no idea what is blocking this process from running to completion...
But, if I run porthole from a terminal as root, it resolves the problem.
Does anyone have any thoughts??
Thanks! _________________ "Primum non nocere" ---Galen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, sorry, porthole-0.5.0 does not have directory support for /etc/portage/package.* files.
I have to finish that support in the cvs version I am trying to get ready to release. It has a number of updates and feature enhancements. It is unfortunate that -0.5.0 is finally unmasked now that it is on the brink of being outdated by portage changes. But it had stayed masked all this time due to a gtk+ bug that caused a segfault under the right conditions. That bug has now been fixed and reached stable gtk+ releases.
Since my wife and I have a small retail business that gets very busy this time of the year I have not been able to do any coding this past week or two. I hope to get a few more things finished, then hide/disable some other unfinished code/feature enhancements and call to start some pre release testing hopefully in the first two weeks of january. I had hoped to have it ready by Christmas
cgmd
Try running porthole as your user from a terminal with the -d flag to turn on debug printing.
I suspect portage is having difficulty getting some info for some/one ebuild(s). It may be a permissions error or problem. Is your user in the portage group? If not that could the problem. _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cgmd Veteran
Joined: 17 Feb 2005 Posts: 1585 Location: Louisiana
|
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dol-sen wrote: Quote: |
Try running porthole as your user from a terminal with the -d flag to turn on debug printing.
I suspect portage is having difficulty getting some info for some/one ebuild(s). It may be a permissions error or problem. Is your user in the portage group? If not that could the problem. |
I do have my user in the portage group. When I run porthole -d from a terminal in user mode, as suggested, and try to run the Porthole "Find" function, producing the stall which always occurs at "19%", my terminal output then is as follows: Code: |
/usr/bin/porthole:62: GtkDeprecationWarning: gtk.threads_init is deprecated, use gtk.gdk.threads_init instead
gtk.threads_init()
Debug printing is enabled
pycrash module initializing
If a crash occurs check the /var/log/porthole/crash_cg.html file and post it to porthole bugs
PORTHOLE: process id = 29050 ****************
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.LANG = en
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.enable_archlist = False
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.archlist = ['alpha', 'amd64', 'arm', 'hppa', 'ia64', 'mips', 'ppc', 'ppc64', 's390', 'sparc', 'x86']
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.Sync = emerge sync
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.Sync_label = Sync
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.custom_browser_command = firefox %s
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.use_custom_browser = False
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.su = gksudo -g
UTILS: PortholePreferences; PLUGIN_DIR = /usr/share/porthole/plugins/
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting plugins.active_list = []
MAINWINDOW: process id = 29050 ****************
libglade: ['gnome-base/libglade-2.6.0']
VERSION_SORT: ver_match(); match2 002006000!r000, 002005000!r000:002099099!r000
MAINWINDOW: __init__(); glade file = porthole.glade
VIEWS: Category view initialized
VIEWS: Package view initialized
VIEWS: Depends view initialized
MAINWINDOW: __init__() before hpane; 563, vpane; 233
MAINWINDOW: init_data(); Initializing data
MAINWINDOW: init_db(); starting self.db_thread
MAINWINDOW: get_sync_time(); trying utf_8 encoding
TERMINAL: ProcessManager; process id = 29050 ****************
Porthole-Terminal
MAIN: setup_plugins: plugin path: /usr/share/porthole/plugins/
MAIN: Showing main window
MAINWINDOW: on_window_state_event(); event detected
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); process id = 29050, thread_id = 29050 *****************
PORTAGELIB: get_installed();
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); getting allnodes package list
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); Done getting allnodes package list
PORTAGELIB: read_db() create internal porthole list; length=11414
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); Threading info: [<_MainThread(MainThread, started)>, <DatabaseReader(Thread-1, started daemon)>]
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); end of list build; sort is next
PORTAGELIB: DatabaseReader.sort()
PORTAGELIB: sort(); finished
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); end of sort, finished
MAINWINDOW: db_save_variables(); dbtime = 0
MAINWINDOW: db_save_variables(); new average load time = 23 cycles
MAINWINDOW: db_thread is done...
MAINWINDOW: db_thread.join...
PORTAGELIB: DatabaseReader.run(); finished
MAINWINDOW: db_thread.join is done...
MAINWINDOW: setting menubar,toolbar,etc to sensitive...
VIEWS: Populating category view
* VIEWS: CategoryView.populate(): can't split 'virtual'.
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed()
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed(); index = 0
VIEWS: Populating category view
* VIEWS: CategoryView.populate(): can't split 'virtual'.
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): None / None
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): bad index or category?
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): no category path found
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed(); last_view_setting changed
MAINWINDOW: Made it thru a reload, returning...
MAINWINDOW: load_descriptions_list(); starting self.desc_thread
READERS: DescriptionReader(); process id = 29050 *****************
PORTAGELIB; get_properties(): No ebuild found for dev-util/ecletex!
Exception in thread Thread-2:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/threading.py", line 442, in __bootstrap
self.run()
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/readers.py", line 309, in run
self.descriptions[name] = package.get_properties().description
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py", line 823, in get_properties
raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.'))
Exception: No ebuild found.
|
I, too, suspect a permissions problem, since running Porthole from a terminal, as root, permits the "Find" function to work perfectly.
I'll be grateful for any advice you can share. No rush, though... after the holidays will be fine!
Thanks! _________________ "Primum non nocere" ---Galen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Naib Watchman
Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 6065 Location: Removed by Neddy
|
Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dol-sen wrote: | I've found your problem. It is a permissions problem. Porthole-0.5.0 runs as a user and so.
It seems that our get_user_config() default returns an empty tuple for read access denials. If you set your /etc/portage directory permissions for read access by everyone as well as any existing files, that will correct the problem. Any future files added will automatically get the new permissions provided you set the directory permissions correctly.
I will look into changing that code to determine which type needs to be returned for this error.
Quote: | PORTAGELIB: get_user_config('package.use')
* PORTAGELIB: get_user_config(): no read access on 'package.use'?
{} |
A tuple is type {}, a list is type [] |
you mean a dict is type {}
a tuple is type ()
a list is type []
_________________
Quote: | Removed by Chiitoo |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
cgmd
Code: | PORTAGELIB; get_properties(): No ebuild found for dev-util/ecletex!
|
That one is the cause of your stall. Check it out for anything different permissions wise, if there actually is an ebuild.
I was just looking over the code and I see that we have the raise exception commented out (in cvs) so that it prevents it from stalling like it is for you. I do not remember this change, it is late for me after 13 hour non stop day.
Quote: | you mean a dict is type {}
a tuple is type ()
a list is type []
|
Yeah, I do seem to get those names mixed up _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cgmd Veteran
Joined: 17 Feb 2005 Posts: 1585 Location: Louisiana
|
Posted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 7:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dol-sen wrote: Quote: |
Code: | PORTAGELIB; get_properties(): No ebuild found for dev-util/ecletex! |
That one is the cause of your stall. Check it out for anything different permissions wise, if there actually is an ebuild.
|
When I list it, I get: Code: |
cgmd # ls -l /usr/portage/dev-util/ecletex/
total 16
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1363 Sep 2 2005 ChangeLog
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 607 Sep 2 2005 Manifest
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1742 Sep 2 2005 ecletex-0.0.3.ebuild
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 160 Feb 10 2005 files
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 496 May 28 2004 metadata.xml
|
The permissions look normal, to me. The package is not installed, but I see that it is masked: Code: |
emerge -pv ecletex
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies /
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "ecletex" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-util/ecletex-0.0.3 (masked by: package.mask, ~x86 keyword)
# Krzysiek Pawlik <nelchael@gentoo.org> (08 Jul 2006)
# Masked, because there's no compatible eclipse-sdk in tree,
# please use builtin update manager to install plugins for now.
|
Porthole (which is running without problem on my laptop) tells me that ecletex is described as a: Quote: |
LaTeX plugin for Eclipse 3.0 and newer |
On my desktop, with the Porthole dysfunction, ecletex is shown to be masked and its size is given, but no description for it is listed...
I'm baffled! _________________ "Primum non nocere" ---Galen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
I was just checking that package on my machine and it is having problems with that one as well as 'dev-util/eclipse-cdt'. That is happening on both the cvs and -0.5.0 versions. I had not set it to load the descriptions in -0.5.0, but it is not finding the ebuilds and other data for those.
I will check out porthole's code and see if maybe it is a portage bug.
Stay tuned for updates on this problem. _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know why, but so far portage seems like it may have an intermittent bug. What versions of portage do you have on your laptop and desktop? _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I found a fix
If you want to fix your copy of porthole-0.5.0 edit '/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py' line 768
Code: | vers = self.get_versions() |
to
Code: | vers = self.get_versions()[:]
|
This just forces python to make a copy of the list if it gets a pointer to portage's list. Later in this function it removes the masked packages from the list when looking for the latest installable ebuild. _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cgmd Veteran
Joined: 17 Feb 2005 Posts: 1585 Location: Louisiana
|
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dol-sen wrote: Quote: |
If you want to fix your copy of porthole-0.5.0 edit '/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py' line 768
Code: | vers = self.get_versions() |
to
Code: | vers = self.get_versions()[:] |
|
It's better! That improved it... Now the progress bar moves to 86% before stalling. The corresponding terminal porthole -d output is: Code: |
/usr/bin/porthole:62: GtkDeprecationWarning: gtk.threads_init is deprecated, use gtk.gdk.threads_init instead
gtk.threads_init()
Debug printing is enabled
pycrash module initializing
If a crash occurs check the /var/log/porthole/crash_cg.html file and post it to porthole bugs
PORTHOLE: process id = 31014 ****************
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.LANG = en
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.enable_archlist = False
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.archlist = ['alpha', 'amd64', 'arm', 'hppa', 'ia64', 'mips', 'ppc', 'ppc64', 's390', 'sparc', 'x86']
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.Sync = emerge sync
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.Sync_label = Sync
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.custom_browser_command = firefox %s
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.use_custom_browser = False
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting globals.su = gksudo -g
UTILS: PortholePreferences; PLUGIN_DIR = /usr/share/porthole/plugins/
UTILS: PortholePreferences; setting plugins.active_list = []
MAINWINDOW: process id = 31014 ****************
libglade: ['gnome-base/libglade-2.6.0']
VERSION_SORT: ver_match(); match2 002006000!r000, 002005000!r000:002099099!r000
MAINWINDOW: __init__(); glade file = porthole.glade
VIEWS: Category view initialized
VIEWS: Package view initialized
VIEWS: Depends view initialized
MAINWINDOW: __init__() before hpane; 563, vpane; 233
MAINWINDOW: init_data(); Initializing data
MAINWINDOW: init_db(); starting self.db_thread
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); process id = 31014, thread_id = 31014 *****************
PORTAGELIB: get_installed();
MAINWINDOW: get_sync_time(); trying utf_8 encoding
TERMINAL: ProcessManager; process id = 31014 ****************
Porthole-Terminal
MAIN: setup_plugins: plugin path: /usr/share/porthole/plugins/
MAIN: Showing main window
MAINWINDOW: on_window_state_event(); event detected
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); getting allnodes package list
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); Done getting allnodes package list
PORTAGELIB: read_db() create internal porthole list; length=11415
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); Threading info: [<_MainThread(MainThread, started)>, <DatabaseReader(Thread-1, started daemon)>]
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); end of list build; sort is next
PORTAGELIB: DatabaseReader.sort()
PORTAGELIB: sort(); finished
PORTAGELIB: read_db(); end of sort, finished
MAINWINDOW: db_save_variables(); dbtime = 0
MAINWINDOW: db_save_variables(); new average load time = 0 cycles
MAINWINDOW: db_thread is done...
MAINWINDOW: db_thread.join...
PORTAGELIB: DatabaseReader.run(); finished
MAINWINDOW: db_thread.join is done...
MAINWINDOW: setting menubar,toolbar,etc to sensitive...
VIEWS: Populating category view
* VIEWS: CategoryView.populate(): can't split 'virtual'.
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed()
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed(); index = 0
VIEWS: Populating category view
* VIEWS: CategoryView.populate(): can't split 'virtual'.
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): None / None
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): bad index or category?
MAINWINDOW: select_category_package(): no category path found
MAINWINDOW: view_filter_changed(); last_view_setting changed
MAINWINDOW: Made it thru a reload, returning...
MAINWINDOW: load_descriptions_list(); starting self.desc_thread
READERS: DescriptionReader(); process id = 31014 *****************
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 421, vpane 233
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 311, vpane 233
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 285, vpane 233
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 283, vpane 233
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 279, vpane 233
MAINWINDOW on_pane_notify(): saved hpane 261, vpane 233
PORTAGELIB; get_properties(): No ebuild found for app-admin/tmp!
Exception in thread Thread-2:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/threading.py", line 442, in __bootstrap
self.run()
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/readers.py", line 309, in run
self.descriptions[name] = package.get_properties().description
File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py", line 823, in get_properties
raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.'))
Exception: No ebuild found.
|
Thanks!! _________________ "Primum non nocere" ---Galen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
1ino1eum_4the_win Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2006 Posts: 92
|
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
hello.
I was looking for a remplacement for emerge (emerge -av ebuild, emerge -auvDN world, really basics command).
And I'm really suprised of this Porthole, as I even manage use flags with it !! I love it !
So now I think I can use it instead of emerge ! Great !
Now there is just one thing : config files, that need me to run dispatch-conf as root in a term.
Wouldn't be a solution for porthole , to handle config files, so we could use it alone, without anything else, to manage our ebuilds?
Another question :
right now for exemple, if I do eix-sync && emerge -auvDN world , I'm uptodate, and have no ebuild to upgrade.
but if I sync with porthole, then do upgrade, it will show me that I have some dependancies not uptodate (but not to upgrade by default).
Do I forget something?
tkx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
1ino1eum_4the_win
Thank you, from all those that have worked on/contributed to porthole
A config file update tool has been talked about before. I would love to add one to porthole, I have even thought about how to do it many times. Unfortuneately I have only so much time and this past year I have not had much time to work on porthole. Porthole has a plug-in system that will allow something like a config editor to be added to porthole without the need to be fully integrated into porthole's code base. This would be the best way to add that functionality. A config editor would need to be independantly changed as bugs are fixed, or portage changes require. If designed properly it could be run independanly from porthole as well.
Dependencies: If you wish to upgrade dependencies that is your choice, just like the -D switch in your emerge example. Porthole merely shows that there are upgrades available. One thing you should do when upgrading frequently is run rev-dep-rebuild to check for and repair broken packages.
cgmd
I'll check it out. It looks like a similar error. Also the bug has now been fixed in portage svn
In my system there is no package called app-admin/tmp. Is it in an overlay on your system? There are 2 packages with tmp in their name: app-admin/tmpreaper, app-admin/tmpwatch.
If you wish for it to not stall when it gets an error like that then edit the file again and put a '#' in front of the line File Code: | "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py", line 823, in get_properties
raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.'))
|
to
Code: | #raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.'))
|
As I stated earlier I have it commented out in the cvs version for some time now. I think it is better to get all it can rather than stop when it can't find some info for a package. _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Last edited by dol-sen on Mon Dec 25, 2006 10:06 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cgmd Veteran
Joined: 17 Feb 2005 Posts: 1585 Location: Louisiana
|
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 6:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dol-sen wrote: Quote: |
In my system there is no package called app-admin/tmp. Is it in an overlay on your system? There are 2 packages with tmp in their name: app-admin/tmpreaper, app-admin/tmpwatch.
If you wish for it to not stall when it gets an error like that then edit the file again and put a '#' in front of the line File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/porthole/portagelib.py", line 823, in get_properties
raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.')) |
A closer look at the offending file shows to have been /usr/local/portage/app-admin/tmp/New NX and FreeNX ebuilds.tar.bz2. Removing /tmp/New NX and FreeNX ebuilds.tar.bz2, followed by a new emerge --sync and...
Voila! Porthole's "Find" function runs to completion!
I'll also take your advice to: Code: | #raise Exception(_('No ebuild found.')) |
I agree it's better for it to run to completion, rather than halt for a package lacking a discription.
Thanks very much for helping me work through this...
All in all, Porthole is an awesome application!! _________________ "Primum non nocere" ---Galen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
1ino1eum_4the_win Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2006 Posts: 92
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi !
i really like porthole and I use it everytime I want to install/remove an application, set my package.keyword/use ,etc ... I even use it to set my USEflags in my make.conf, as I've tested it and it works great !
However, I still use the command line to do an emerge -auvDN world, because I'll need to do a dispatch-conf after (but maybe with the etc-proposals plugin, porthole will be usable to do en emerge -auvDN then update the conf file :p)
Anyway, I was just wonderring :
for the moment , as porthole need to be launche as a root to set up USEflags, keywowrds, and emerge/unemerge, I usualy launch an xterm, then log in root, then launch porthole.
So I would like to know if there is a way to, you know, when you launch an application that need to be root, have this little window popping up, asking for the root password (the one you have when you launch something from the system/administration menu from gnome). That would be awesome.
Thank |
|
Back to top |
|
|
i92guboj Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You just need to run that little application with porthole as an argument.
For the kde dialog you'd do:
You have xsu2 and gnomesu in portage as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
1ino1eum_4the_win Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2006 Posts: 92
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wonderfull, I've set a link in my toolbar :
for gnome .
Tkx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dol-sen Retired Dev
Joined: 30 Jun 2002 Posts: 2805 Location: Richmond, BC, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Porthole can also use gksu/gksudo internally for saving changes to config files if it is run as a user. Edit the preferences for the graphical su/sudo program you wish it to use when it needs to save config changes.
Remember that -0.5.0 does not yet support using the package.* files as directories. I am almost finished those changes and a few others for the next release.
If you do wish to run porthole as root then edit the menu launcher command to "gksu porthole" _________________ Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
1ino1eum_4the_win Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2006 Posts: 92
|
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
hum, actually, there is a problem :
I can launch porthole as root (in command line or gksu that doens't matter), then do everything EXECPT clicking on web link of programms, because obviously the rest of my
session is with my own user and not root.
So the better solution would be using sudo.
However, while using sudo, you can only emerge/unemege.
You can't update package.keyword, package.use, or make.conf. Porthole ask for the password (because of sudo) but it seems that my package.* are not updated. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|