View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
The Gimp Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 95 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:54 pm Post subject: wpa configuration help needed please |
|
|
I use WPA-PSK on my access point (wireless ADSL modem/router).
I gave up on the serialmonkey drivers - the driver installed okay but it doesn't work with wpa_supplicant.
I've gone the ndiswrapper route.
I've emerged ndiswrapper.
I've downloaded, unzipped, and installed (ndiswrapper -i rt61.inf) the windoze XP driver.
It seems to have installed okay: Code: | gentoo conf.d # ndiswrapper -l
rt61 : driver installed
device (1814:0301) present (alternate driver: rt61) | And I can scan through it to see my network: Code: | gentoo conf.d # iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:18:4D:3C:DC:E2
ESSID:"ShagNet"
Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.457 GHz (Channel 10)
Quality:75/100 Signal level:-48 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:bcn_int=100
Extra:atim=0
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK | However, when I 'iwconfig wlan0 essid ShagNet mode Manged' it just draws a blank, ie. it does not associate with my access point. I get no error messages. Nothing.
I've configured my /etc/conf.d/net file: Code: | config_eth0=("dhcp")
dhcp_eth0="nonis"
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dndiswrapper"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=60 | and my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf file seems okay: Code: | ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="ShagNet"
proto=WPA
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
psk=****************************************
priority=2
} | where the psk was what I got from running wpa_passphrase with the same key as per my wireless ADSL modem/router.
It's got me stumped
Could someone kindly point out the error of my ways as I'm keen to get wireless working? _________________ VIA EPIA N10000
-> 1GHz Eden-N CPU (Nehemiah core = i686)
-> CN400 Northbridge (Unichrome Pro IGP)
1 x 1GB DDR400 SODIMM (Crucial)
1 x 100GB 5400rpm 2.5" IDE (Samsung HM100JC) (hdb)
1 x DVD-RW (Panasonic UJ845B Slotload Slimline) (hda) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Crenshaw Guru
Joined: 23 Jun 2004 Posts: 474 Location: Poland
|
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 2:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
should have /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 softlinked to /etc/init.d/net.lo
wpa_supplicant.conf and /etc/conf.d/net seem to be okay
just /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start and you should be there
if it fail use wpa_cli to find out what's going on |
|
Back to top |
|
|
The Gimp Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 95 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried what you suggested but it didn't seem to work. I still could not associate with my access point.
I ran wpa_cli and I keep getting: Code: | <2>Trying to associate with 00:18:4d:3c:dc:e2 (SSID='ShagNet' freq=2457 MHz)
<2>Association request to the driver failed
<2>Authentication with 00:00:00:00:00:00 timed out. | I don't know what 'Association request to the driver failed' means but - as I stated in my original post - the windoze xp drivers have been loaded into ndiswrapper and ndiswrapper has been loaded into the kernel. Any other ideas? _________________ VIA EPIA N10000
-> 1GHz Eden-N CPU (Nehemiah core = i686)
-> CN400 Northbridge (Unichrome Pro IGP)
1 x 1GB DDR400 SODIMM (Crucial)
1 x 100GB 5400rpm 2.5" IDE (Samsung HM100JC) (hdb)
1 x DVD-RW (Panasonic UJ845B Slotload Slimline) (hda) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
erik258 Advocate
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
The Gimp Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Apr 2006 Posts: 95 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. I did follow it, but it didn't work. I just can't explain it. Everything seems to suggest it's working, but I tried to associated to a non-encrypted access point but that didn't work either. Weird. I think I'm going to have to go back to basics and research ndiswrapper, my rt61 chipset and wpa_supplicant. Oh brother. I bought the wireless card specifically because it was recommended by the FSF. I should've bought an Intel Pro Wireless 2200 _________________ VIA EPIA N10000
-> 1GHz Eden-N CPU (Nehemiah core = i686)
-> CN400 Northbridge (Unichrome Pro IGP)
1 x 1GB DDR400 SODIMM (Crucial)
1 x 100GB 5400rpm 2.5" IDE (Samsung HM100JC) (hdb)
1 x DVD-RW (Panasonic UJ845B Slotload Slimline) (hda) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
erik258 Advocate
Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 2650 Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
|
Posted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 2:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Assistance incoming....
NDisWrapper
0) First of all, getting it to work on an open, unencrypted network would be a good first step. Let me know if you need additional help with this.. You'll notice you need version >=1.21 to use with WPA_supplicant.
WPA_Supplicant
this is pretty much copied verbatim from the NDISwapper+WPA sourceforge howto
1) current (>=0.4.9) version of wpa-supplicant? use the most current you can.
2) did you edit the .config file for the build? Notice that you'll have to work around portage for this -- it'll be easier probably to unmerge the wpa-supplicant from portage and download the sources from the wpa_supplicant guys themselves.
3) Create wpa_supplicant configuration somewhere, say, /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.
4) Certain AP's might not work with this negotiation procedure. So it can help to limit the scheme to the most basic WPA one: TKIP. [ optional, hopefully ]
5) Now start the interface and then wpa_supplicant.
"The option -dd to wpa_supplicant gives lot of output so you can see if there is a problem. If everything works, you can drop -dd option. You may also want to leave wpa_supplicant running in the background with the option "-Bw" so you don't need to start it everytime. Once wpa_supplicant authenticates, you can use DHCP to configure the network interface."
6) Now configure the network interface. you should be good to go. _________________ Configuring a Firewall? Try my iptables configuration
LinuxCommando.com is my blog for linux-related scraps and tidbits. Stop by for a visit! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|