View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
charlesnadeau Apprentice
Joined: 19 May 2003 Posts: 205 Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:45 pm Post subject: Forcing network card speed at boot time |
|
|
I have an Intel PRO 1000/T (82544GC) network card. It always negociate a speed of 100Mbits with my Corega GSW-8 gigabit network switch. How can I turn auto-negociation off and set speed at 1000Mbits at boot time?
I have looked at using preup() but don't know exactly hot I could do it. I looked at this post but it doesn't look too successfull. Any other technique I could use?
Thanks!
Charles _________________ Charles Nadeau
http://radio.weblogs.com/0111823/
http://charlesnadeau.blogspot.com/search/label/Gentoo
Last edited by charlesnadeau on Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:57 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
roderick l33t
Joined: 11 Jul 2005 Posts: 908 Location: St. John's, NL CANADA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emerge ethtool
add it to your startup (local.start maybe) with appropriate options like:
Code: |
ethtool -s eth0 speed 1000 autoneg off duplex full
|
_________________ If God were a pickle, I'd still say "no pickle on my burger".
http://roderick-greening.blogspot.com/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
msalerno Veteran
Joined: 17 Dec 2002 Posts: 1338 Location: Sweating in South Florida
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Read the module documentation. If you have the driver compiled as a driver, you can usually load the module with some parameters that will specify speed and duplex.
/usr/src/linux/Documentation/networking/e1000.txt
# The following will set 1000Mbps Full
alias eth0 e1000
options e1000 Speed=1000 Duplex=2
or
modprobe e1000 AutoNeg=0x020 (Restricts autonegotiation to 1000 Full)
or
modprobe e1000 AutoNeg=32 (Same as above) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
charlesnadeau Apprentice
Joined: 19 May 2003 Posts: 205 Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
msalerno wrote: | Read the module documentation. If you have the driver compiled as a driver, you can usually load the module with some parameters that will specify speed and duplex. |
The driver is compiled strait into the kernel, not a module. Can I still pass these options through /etc/init.d/net.eth0?
Thanks!
Charles _________________ Charles Nadeau
http://radio.weblogs.com/0111823/
http://charlesnadeau.blogspot.com/search/label/Gentoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|