Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
network interface eth2 does not exist[SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:57 am    Post subject: network interface eth2 does not exist[SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just got gentoo to boot up and I have a ethernet problem now. I guess gentoo isnt finding my ethernet card. this is the error I get
Code:

*Starting up eth2
*  Bringing up eth2
*    dhcp
*      network interface eth2 does not exist
*      please verify hardware or kernel module (driver) [!!]

I am using eth2 becuase that is what my network card showed up as when I configured in net-setup when using the live install cd
this the output from

lspci | grep Ethernet
Code:

04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Unknown device 4364 (rev 12)

any help is appreciated :)


Last edited by Bizarro181 on Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you compile kernel from source, or via a genkernel?

What is the output of
dmesg | tail -n 100

Check your /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules and make sure your MAC address is set correctly for eth0 to be used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used genkernel
and
dmesg | tail -n 100 outputs a ton of stuff, I couldnt see anything reguarding my network card, should I just type out the whole thing?
and /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules appears to not exist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do we have udev emerged & added via rc-update add udev default?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deface wrote:
do we have udev emerged & added via rc-update add udev default?

no, the handbook didnt mention anything about udev other than unmerging it if you had a 2.4 kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

your on a 2.4 kernel?

I'm honestly not sure if the 2.4 has Marvel support. The livecd uses a 2.6 kernel, which I know does.
Your lacking the module for your NIC. Which is what we need. 2.6 has it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no I have a 2.6 kernel. Thats why I didnt do anything with udev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of
Code:
ifconfig -a
(run as root) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IQgryn wrote:
What is the output of
Code:
ifconfig -a
(run as root) ?

eth2 doesnt show up there, just eql, eth0, lo, shaper0, and sit0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genkernel user should be shot in the face btw.
i'd emerge udev for starters. and learn to compile your kernel from source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deface wrote:
genkernel user should be shot in the face btw.

anyway
deface wrote:
i'd emerge udev for starters. and learn to compile your kernel from source.

I'll get to emergeing udev now then
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bizarro181 wrote:
I'll get to emergeing udev now then

I lied...well not really. I tried to emerge udev, but I booted to the livecd, ran net-setup pinged google, everything was fine, but once I chrooted I had no connection, I tried this multiple times too
..I found this though http://gentoo-wiki.com/ASUS_P5B_Deluxe#Networking and configured my kernel with SysKonnect Yukon 2 support, but still nothing I'm trying to enable New SysKonnect GigaEthernet support now and I'm going to see if that changes anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you could ping outside your chroot environment, but not inside - i think you forgot the step where you
cp /etc/resov.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf

Also - what modules are loaded via lsmod on the livecd ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lsmod:
Code:

Module, Used by
intel_agp, 1     
agpgart, 1 intel_agp
i2c_i801, 0
sky2, 0
usblp, 0
tg3, 0
e1000, 0
sbp2, 0
ohci_hcd, 0
uhci_hcd, 0
usb_storage, 0
ehci_hcd, 0

I emerged udev, and /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules still appears to not exist and when I [b]rc-update add udev default[b], it told me /etc/init.d/udev was not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deface
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2007
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you will need the sky2 driver compiled in.
Also, make sure you've got hald emerged & added via rc-update on default.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, thanks a ton for all the help btw.
Just a few more questions
I'm when I tried to rc-update default both hal and udev i get this error
rc-update '/etc/init.d/hal' not found: aborting
how do I not get that error. Also what are hal and udev used for becuase Ive had the sky2 driver compiled in before and I still had the same error, will they fix that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hal's init.d file is /etc/init.d/hald. Udev doesn't have an init.d file; it should be used automatically if your config files are up-to-date.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IQgryn wrote:
Hal's init.d file is /etc/init.d/hald. Udev doesn't have an init.d file; it should be used automatically if your config files are up-to-date.

...word...wait what, so after I emerge hal, and I want to rc-update it, do I need to create the init.d file? if so how, if not, why hasn't it worked thus far? and if udev doesn't have an init.d file why did it complain for one when I tried to rc-update it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After emerge hal, run
Code:
rc-update add hald default
(hald instead of hal)

Udev complains because there is no file there; rc-update attempts to add /etc/init.d/<paramater> to the specified runlevel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh....I should have noticed that...the whole udev thing kinda threw me off and made me think it was something completely different that was wrong. Anyway I added hald just now, but when I started up this time I noticed that eth0 started up and received an address and connected me to the internet, so I guess I need to change /etc/conf.d/net and change eth2 to eth0, but I forget how to remove eth2 so it doesnt try to startup.
One last question. since I emerged udev I keep on getting these errors
Code:

udevd-event[4438]: run_program: exec of program '/sbin/udev_run_devd' failed
udevd-event[4440]: run_program: exec of program '/sbin/udev_run_hotplug' failed

..but a lot of them and when I try to reboot, all I get are those errors and It wont reboot
btw, thanks so much for the help guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should run
Code:
rc-update del net.eth2
, to make sure eth2 is not listed in your runlevels. Once you do that and changed your /etc/conf.d/net, eth2 shouldn't try to start up.

As for the udev errors: did you update your config files after making all these changes (usually, you'd use etc-update or dispatch-conf)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IQgryn wrote:
As for the udev errors: did you update your config files after making all these changes (usually, you'd use etc-update or dispatch-conf)?

Nope, all I did was emerge udev.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In general, when changing or updating your system, you need to be sure your config files get changed to fit as well. As I said, running dispatch-conf or etc-update afterwards is the easiest way to do this. You'll have to do this before we can help you figure out any other snags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bizarro181
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay I ran dispatch-conf and updated the config files that needed it, and everything seems to be in working order, no errors(except for one weird startup that happened, but meh) one more question though, is there a way to undo changes made with dispatch-conf. I accidentally changed some files back to before i edited them which isnt what I wanted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IQgryn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you configured dispatch-conf to use RCS, then yes, definitely. I'm not sure, otherwise, but you might look in /etc/config-archive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum