View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:00 pm Post subject: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock... |
|
|
Code: | mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try dmesg | tail or so |
I have looked threw dmesg and nothing regarding this is to be found.
I know that it's not the hardware which is damage becourse this problem occured after a fresh gentoo installation,
so my best guess is that /etc/fstab is not properly configured. However, i have been testing around with it and followed the handbook but still nothing;
Code: | # <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hdb2 /boot ext2 default,noatime 1 2
/dev/hdb4 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/hdb3 none swap sw 0 0
#/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto default,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
|
this is the handbook of which i am refering to: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=8 _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:05 pm Post subject: Re: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock... |
|
|
phsythax wrote: | Code: | mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try dmesg | tail or so |
I have looked threw dmesg and nothing regarding this is to be found.
I know that it's not the hardware which is damage becourse this problem occured after a fresh gentoo installation,
so my best guess is that /etc/fstab is not properly configured. However, i have been testing around with it and followed the handbook but still nothing;
|
Anyway, could you post the output of "dmesg | tail" as the error message tell you? You have to use that command just right after you try to mount the thing. That way you make sure that the message will be the last in the dmesg output. So, try to mount, then do "dmesg|tail" and paste it here. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:09 pm Post subject: Re: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock... |
|
|
6thpink wrote: |
Anyway, could you post the output of "dmesg | tail" as the error message tell you? You have to use that command just right after you try to mount the thing. That way you make sure that the message will be the last in the dmesg output. So, try to mount, then do "dmesg|tail" and paste it here. |
Code: | # dmesg | tail
sda: sda1
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi removable disk sda
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
usb-storage: device scan complete
EXT3 FS on hdb4, internal journal
Adding 506036k swap on /dev/hdb3. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:506036k
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode |
However, i can mount it without any errors when i have booted, that error described is what i get when i boot. _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:16 pm Post subject: Re: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock... |
|
|
phsythax wrote: | 6thpink wrote: |
Anyway, could you post the output of "dmesg | tail" as the error message tell you? You have to use that command just right after you try to mount the thing. That way you make sure that the message will be the last in the dmesg output. So, try to mount, then do "dmesg|tail" and paste it here. |
Code: | # dmesg | tail
sda: sda1
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi removable disk sda
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
usb-storage: device scan complete
EXT3 FS on hdb4, internal journal
Adding 506036k swap on /dev/hdb3. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:506036k
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode |
However, i can mount it without any errors when i have booted, that error described is what i get when i boot. |
Ok, then, can you provide the info from
Code: | $ mount | grep hdb2 |
and the command you use to mount it manually? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:17 pm Post subject: Re: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock... |
|
|
6thpink wrote: |
However, i can mount it without any errors when i have booted, that error described is what i get when i boot.
Ok, then, can you provide the info from
Code: | $ mount | grep hdb2 |
and the command you use to mount it manually? |
Code: | # mount | grep hdb2
/dev/hdb2 on /boot type ext2 (rw)
|
The command i use to mount it manually, is simply:
Code: | # mount /dev/hdb2 /boot |
_________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
All seems correct and consistent, and I can't see any evident error.
But I have seen similar errors in the past. So, I have one suggestion:
Comment that line in fstab, and then write another one by hand for the same partition. Sometimes strange things happens due to the use of different encodings. Also, remember that there are things that a text editor cannot show. So, try to regenerate that line by hand. If that works, you can then erase the old, commented, line. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
6thpink wrote: | All seems correct and consistent, and I can't see any evident error.
But I have seen similar errors in the past. So, I have one suggestion:
Comment that line in fstab, and then write another one by hand for the same partition. Sometimes strange things happens due to the use of different encodings. Also, remember that there are things that a text editor cannot show. So, try to regenerate that line by hand. If that works, you can then erase the old, commented, line. |
I tried that and still same problem at boot. However, before i manually mount the disk, i found this:
Code: | # ls -l /boot
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Apr 19 20:18 boot -> .
|
Is that of any help? i think it is a symlink. _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
wynn Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/46695354144c509f41a088.png)
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The GRUB documentation says it has been put there so that people who have a boot partition and write Code: | kernel /boot/kernel-image-name ... | shall be saved. _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 3:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That is indeed a symlink, but it is not a problem. Indeed, it is there to prevent a very common issue with people not understanding what the root(hdx,y) in grub.conf means. A quick explanation, imagine you have this in grub.conf:
That means that hda5 is the root at boot stage, regardless of where that partition will be mounted (grub does not care about that, since its actions take place much after any OS has been loaded).
But some people don't understand that, and still do this:
Code: |
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-.....
|
Which is totally incorrect, since, if your root at that stage is hda5, all the boot files are just at /, and not into /boot (that is the mount point in linux, just one of the OS that might, or might not be loaded from grub...).
Besides all this crap, that kernel line would still work. Why? Because of that recursive symlink. But other that being a cure for incorrect behaviour from the users, that symlink does no good or bad.
Now, back to the topic. If the fstab line is correct, a simple mount /boot should suffice. Does "mount /boot" work once you are at the command prompt? Or do you specifically need to put the mount point as well? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
6thpink wrote: |
Now, back to the topic. If the fstab line is correct, a simple mount /boot should suffice. Does "mount /boot" work once you are at the command prompt? Or do you specifically need to put the mount point as well? |
No it doesn't;
Code: | # mount /boot
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so |
- exactly same error i get at boot _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
phsythax wrote: | 6thpink wrote: |
Now, back to the topic. If the fstab line is correct, a simple mount /boot should suffice. Does "mount /boot" work once you are at the command prompt? Or do you specifically need to put the mount point as well? |
No it doesn't;
Code: | # mount /boot
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so |
- exactly same error i get at boot |
Ok, that can be a good thing. Try to mount that way on command line, and just after that, try again the dmesg|tail thing. Maybe this time you will get something useful. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
wynn Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/46695354144c509f41a088.png)
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
6thpink: do you think Code: | mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 | might help? "verbose" might says some more on the console and adding the fstype would stop it trying different filesystems (though it probably uses the "blkid" code to find this out). _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
i92guboj Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/5913531844c4d36a8e43f9.jpg)
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wynn wrote: | 6thpink: do you think Code: | mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 | might help? "verbose" might says some more on the console and adding the fstype would stop it trying different filesystems (though it probably uses the "blkid" code to find this out). |
Maybe if the problems turns to be more strange. But the real problem for now is that he could not manually reproduce the problem. By using the syntax "mount /mountpoint" he forces the mount command to look into fstab, and gets the same error that he does at boottime. The omission of the fs type is intentional, for the same reason. Then he can look into dmesg. Usually, the output in dmesg is verbose enough. Of course, if that is not the case, using -v will be helpful. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
6thpink wrote: | wynn wrote: | 6thpink: do you think Code: | mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 | might help? "verbose" might says some more on the console and adding the fstype would stop it trying different filesystems (though it probably uses the "blkid" code to find this out). |
Maybe if the problems turns to be more strange. But the real problem for now is that he could not manually reproduce the problem. By using the syntax "mount /mountpoint" he forces the mount command to look into fstab, and gets the same error that he does at boottime. The omission of the fs type is intentional, for the same reason. Then he can look into dmesg. Usually, the output in dmesg is verbose enough. Of course, if that is not the case, using -v will be helpful. |
# dmesg | tail doesn't say anything about hdb2 after using the # mount /boot command:
Code: | Lnex phsythax # mount /boot
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so
Lnex phsythax # dmesg | tail
Freeing unused kernel memory: 284k freed
nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 Kernel Module 1.0-8776 Mon Oct 16 21:56:04 PDT 2006
EXT3 FS on hdb4, internal journal
Adding 506036k swap on /dev/hdb3. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:506036k
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode |
# mount -v /dev/hdb2 gave the same error which i get at boot, however;
# mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 /boot gave me this:
Code: | # mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 /boot
/dev/hdb2 on /boot type ext2 (rw) | ...and successfully mounted the disk to /boot _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
wynn Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/46695354144c509f41a088.png)
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
phsythax wrote: | Code: | Lnex phsythax # mount /boot
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb2, |
# mount -v /dev/hdb2 gave the same error which i get at boot, however;
# mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 /boot gave me this: Code: | # mount -v -t ext2 /dev/hdb2 /boot
/dev/hdb2 on /boot type ext2 (rw) | ...and successfully mounted the disk to /boot | In which case there is something wrong with your fstab as mount goes to fstab to get the missing bits with "mount /boot" or "mount /dev/hdb2" and, having been lead by the nose to the exact spot, Code: | /dev/hdb2 /boot ext2 default,noatime 1 2
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0 | You have got "defaults" correctly in the "proc" line but the "/dev/hdb2" line should have "defaults,noatime" as the options. If this is the solution, then you might like to change Code: | #/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto default,ro 0 0 | as well in case, at some point, you uncomment it.
What a pity 6thpink isn't in at the kill ! _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
phsythax n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1403713441448d2808d4791.jpg)
Joined: 07 Nov 2005 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wynn wrote: | In which case there is something wrong with your fstab as mount goes to fstab to get the missing bits with "mount /boot" or "mount /dev/hdb2" and, having been lead by the nose to the exact spot, Code: | /dev/hdb2 /boot ext2 default,noatime 1 2
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0 | You have got "defaults" correctly in the "proc" line but the "/dev/hdb2" line should have "defaults,noatime" as the options. If this is the solution, then you might like to change Code: | #/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto default,ro 0 0 | as well in case, at some point, you uncomment it.
What a pity 6thpink isn't in at the kill ! |
Thank you very much, i am sorry that i have wasted time, bandwidth and space becourse of my lack of checking errors!
Anyhow, Thanks _________________ http://moo.frac.dk/ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
wynn Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/46695354144c509f41a088.png)
Joined: 01 Apr 2005 Posts: 2421 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There is at least one red face here to match yours
Your fstab appeared in your first post... _________________ The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|