View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jaskoola n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:06 pm Post subject: sending all traffic through ssh tunnel |
|
|
Hi,
I want to make may connection secure when I surf internet using hotspot. I have account on shell server. I connect to this server
Code: | ssh -D 8080 login@server |
and after login I can configure browser (and other programs which can do that) to use Socks server on localhost:8080 and this traffic go through ssh tunnel to my server. But I want to know how I can use this tunnel global, to all programs in system without configuring them. Any ideas?? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zepp Veteran
Joined: 15 Mar 2004 Posts: 1246 Location: Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:12 pm Post subject: Re: sending all traffic through ssh tunnel |
|
|
jaskoola wrote: | Hi,
I want to make may connection secure when I surf internet using hotspot. I have account on shell server. I connect to this server
Code: | ssh -D 8080 login@server |
and after login I can configure browser (and other programs which can do that) to use Socks server on localhost:8080 and this traffic go through ssh tunnel to my server. But I want to know how I can use this tunnel global, to all programs in system without configuring them. Any ideas?? |
Using a VPN setup of some sort? Maybe look into openvpn. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jaskoola n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
but I cant use openvpn or ipsec because this server its not mine and I don't have infulence on services it's provided. It's free shell account |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zepp Veteran
Joined: 15 Mar 2004 Posts: 1246 Location: Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So you just want to force all apps to use the proxy? Are these are windows machines your connecting from? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jaskoola n00b
Joined: 24 Jan 2006 Posts: 23
|
Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 10:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
no, I use gentoo on my laptop and I want put all traffic to ssh tunnel |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jn73 n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2005 Posts: 23 Location: Umeaa, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A little late.. but anyway..
Take a lock at tsocks (http://tsocks.sourceforge.net/). You can "socksify" any program by executing it through the tsocks wrapper. You configure tsocks to use a socks proxy (the SSH tunneled one in your case). After this you can start any program through the tsocks wrapper, for example:
"tsocks irssi"
DNS-leakage used to be a problem, but in the later (latest?) version you can configure these to be routed through the proxy aswell.
What it does is to add it's own version of the socket lib connect function. By setting the LD_PRELOAD variable to the tsock library, any program that is dynamicly linked to "connect" will use the tsock-version instead.
You can also configure specific address-ranges to be routed through different proxys, or connect directly etc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeliJami Veteran
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 Posts: 1086 Location: Belgium
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
richard.scott Veteran
Joined: 19 May 2003 Posts: 1497 Location: Oxfordshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat May 19, 2007 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
What about simple PPP over SSH....there are howto's on that on google! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|