View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Rukie l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Cars/4.gif)
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 692 Location: SE Wi, Home of cheese and cowtippers.......
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:45 am Post subject: wpa_supplicant keeps associating.. not stable.. |
|
|
Alright, I've got wireless, sort of working, with my Microsoft 720-ahn or n or something pcmcia card, its a broadcom chip that uses the kernels bcm43xx driver
anyways, when I look at syslog, I notice my wpa keeps associating and it doesn't grab an ip, it just associates, then reassociates, and repeats.. again and again and again..
Now 20 minutes ago it was working just fine... before I rebootred.. It works like, once every three times. any ideas what kinda things might cause this?
here's my wpa supplicant.conf file
network={
ssid="rukie"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
psk=0000000000000000000000000000000000000 //you can't see this :p
priority=1
}
and here's conf.d/net
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
preferred_aps=( "rukie" "cchswireless" "Campus" "any")
dns_domain_eth1="rukie.ath.cx"
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_ath0=60 _________________ Gentoomania! Support the Open Source!
http://www.rukie.ath.cx |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
beso_1717 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 19 Jul 2007 Posts: 263
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try doing a dmesg | grep bcm43xx and see if you get somwhere a bcm core failure with (-19) as tag. that means that you have to restart the system. it does nothing unloading the module and reloading it. you need to restart your system.
this happens very often with bcm4318 on wpa networks. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PaulBredbury Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/15669254994381f44a81f83.jpg)
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The bcm43xx driver is unstable. An alternative is ndiswrapper. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
beso_1717 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 19 Jul 2007 Posts: 263
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | An alternative is ndiswrapper. |
i don't know of ndiswrapper to work with wpa_enterprise settings.
the bcm43xx is unstable for some chips and not for all the cips. if you take a look at their project you can have a list of supported and unsupported chipsets.
i had that chip for a lot of time and recently passed to a gigabyte atheros powered board since i've seen that it is supported very well by madwifi and since i've read that there's going to be a rewrite of madwifi to port the actual drivers to an opensource solution. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
deadfool n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1586191600470bcde029876.jpg)
Joined: 20 Jul 2007 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wpa_supplicant wont grab an ip address for you you have to dhcpcd to get one. also i have wpa_supplicant repeatedly associating and its worked flawlessly for over a month
i use this "script"
Code: |
#!/bin/bash
ifconfig ath0 up
iwconfig ath0 essid fucter
wpa_supplicant -Dmadwifi -iath0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf &
dhcpcd -k ath0
dhcpcd ath0
ntpdate clocks.psu.edu
|
oh i didnt even think about this, "-Dwext" means driver is wext, im not sure what driver the broadcom uses but if its not wext that could be why |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
davidgurvich Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/40413733143759aa4c3db2.jpg)
Joined: 23 Apr 2004 Posts: 1063
|
Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What chipset does lspci tell you it is? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
beso_1717 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 19 Jul 2007 Posts: 263
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
#!/bin/bash
ifconfig ath0 up
iwconfig ath0 essid fucter
wpa_supplicant -Dmadwifi -iath0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf &
dhcpcd -k ath0
dhcpcd ath0
ntpdate clocks.psu.edu |
this script is for madwifi cards.... ath0 identifies an atheros card. broadcom uses linux wext extensions. if you use dhcpcd you're using networkmanager; if you don't use networkmanager use dhclient instead. i found it to work better with wpa_supplicant than dhcpcd. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
deadfool n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1586191600470bcde029876.jpg)
Joined: 20 Jul 2007 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
beso_1717 wrote: |
this script is for madwifi cards.... ath0 identifies an atheros card. broadcom uses linux wext extensions. if you use dhcpcd you're using networkmanager; if you don't use networkmanager use dhclient instead. i found it to work better with wpa_supplicant than dhcpcd. |
im well aware that its made for atheros cards. i just showed that to point out that i dont get an ip address automatically.
also try this
Code: |
network={
ssid=<yourssid>
psk=<your psk hash found from wpa_passphrase>
} |
thats all my wpa_supplicant.conf is and it works fine for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|