View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
richid wrote: | kernelOfTruth wrote: |
you tried to load the kernel-module directly in the following way:
Code: | insmod /lib/modules/2.6.20-rc5-amd64/drivers/net/... |
? |
When I enter the new Gentoo environment, /lib/modules doesn't exist. Should I copy that directory over to /mnt/gentoo/lib/modules before I chroot? |
ah, I see:
you want to load the modules inside the chroot environment, right?
that's not necessary: you only need to load the modules from the livecd, then establish a connection via
dhcpcd eth0
(may vary)
look, if it works ifconfig
(should show something like:
ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet addr:192.168.2.2 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: 0000::000:0000:0000:0000/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1135 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:960 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1370072 (1.3 Mb) TX bytes:75782 (74.0 Kb)
Interrupt:18
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:200 (200.0 b) TX bytes:200 (200.0 b)
copy over /etc/resolv.conf from the livecd to your chroot-environment
Code: | cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf |
did you do that?
these steps should be described in the gentoo handbook (also included on the livecd I think ...), just follow every step applicable to your case as possible, and you should be fine
do you use a router, cable modem, adsl-modem ? _________________ https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa
Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
richid n00b
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 5:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kernelOfTruth wrote: | [
ah, I see:
you want to load the modules inside the chroot environment, right?
that's not necessary: you only need to load the modules from the livecd, then establish a connection via
dhcpcd eth0
(may vary)
look, if it works ifconfig
(should show something like:
ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet addr:192.168.2.2 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: 0000::000:0000:0000:0000/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1135 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:960 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1370072 (1.3 Mb) TX bytes:75782 (74.0 Kb)
Interrupt:18
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:200 (200.0 b) TX bytes:200 (200.0 b)
copy over /etc/resolv.conf from the livecd to your chroot-environment
Code: | cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/resolv.conf |
did you do that?
these steps should be described in the gentoo handbook (also included on the livecd I think ...), just follow every step applicable to your case as possible, and you should be fine
do you use a router, cable modem, adsl-modem ? |
Yeah, I did do all those steps but I realized that dhcpcd wasn't in the new environment. After I copied that from the liveCD to the new env and ran it, everything worked great. Thanks for the help! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
yaneurabeya Veteran
Joined: 13 May 2004 Posts: 1754 Location: Seattle
|
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 7:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If none of that works, there's also the OpenSuse 10.2 install CD #1. It's a bit larger than necessary (full 685MB of ISO goodness), but it covers all that and more.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
entity7 n00b
Joined: 27 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Solved - Sky2 is buggy atm, load as a module for the ability to reload at will.
Thanks for the LiveCD KernelofTruth!
Last edited by entity7 on Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:04 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vipernicus Veteran
Joined: 17 Jan 2005 Posts: 1462 Location: Your College IT Dept.
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
On a laptop:
LiveCD was booting great up until pcmcia services attempted to start, in which they froze up, and booting stood still. I tried to do an Interactive boot, but I couldn't get past readahead_list_early.
In a VM:
Boots quickly and well.
Edit: Also tried booting with gentoo-nofb nopcmcia=yes, and it didn't load yenta-socket, but still froze after (same spot as earlier):
Service pcmcia starting
Service netmount starting
Service local starting
Service netmount started
cardmgr[8356]: watching 3 sockets
Service acpid started
Service syslog-ng started
Service gpm started _________________ Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog |
|
Back to top |
|
|
entity7 n00b
Joined: 27 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey KernelofTruth-
Can you post (or email / pm) your current kernel config on the P5W-DH? I'm having some really strange problems, I'd like to take a look at yours to see what I'm doing wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
http://nopaste.linux-dev.org/?1367
vipernicus wrote: | On a laptop:
LiveCD was booting great up until pcmcia services attempted to start, in which they froze up, and booting stood still. I tried to do an Interactive boot, but I couldn't get past readahead_list_early.
In a VM:
Boots quickly and well.
Edit: Also tried booting with gentoo-nofb nopcmcia=yes, and it didn't load yenta-socket, but still froze after (same spot as earlier):
Service pcmcia starting
Service netmount starting
Service local starting
Service netmount started
cardmgr[8356]: watching 3 sockets
Service acpid started
Service syslog-ng started
Service gpm started |
thanks ! I guess I'll have to remove pcmcia-cs & readhead for the next release (if applicable) ? _________________ https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa
Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004
Last edited by kernelOfTruth on Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:14 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tkhobbes Guru
Joined: 12 Nov 2004 Posts: 367 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi there
I have a brand-new P5B-E and tried using the kernel-of-truth livecd because of the attansic driver (atl1).
At startup, it says that it is loading the atl1 module, but ifconfig shows only lo...
modprobe atl1 results in nothing - no message, no eth0...
The same PC is already set up for Windows, where the NIC works...
Can you give me some advice?
(downloaded release 9 of the kernel-of-truth livecd, btw) _________________ My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
tkhobbes Guru
Joined: 12 Nov 2004 Posts: 367 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the quick answer!
OK, here's the output of ls -l /lib/modules:
Code: |
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 279 Mar 4 12:02 2.6.20-kot
|
...but I am not sure whether this is what you were looking for... anyway, I looked into the directory, and there is a directory drivers/net, in which there is another one, atl1, where finally the file atl1.ko resides.
However, an insmod gives the following error:
Code: | insmod: error inserting 'atl1.ko': -1 File exists |
I will now try r7, as suggested.
_________________ My systems and some screenshots: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/
My Gentoo client installation page: http://www.hobbes.ch/techie/gentoo-client/
My Gentoo Server installation: http://www.hobbes.ch/category/server |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
tkhobbes wrote: | Thanks for the quick answer!
OK, here's the output of ls -l /lib/modules:
Code: |
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 279 Mar 4 12:02 2.6.20-kot
|
...but I am not sure whether this is what you were looking for... anyway, I looked into the directory, and there is a directory drivers/net, in which there is another one, atl1, where finally the file atl1.ko resides.
However, an insmod gives the following error:
Code: | insmod: error inserting 'atl1.ko': -1 File exists |
I will now try r7, as suggested.
|
did you try:
?
then
where X stands for your ethernet controller _________________ https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa
Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tkhobbes Guru
Joined: 12 Nov 2004 Posts: 367 Location: Switzerland
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Schlummi n00b
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi kernelOfTruth
I have a new Asus P5K with that Intel P35 chipset.
After all I tried your small-gentoo_x86. And so far it seems to be working.
The problem I have I can't sudo with that written password 'root'.
The bootmessage is
Code: |
...
root password is set to 'root' (changeme!)
...
for root access - type: sudo su
|
I tried all I could and got always that:
Code: |
user@small-gentoo_x86 ~ $ sudo su
Password:
Sorry.
user@small-gentoo_x86 ~ $
|
Well I can'd see the mistake, it seems I need more sleep. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Schlummi n00b
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Args, that was it, thanks a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dpetka2001 l33t
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hello there...i have abit ip35 and cannot boot from the gentoo livecd...it tries to mount cdrom to /dev/hdf(1,2,3,4,5, etc) and says that it cannot find any bootable medium and waits to select for another device...from what i've read here i may be able to find the solution to my problem...could you tell me which small gentoo to download (i guess r9 the latest right??) and how to use it?? from what i can see from the link in any of the mirrors it is a .tar.bz2 file...what should i do with it?? how do i burn it to a cd?? thanks for any help... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Calamarain n00b
Joined: 27 Jul 2004 Posts: 23 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is this modified cd still necessary? 2007.0 has a kernel with jmicron raid support, right? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Banana Moderator
Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 1729 Location: Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dbishop Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Dec 2007 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:06 am Post subject: P5K gets stuck: starting lo |
|
|
Hello kernelOfTruth
Been struggling with the ASUS P5K for a few days. The board can boot from your livecd (2.6.21-kamikaze3) but not from a locally build kernel (2.6.23-r3 gentoo vanilla). I grabbed your config (zcat /proc/config.gz > /usr/src/linux/.config) and followed by a make oldconfig. The machine runs all reiserfs, standard partitions, nothing fancy e.g. raid or lvm).
The problem is that the machine hangs when reaching "starting lo" Occasionally it will progress and i can log in but the minute I try to do any file writes to the file system, it hangs. I have a single SATA HDD and a single Plextor PX810SA SATA DVDRW. I have added noapic and irqpoll to the grub lines (should these be "quoted"?) same results.
any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dbishop Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Dec 2007 Posts: 107
|
Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well looks like problem solved -- it looks like the Radeon kernel driver was the culprit. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|