View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:12 am Post subject: USB mice won't initialise |
|
|
G'day...
I can't seem to get my usb mouse to work under Gentoo.
I've got a Dell Latitude notebook, with a UHCI controller.
I have both the uhci (usb-uhci) and alternate uhci (uhci) modules compiled, in addition to hid, input, mousedev. usbcore support is compiled in to the kernel.
I have tried both uhci modules (with the hid,input,mousedev) in isolation with each other and together.
I have tried 2 different USB mice.
/dev/input is created, /dev/input/mice is created and /dev/usbmouse is correctly symlinked to /dev/input/mice.
There is no /dev/input/mouseX as i believe there should be.
I also have a touchpad and pointing stick on my laptop, that are accessed via /dev/mouse (also how i use X at the moment)
I have a ps2-usb convertor that i've been using to get the usb mouse to work on the laptop's external ps/2 connector. This is perfectly multiplexed with /dev/mouse when in use.
cat /dev/input/mice yeilds nothing when mouse is moved.
Mouse light comes on at correct time and there is no errors loading modules..
here is some relevant info from dmesg:
usb-uhci.c: v1.275:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
hub.c: new USB device 00:1d.1-2, assigned address 2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 4 ports detected
hub.c: new USB device 00:1d.1-2.2, assigned address 3
usb-uhci.c: interrupt, status 3, frame# 1173
: USB HID v1.00 Mouse [Microsoft Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical®] on usb2:3.0
hub.c: new USB device 00:1d.1-2.3, assigned address 4
: USB HID v1.00 Mouse [Agiler USB Mouse] on usb2:4.0
(this is with both USB mice connected)
I have also tried without hub and without docking station, still does not work.
I do NOT have the HIDBP (i think thats it - the module 'usbmouse') compiled in, as per instruction to use only one.
Other USB devices: OV511 compatible webcam, Epson scanner, Transcend USB flashdisk - have tried without these plugged in also, and all other devices work perfectly.
I have a 4 port passive hub (again tried without this too)
I am truly stumped, does any one have any ideas?
(PS both work on my mandrake box with same modules)
TIA
David |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54808 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 6:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zerocool_australia,
Well, my USB mouse appears as /dev/input/mouse0 when its plugged in and goes away when its unplugged.
Run usbview and make sure your usb mouse is detected.
Regards,
NeddySeagoon _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is detected (look at the dmesg output i pasted?)
This is from usbview as well:
************************************************************************
USB Mouse
Manufacturer: Agiler
Speed: 1.5Mb/s (low)
USB Version: 1.00
Device Class: 00(>ifc )
Device Subclass: 00
Device Protocol: 00
Maximum Default Endpoint Size: 8
Number of Configurations: 1
Vendor Id: 056e
Product Id: 0002
Revision Number: 4.51
Config Number: 1
Number of Interfaces: 1
Attributes: a0
MaxPower Needed: 100mA
Interface Number: 0
Name: hid
Alternate Number: 0
Class: 03(HID )
Sub Class: 1
Protocol: 2
Number of Endpoints: 1
Endpoint Address: 81
Direction: in
Attribute: 3
Type: Int.
Max Packet Size: 3
Interval: 10ms |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 12:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
crikey, that's strange..
your other devices work properly, so I think we can assume you have the right usb controller module.
maybe u can try compiling them directly into the kernel, instead of as modules?
if so, here's what I have compiled directly in:
Code: | Input Core Support:
<*> Input core support
<*> mouse support
USB Support:
<*> Support for USB
[*] Preliminary USB device filesystem
<*> UHCI (Intel PIIX4, VIA, ...) support
<*> USB Human Interface Device (full HID) support
[*] HID input layer support
|
and make sure you haven't taken out support for mice altogether.. leave most other settings as they are.. ps/2 mice etc... because usb mouse still uses PS/2 protocol
usbview shows similar output to yours
u can try emerging gpm (console mouse support), configure it nano -w /etc/conf.d/gpm maks sure it looks like this: Code: | #MOUSE=ps2
MOUSE=imps2
#MOUSEDEV=/dev/psaux
MOUSEDEV=/dev/input/mice
| and starting it /etc/init.d/gpm start
see if your mouse works in console
my /etc/X11/XF96Config looks like this:
Code: | Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
|
cheers _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 1:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tried compiling the relevant modules into another kernel that i have on my boot partition..I went back to the modular one so if anyone had suggestions regarding which of the UHCI modules to use, i could try it..
I don't really want to mess with X if I can't see the /dev/input/mouseX and cat /dev/input/mice don't work - it's a waste of time really |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just tried gpm too - got a mouse pointer centre screen, and no errors - but it didn't work.
Changed config from what you suggested to /dev/mouse (psaux) and it works with my ps/2 mice
David |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
so did u try compiling those options in directly, and NOT as modiules?
and I know it's a silly question, but I gotta ask, did u mount /boot before you copied over the new kernel _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 2:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, as i said, i tried that, and i have a bzImage.2 kernel with that compiled in. Doesn't work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
well u got me stumped... try a different mouse? try a logitech or diff brand...
bizaare _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Got 2 different USB mice connected..neither will go
Tried on other linux systems and works fine, also works fine under windows.
Microsoft and Agiler. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
that's frikkin weird..
ok if it works with other linux.. then it's something wrong with gentoo...
and if your kernel is all set up right
what else can it be ?
goes the new gentoo live cd support support mice on boot ? if so can u steal the gentoo kernel and try it?
other than that not sure how to help you.
there's nothing that stops a usb mouse working other than the kernel. if the kernel is set up properly, it should work - so maybe it's a bug in the kernel you are using.
what kernel are you using?
have you tired vanilla-2.4.21
or ac-sources ? _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Latest gentoo sources. THis was installed freshly the other day (lost my entire hard drive because partition magic fucked things).
Also: I had gentoo installed before (same sources) and same problem!.
I'll download the new LiveCD at school Monday and try that. Also when i get a chance to restart I will try Knoppix (But i believe this worked when i tried before - i forget though lol)
I don't really want vanilla sources - but i may try it just to see if that fixes problem. Even if it does i would rather have gentoo-sources that dosen't work.
I may also try ac-sources (ACPI is broken in gentoo sources on my laptop and i'd be interested to see if ac-sources is better for that). What are the main differences between ac-sources and gentoo-sources? Is it worth my while trying pfieffer? (sp)
thanks,David |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
I would go ac-sources - they have always treated me well
latest version is ac-sources-2.4.22_pre6-r1.ebuild
I'm not sure of all the patch differences, but gentoo-sources is still 2.4.20
give that a shot _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Mmmm ok...
I'm still hesitant about changing from gentoo-sources on a permanent basis because I like the idea of the optimisations talked about in the x86 install guide - when i had mandrake and i was doing a compile, or anything taxing on the processor, my music would get choppy and applications slow to respond, that doesn't happen now and i don't want it to happen again. I shall try anyway |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PowerFactor Veteran
Joined: 30 Jan 2003 Posts: 1693 Location: out of it
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried both of the usb mouse drivers in the kernel? I have one board that behaves exactly like you're describing when I use the "Full HID support" driver but works fine with the HIDBP mouse driver. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sat Aug 09, 2003 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
HIDBP probably works but I don't want it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PowerFactor Veteran
Joined: 30 Jan 2003 Posts: 1693 Location: out of it
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 12:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
zerocool_australia wrote: | HIDBP probably works but I don't want it |
Why not? Just courious, I haven't noticed any difference yet. Haven't used it much though. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zerocool_australia n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 1:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Because it's better (i'm told..lol) and because i'm stubborn and i want this to work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PowerFactor Veteran
Joined: 30 Jan 2003 Posts: 1693 Location: out of it
|
Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 1:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
lol Fair enough. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kasjopayer n00b
Joined: 11 May 2003 Posts: 48 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well I couldn't investigate much time, so my post is maybe useless. Maybe I have a lack in my brain, but I thought I got a uhci adapter in my workstation (because of a VIA motherboard). But after a kernel-update this modules isn't working anymore. Instead the usb-ohci module works now almost fine. Have you ever tried this one?
Kasjopayer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jatf n00b
Joined: 05 Feb 2003 Posts: 72
|
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same problem on my Dell Precision. I worked for DAYS trying to get it to work. The problem ended up being that I needed:
Code: |
<M> USB Human Interface Device (full HID) support
[*] HID input layer support
[*] /dev/hiddev raw HID device support
|
In the kernel parameters, on top of the rest listed here.
The third option was key (/dev/hibdev). I double checked and compiled with and without just that option and the mouse would fail without it and work with it. Then, in /etc/modules.autoload, I load these modules:
usb-uhci
hid
mousedev
Hope that helps. _________________ --JATF
Adopt an unanswered post HERE |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LuCe n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 10 Location: México
|
Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 5:57 am Post subject: THNX! |
|
|
It worked for me taskara, I've a Laptop Compaq Armada E500, and your solution was clever and fantastic, thank your very much.
=) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|