View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
maltheus Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 125 Location: Colorado Springs
|
Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:51 pm Post subject: How to tie network card to runlevel? |
|
|
Is there a way I can have a particular runlevel just start one of my network cards, and not the other? Since net.eth0 and net.eth1 are both linked to net.lo, I'm not sure how I'm suppose to accomplish this. I once had it working, I just don't remember how. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
blubbi Guru
Joined: 27 Apr 2003 Posts: 564 Location: Halle (Saale), Germany
|
Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is possible:
Code: | rc-update add net.eth0 boot
rc-update add net.eth1 default |
or link them in whatever runlevel you like.
regards
blubbi _________________ -->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered
http://olausson.de |
|
Back to top |
|
|
maltheus Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 125 Location: Colorado Springs
|
Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, that's what I did. I only have net.eth0 added to my default runlevel, yet it still brings up my wireless (net.eth1) as well. Could it be something else? My /etc/conf.d/net file is real simple:
ifconfig_eth0=( "dhcp" )
ifconfig_eth1=( "dhcp" )
When I do an rc-update show, it looks right:
net.eth0 | console default
net.eth1 | wireless
The thing is, if I manually stop both cards and then start just net.eth0 manually, it works as expected. But booting up seems to start them both. It doesn't make any sense.
--chris |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Anarcho Advocate
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 2970 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
/etc/conf.d/rc wrote: | # Some people want a finer grain over hotplug/coldplug. RC_PLUG_SERVICES is a
# list of services that are matched in order, either allowing or not. By
# default we allow services through as RC_COLDPLUG/RC_HOTPLUG has to be yes
# anyway.
# Example - RC_PLUG_SERVICES="net.wlan !net.*"
# This allows net.wlan and any service not matching net.* to be plugged. |
_________________ ...it's only Rock'n'Roll, but I like it! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|