View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:52 pm Post subject: Volume Control help |
|
|
Hey,
Well, I have sound working. I have compiled my kernel with all of the necessary alsa and driver modules (I think). The audio plays when I visit youtube to test it, but when I insert my Iron Maiden CD, the CD player does not make a noise at all. Furthermore, the volume control icon up on the top-right of my screen has an X on it, and when I double click it I get the following error message:
Code: | No volume control GStreamer plugins and/or devices found. |
This is my sound card, which uses the snd-intel8x0 kernel module:
Code: | Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
|
I appreciate any help. Thankyou. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What window manager are you using? What's the application you're using to play the CDs? _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
djdunn l33t
Joined: 26 Dec 2004 Posts: 812
|
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 12:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
do you have gstreamer installed? _________________ “Music is a moral law. It gives a soul to the Universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness, gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order, and leads to all that is good and just and beautiful.”
― Plato |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Window Manager? I just emerged gnome and portage did the rest. So I dunno whether I'm using Compiz, Metacity or other. The CD Player application came with Gnome, I just click Applications->Sound and Video and there is a program called "CD Player". Upon insertion of the disk, however, Totem pops up and gives me an error: Code: | Totem was not able to play this disc. Failed to find mountpoint for device /dev/hdc |
Yes I have GStreamer installed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sounds like a device problem. Specifically, the system doesn't know what to do with a new CD. I'm not familiar with Gnome, but it's probably trying to mount the CD somewhere (automount), and you either don't have permission to access the device or there is no specific mount point set up.
What is the content of your /etc/fstab file? _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
coplaniuk wrote: | Sounds like a device problem. Specifically, the system doesn't know what to do with a new CD. I'm not familiar with Gnome, but it's probably trying to mount the CD somewhere (automount), and you either don't have permission to access the device or there is no specific mount point set up.
What is the content of your /etc/fstab file? |
/etc/fstab:
Code: | # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#
# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 defaults 1 2
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hda3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom audo noauto,ro 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto 0 0
# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
shm /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First...it appears as though you have a typo on your cdrom line:
Quote: | /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom audo noauto,ro 0 0 |
So you'll want to fix that to say 'auto'.
Additionally, check that your device is linked. /dev/cdrom should be a link to your actual CD-ROM, but you would've had to create the link at installation time. Chances are, the actual device is something like /dev/hdc (depending on your hardware configuration). You can either add the softlink (ln -s /dev/hdc /dev/cdrom) or you can just edit your fstab. Personally, I prefer the latter. I would also recommend adding the 'user' option which will allow non-root users to mount the device. Your fstab entry should look something like this:
Code: |
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,ro,user 0 0
|
Hope that helps. _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thankyou, that suppressed the error totem threw at me upon CD insertion, but now I'm getting another error:
Quote: | Totem was not able to play this disc.
Failed to mount /dev/hdc |
The volume control isn't much of a problem, I'd just like it to be there for quick adjustments etc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are you sure your CD-ROM is actually /dev/hdc? I just used that as an example. _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
coplaniuk wrote: | Are you sure your CD-ROM is actually /dev/hdc? I just used that as an example. |
How may I find out? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can use 'dmesg'. Assuming it's an IDE, you can type:
Code: |
# dmesg |grep 'Probing IDE' -a10 -b2
|
and it should spit out some information. You'll probably see a line similar to this:
Quote: |
13765-hda: HL-DT-STCD-RW/DVD DRIVE GCC-4244N, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
|
IN this case, mine says 'hda' so it's on /dev/hda _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dave.fng n00b
Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
coplaniuk wrote: | You can use 'dmesg'. Assuming it's an IDE, you can type:
Code: |
# dmesg |grep 'Probing IDE' -a10 -b2
|
and it should spit out some information. You'll probably see a line similar to this:
Quote: |
13765-hda: HL-DT-STCD-RW/DVD DRIVE GCC-4244N, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
|
IN this case, mine says 'hda' so it's on /dev/hda |
Mine says:
Quote: | 8364-hdc: HL-DT-STCD-RW/DVD DRIVE GCC-4243N, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive |
So I'm assuming that it is /dev/hdc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bunder Bodhisattva
Joined: 10 Apr 2004 Posts: 5937
|
Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
it shouldn't even be trying to mount it, audio cd's aren't written in iso9660 format...
and yes, hdc is right. /dev/cdrom is most likely linked to /dev/hdc.
i know it doesn't help, but it's the best i can do...
cheers
edit: i also noticed you don't have a /proc line in your fstab... i'm not sure if its needed anymore or not, but here's mine...
Quote: | proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
|
and you said your cd player does play, just nothing comes out? does your drive have one of those audio connectors on it? maybe you need to plug the cable into the drive and the sound card.
double cheers _________________
Neddyseagoon wrote: | The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence. |
banned from #gentoo since sept 2017 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coplaniuk Guru
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Philadelphia, USA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I believe Totem does try to mount the disk. At least that seems to be the error its giving.
Try another program like Amorok and see how that responds. _________________ -- Coplan
~/ Outland - Art, Music, PHP and Hidden Corners of the Web
-{ Embrace Life. Evolve your computer. Emerge Gentoo. }- |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baric n00b
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 21 Location: Hudson, NH, USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've got a similar situation here and I think it might have something to do with hal/dbus, which I think jives with dave.fng's problem. I'm running Gnome 2.20.3 and just did a world update over the last week, which was hell since I hadn't done that for a LONG time. I finally get everything emerged, --depclean'ed, and revdep-rebuild is clean.
Everything is working fine as far as I can tell, including sound, xmms plays right along and is happy as a clam with my mp3's. Did not try playing a CD directly, though.
During this emerge marathon, I found repeated references to dbus and hal, and to solve that problem, I added the dbus USE flag and emerged both packages:
Code: | onyx ~ $ equery list sys-apps/dbus
[ Searching for package 'dbus' in 'sys-apps' among: ]
* installed packages
[I--] [ ] sys-apps/dbus-1.1.20 (0)
onyx ~ $ equery list sys-apps/hal
[ Searching for package 'hal' in 'sys-apps' among: ]
* installed packages
[I--] [ ] sys-apps/hal-0.5.9.1-r3 (0)
onyx ~ $ grep USE= /etc/make.conf
USE="aac bzip2 cvs dbus dv dvb dvd dvdr emacs evo fam firefox gif gimp gnome gtk java jpeg ldap maildir mmx mmxext mp3 musepack nvidia perl png python real samba sse sse2 syslog theora tiff win32codecs X xinerama xvmc -oss -kde -qt -kerberos -arts"
|
Now, this evening, I'm trying to get cd automounting working, which I've never had before. I had never started dbus or hald even though I had emerged them, so on the advice of several threads, I started them and then restarted Gnome. Great, my CD drive is now auotmounting and dismounting when I insert or remove a CD. That's progress.
But here's the kicker, the Gnome volume control now has a little red X on it and when I double click on it, it says:
Code: | No volume control GStreamer plugins and/or devices found. |
Wait a minute, sound was just working fine! Oh wait, it's still working! XMMS fires up and plays my mp3 library just fine. Sounds is great, but for some reason, the Gnome Volume Control is now broken. I can use the volume control in xmms, or the volume control on my headphones, but that's not the point, this was working fine just a few minutes ago, BEFORE I started hald and dbus. So I try stopping dbus (which stops hald) and restarting Gnome. No dice, the Volume Control still has a little red X.
I do have gstreamer installed:
Code: | onyx ~ $ equery list gstreamer
[ Searching for package 'gstreamer' in all categories among: ]
* installed packages
[I--] [ ] media-libs/gstreamer-0.10.14 (0.10) |
Anyone have any ideas on how to get the Volume Control working again? Should I just unmerge gstreamer? I'm not sure what it's exact function is in Gnome, so I'm hesitant to do that. I'm going to try re-emerging it, see if that helps.
Here's my "emerge --info" if that helps at all:
Code: | onyx ~ $ emerge --info
Portage 2.1.4.4 (default-linux/x86/2007.0, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.6.1-r0, 2.6.24-gentoo-r3 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.24-gentoo-r3 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 25 Mar 2008 11:30:01 +0000
app-shells/bash: 3.2_p17-r1
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.1.5
dev-lang/python: 2.4.4-r9
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.11.1
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.61-r1
sys-devel/automake: 1.5, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10
sys-devel/binutils: 2.18-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.26
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.23-r3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O3 -march=pentium4 -funroll-loops -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O3 -march=pentium4 -funroll-loops -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.tucdemonic.org/gentoo/ http://open-systems.ufl.edu/mirrors/gentoo ftp://mirrors.tds.net/gentoo ftp://ftp.gtlib.cc.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo"
LANG="C"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X aac acl berkdb bzip2 cli cracklib crypt cups cvs dbus dri dv dvb dvd dvdr emacs evo fam firefox fortran gdbm gif gimp gnome gpm gtk iconv ipv6 isdnlog java jpeg ldap maildir midi mmx mmxext mp3 mudflap musepack ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nvidia openmp pam pcre perl png pppd python readline real reflection samba session spl sse sse2 ssl syslog tcpd theora tiff unicode win32codecs x86 xinerama xorg xvmc zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1 emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset: CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, LINGUAS, MAKEOPTS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Baric n00b
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 21 Location: Hudson, NH, USA
|
Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 8:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I found my problem. For some reason I can't fathom Gnome now wants media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa to be installed for the Volume Control to work. I don't understand the relationship between that package suddenly being required and starting dbus, but they seem to be related in some fashion. After emerging media-plugins/gst-plugins-alsa (new package, by the way, not a re-emerge) and reloading the Volume Control, it's working fine again.
Go figure. It's never dull around with this Gentoo penguin! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|