View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 2:57 pm Post subject: acpi problem |
|
|
Hi,
I'm trying to make acpi driver work with my laptop.
The cpu is an Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz. This is my kernel configuration:
Code: | Power management options --->
[*] Power Management support
[ ] Legacy Power Management API (DEPRECATED)
[ ] Power Management Debug Support
[*] Suspend to RAM and standby
[ ] Hibernation (aka 'suspend to disk')
[*] ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support --->
< > APM (Advanced Power Management) BIOS support --->
CPU Frequency scaling --->
[*] CPU idle PM support
[*] ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support --->
--- ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
[*] Deprecated /proc/acpi files
[*] Deprecated power /proc/acpi folders
[*] Future power /sys interface
[*] Deprecated /proc/acpi/event support
<*> AC Adapter
<*> Battery
<*> Button
<*> Fan
<*> Dock
< > Removable Drive Bay (EXPERIMENTAL)
<*> Processor
<*> Thermal Zone
< > ASUS/Medion Laptop Extras
< > Toshiba Laptop Extras
(2001) Disable ACPI for systems before Jan 1st this year
[ ] Debug Statements
-*- ACPI0004,PNP0A05 and PNP0A06 Container Driver (EXPERIMENTAL)
<*> Smart Battery System
CPU Frequency scaling --->
[*] CPU Frequency scaling
[*] Enable CPUfreq debugging
<*> CPU frequency translation statistics
[*] CPU frequency translation statistics details
Default CPUFreq governor (conservative) --->
-*- 'performance' governor
<*> 'powersave' governor
<*> 'userspace' governor for userspace frequency scaling
<*> 'ondemand' cpufreq policy governor
-*- 'conservative' cpufreq governor
*** CPUFreq processor drivers ***
<*> ACPI Processor P-States driver
< > AMD Mobile K6-2/K6-3 PowerNow!
< > AMD Mobile Athlon/Duron PowerNow!
< > AMD Opteron/Athlon64 PowerNow!
< > Cyrix MediaGX/NatSemi Geode Suspend Modulation
< > Intel Enhanced SpeedStep (deprecated)
< > Intel Speedstep on ICH-M chipsets (ioport interface)
< > Intel SpeedStep on 440BX/ZX/MX chipsets (SMI interface)
< > Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation
< > nVidia nForce2 FSB changing
< > Transmeta LongRun
< > VIA Cyrix III Longhaul
< > VIA C7 Enhanced PowerSaver (EXPERIMENTAL)
*** shared options ***
[ ] /proc/acpi/processor/../performance interface (deprecated)
|
When I execute the command cpufreq-info:
Code: | tuxy linux # cpufreq-info
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
analyzing CPU 1:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU |
Here /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/ does not appear the cpufreq directory:
Code: | tuxy linux # ls -la /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 0 Aug 12 16:52 .
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 0 Aug 12 16:52 ..
drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 0 Aug 12 16:54 cache
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 0 Aug 12 16:54 topology |
I really can't see where is my mistake... I also tryed to include "Intel Enhanced SpeedStep" in kernel, without any success... does anyone have an idea?
Thanks,
Stefy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 5:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | *** CPUFreq processor drivers ***
<*> ACPI Processor P-States driver |
-try build that part as module,
-then check if its loaded with lsmod it will be called "acpi_cpufreq"....
-check again if 'cpufreq-info' if error still exist...
cheers _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
I followed your suggestion and this is what appened:
Code: |
tuxy ~ # modprobe acpi_cpufreq
FATAL: Error inserting acpi_cpufreq (/lib/modules/2.6.24-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko): No such device
tuxy ~ # ls -la /lib/modules/2.6.24-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 11298 Aug 13 11:54 /lib/modules/2.6.24-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko |
So this would be the cause: my cpu is not recognized as an Intel Core Duo
I hope this is not caused by a bug in bios.....
I really dont' know what to do.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Janne Pikkarainen Veteran
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 1143 Location: Helsinki, Finland
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
It seems you have not chosen any processor types for ACPI to use. Try to activate some of these:
Code: | < > Intel Speedstep on ICH-M chipsets (ioport interface)
< > Intel SpeedStep on 440BX/ZX/MX chipsets (SMI interface)
< > Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation |
_________________ Yes, I'm the man. Now it's your turn to decide if I meant "Yes, I'm the male." or "Yes, I am the Unix Manual Page.". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Janne Pikkarainen wrote: | It seems you have not chosen any processor types for ACPI to use. Try to activate some of these:
Code: | < > Intel Speedstep on ICH-M chipsets (ioport interface)
< > Intel SpeedStep on 440BX/ZX/MX chipsets (SMI interface)
< > Intel Pentium 4 clock modulation |
|
I think he needs this driver 'acpi-cpufreq' for his cpu...can you try another kernel version like '2.6.24-gentoo-r8'...coz i see u are using 2.6.24-gentoo-r7...kernel upgrade guide
Edit:
You might want to recheck this part if is correctly set:
Quote: |
--- Enable loadable module support x x
x x [*] Module unloading x x
x x [*] Forced module unloading x x
x x [ ] Module versioning support x x
x x [ ] Source checksum for all modules x x
x x [*] Automatic kernel module loading x x
|
_________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Reading the description of the acpi-cpufreq and it support my cpu.
I've checked the "Enable loadable module support" in the kernel and it is correctly configured.
Now I try to upgrade the kernel... Hoping that it solve the problem.
I will tell you how is gone!
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The kernel upgrade does not resolve the problem:
Now in kernel I put:
Code: |
<M> ACPI Processor P-States driver
<M> Intel Enhanced SpeedStep (deprecated)
<M> Intel Speedstep on ICH-M chipsets (ioport interface)
|
The result is:
Code: |
tuxy ~ # uname -a
Linux tuxy 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 #2 SMP Wed Aug 13 15:17:58 CEST 2008 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
tuxy ~ # modprobe speedstep_centrino
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_centrino (/lib/modules/2.6.25-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-centrino.ko): No such device
tuxy ~ # modprobe acpi-cpufreq
FATAL: Error inserting acpi_cpufreq (/lib/modules/2.6.25-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.ko): No such device
tuxy ~ # modprobe speedstep_ich
FATAL: Error inserting speedstep_ich (/lib/modules/2.6.25-gentoo-r7/kernel/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/speedstep-ich.ko): No such device
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had a similar issue on an Acer laptop, however, it was a Celeron 530 I think. The chip didn't support Intel's speedstep technology which is required for CPU frequency scaling. IIRC the new Celeron family is a single chip Core2.
What's the output of "cat /proc/cpuinfo" ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here it is:
Code: | tuxy ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz
stepping : 6
cpu MHz : 1828.852
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 3661.91
clflush size : 64
processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz
stepping : 6
cpu MHz : 1828.852
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips : 3657.78
clflush size : 64
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Note
Make sure the service is running though:
Code: | /etc/init.d/cpufreqd start |
i think setup might be ok, but if still get error pls troubleshoot slowly..
***You might want to check your bios if you have enabled speedstep on that area....
After you have enabled the bios support:
-use lsmod to check if 'acpi-cpufreq' is loaded(assuming you have autoload in the kernel no need for modprobe i guess)...
-you might also try to dive into dmesg, just a browse if you have see anything
hope it works _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The Bios is very minimal: it does not give me information about CPU speed step...
The cpufreqd deamon fails start:
Code: |
tuxy ~ # /etc/init.d/cpufreqd start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ
|
but:
Code: | tuxy linux # grep CONFIG_CPU_FREQ .config
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y |
My dmesg: I only report a part of it regarding the cpu and acpi where seems that the cpu is correctly recognized by the acpi....
Code: |
Using APIC driver default
ACPI: RSDP 000F7E10, 0024 (r2 HP )
ACPI: XSDT 3FFE57B8, 0054 (r1 HP 30A3 1080620 HP 1)
ACPI: FACP 3FFE5684, 00F4 (r4 HP 30A3 3 HP 1)
ACPI: DSDT 3FFE58EC, FB1E (r1 HP nc8430 10000 MSFT 100000E)
ACPI: FACS 3FFF7E80, 0040
ACPI: APIC 3FFE5814, 0068 (r1 HP 30A3 1 HP 1)
ACPI: MCFG 3FFE587C, 003C (r1 HP 30A3 1 HP 1)
ACPI: TCPA 3FFE58B8, 0032 (r2 HP 30A3 1 HP 1)
ACPI: SSDT 3FFF540A, 0059 (r1 HP HPQNLP 1 MSFT 100000E)
ACPI: SSDT 3FFF5463, 035C (r1 HP HPQSAT 1 MSFT 100000E)
ACPI: DMI detected: Hewlett-Packard
ACPI: PM-Timer IO Port: 0x1008
ACPI: Local APIC address 0xfee00000
ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x01] lapic_id[0x00] enabled)
Processor #0 6:15 APIC version 20
ACPI: LAPIC (acpi_id[0x02] lapic_id[0x01] enabled)
Processor #1 6:15 APIC version 20
ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x01] high edge lint[0x1])
ACPI: LAPIC_NMI (acpi_id[0x02] high edge lint[0x1])
ACPI: IOAPIC (id[0x01] address[0xfec00000] gsi_base[0])
IOAPIC[0]: apic_id 1, version 32, address 0xfec00000, GSI 0-23
ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 0 global_irq 2 dfl dfl)
ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 9 global_irq 9 high level)
ACPI: IRQ0 used by override.
ACPI: IRQ2 used by override.
ACPI: IRQ9 used by override.
Enabling APIC mode: Flat. Using 1 I/O APICs
Using ACPI (MADT) for SMP configuration information
...
Checking if this processor honours the WP bit even in supervisor mode...Ok.
CPA: page pool initialized 1 of 1 pages preallocated
SLUB: Genslabs=12, HWalign=64, Order=0-1, MinObjects=4, CPUs=2, Nodes=1
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 3661.91 BogoMIPS (lpj=7323832)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 2048K
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 0
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
using mwait in idle threads.
Compat vDSO mapped to ffffe000.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
ACPI: Core revision 20070126
Parsing all Control Methods:
Table [DSDT](id 0001) - 1224 Objects with 104 Devices 381 Methods 46 Regions
Parsing all Control Methods:
Table [SSDT](id 0002) - 2 Objects with 0 Devices 2 Methods 0 Regions
Parsing all Control Methods:
Table [SSDT](id 0003) - 16 Objects with 4 Devices 5 Methods 0 Regions
tbxface-0598 [00] tb_load_namespace : ACPI Tables successfully acquired
evxfevnt-0091 [00] enable : Transition to ACPI mode successful
CPU0: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz stepping 06
Booting processor 1/1 ip 4000
Initializing CPU#1
Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. 3657.78 BogoMIPS (lpj=7315576)
CPU: L1 I cache: 32K, L1 D cache: 32K
CPU: L2 cache: 2048K
CPU: Physical Processor ID: 0
CPU: Processor Core ID: 1
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#1.
CPU1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T5600 @ 1.83GHz stepping 06
Total of 2 processors activated (7319.70 BogoMIPS).
ACPI: bus type pci registered
ACPI: EC: Look up EC in DSDT
ACPI: EC: non-query interrupt received, switching to interrupt mode
ACPI: Interpreter enabled
ACPI: (supports S0 S3 S5)
ACPI: Using IOAPIC for interrupt routing
ACPI: EC: GPE = 0x16, I/O: command/status = 0x66, data = 0x62
ACPI: EC: driver started in interrupt mode
ACPI: PCI Root Bridge [C002] (0000:00)
pci 0000:00:1f.0: Force enabled HPET at 0xfed00000
pci 0000:00:1f.0: quirk: region 1000-107f claimed by ICH6 ACPI/GPIO/TCO
pci 0000:00:1f.0: quirk: region 1100-113f claimed by ICH6 GPIO
PCI: Transparent bridge - 0000:00:1e.0
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002.C07E._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002.C093._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002.C0FB._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002.C10B._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Routing Table [\_SB_.C002.C111._PRT]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C107] (IRQs *10 11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C108] (IRQs *10 11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C109] (IRQs 10 *11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C10A] (IRQs *10 11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C123] (IRQs *10 11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C124] (IRQs 10 *11)
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [C125] (IRQs *10 11)
ACPI Exception (pci_link-0184): AE_NOT_FOUND, Evaluating _PRS [20070126]
ACPI: Power Resource [C1EB] (on)
ACPI: Power Resource [C1F8] (on)
ACPI: Power Resource [C211] (on)
ACPI: Power Resource [C219] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C311] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C312] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C313] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C314] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C315] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C316] (off)
ACPI: Power Resource [C317] (off)
ACPI: WMI: Mapper loaded
Linux Plug and Play Support v0.97 (c) Adam Belay
pnp: PnP ACPI init
ACPI: bus type pnp registered
pnp: PnP ACPI: found 15 devices
ACPI: ACPI bus type pnp unregistered
...
PCI: Using ACPI for IRQ routing
....
ACPI: AC Adapter [C1B4] (on-line)
ACPI: Battery Slot [C1B6] (battery present)
ACPI: Battery Slot [C1B5] (battery absent)
input: Power Button (FF) as /class/input/input0
ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
input: Sleep Button (CM) as /class/input/input1
ACPI: Sleep Button (CM) [C23B]
input: Lid Switch as /class/input/input2
ACPI: Lid Switch [C233]
ACPI: Transitioning device [C318] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:00 is registered as cooling_device0
ACPI: Fan [C318] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C319] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:01 is registered as cooling_device1
ACPI: Fan [C319] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C31A] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:02 is registered as cooling_device2
ACPI: Fan [C31A] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C31B] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:03 is registered as cooling_device3
ACPI: Fan [C31B] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C31C] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:04 is registered as cooling_device4
ACPI: Fan [C31C] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C31D] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:05 is registered as cooling_device5
ACPI: Fan [C31D] (off)
ACPI: Transitioning device [C31E] to D3
ACPI: PNP0C0B:06 is registered as cooling_device6
ACPI: Fan [C31E] (off)
ACPI: ACPI0007:00 is registered as cooling_device7
...
ACPI: Processor [CPU0] (supports 8 throttling states)
ACPI: ACPI0007:01 is registered as cooling_device8
ACPI: Processor [CPU1] (supports 8 throttling states)
ACPI: LNXTHERM:01 is registered as thermal_zone0
ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ0] (60 C)
ACPI: LNXTHERM:02 is registered as thermal_zone1
ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ1] (60 C)
ACPI: LNXTHERM:03 is registered as thermal_zone2
ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ2] (60 C)
ACPI: LNXTHERM:04 is registered as thermal_zone3
Switched to high resolution mode on CPU 1
Switched to high resolution mode on CPU 0
ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ3] (31 C)
ACPI: LNXTHERM:05 is registered as thermal_zone4
ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ4] (67 C)
|
Probably I will have to consider to update my bios... even if in windows cpu speed step seems to work pretty well... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | # CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set |
can you set that before trying messing with bios....? _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE set to yes, I changed it to CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE as you suggested, but nothing different from before...
I searched for the bios, but HP only gives software for Windows.... I run it with wine but I'm probably missing some software which can install the bios... nothing is simple with this laptop! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | I had CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE set to yes, |
according to the data u send earlier it was not set...pls post some data to see what is the current setup.
-.config {if u can reduce the output to the area we want would be nice}
-rc-update show{to see if the deamon is starting}
-cpufreq-info {to see what are the errors now}
-lsmod {to see if the driver is loaded} _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here is my configuration:
.config
Code: |
#
# Power management options
#
CONFIG_PM=y
# CONFIG_PM_LEGACY is not set
# CONFIG_PM_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_PM_SLEEP_SMP=y
CONFIG_PM_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
# CONFIG_HIBERNATION is not set
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSFS_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROC_EVENT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_BAY is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_HOTPLUG_CPU=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_WMI=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=2001
CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG_FUNC_TRACE is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SBS=y
CONFIG_X86_APM_BOOT=y
CONFIG_APM=y
# CONFIG_APM_IGNORE_USER_SUSPEND is not set
# CONFIG_APM_DO_ENABLE is not set
CONFIG_APM_CPU_IDLE=y
# CONFIG_APM_DISPLAY_BLANK is not set
# CONFIG_APM_ALLOW_INTS is not set
# CONFIG_APM_REAL_MODE_POWER_OFF is not set
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K6 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K7 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_GX_SUSPMOD is not set
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=m
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO_TABLE=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_ICH=m
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_SMI is not set
# CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD is not set
# CONFIG_X86_CPUFREQ_NFORCE2 is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGRUN is not set
# CONFIG_X86_LONGHAUL is not set
# CONFIG_X86_E_POWERSAVER is not set
#
# shared options
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_PROC_INTF=y
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_LIB=m
# CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_RELAXED_CAP_CHECK is not set
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_LADDER=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_MENU=y
|
rc-update show
Code: | acpid | battery default
alsasound | boot
bootmisc | boot
checkfs | boot
checkroot | boot
clock | boot
consolefont | boot
cpufreqd | default
cupsd | battery default
hald | battery default
hostname | boot
keymaps | boot
lisa | battery default
lm_sensors | battery default
local | battery default nonetwork
localmount | boot
modules | boot
net.eth0 | battery default
net.lo | boot
netmount | battery default
rmnologin | boot
syslog-ng | battery default
urandom | boot
vixie-cron | battery default |
cpufreq-info
Code: |
cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
analyzing CPU 0:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
analyzing CPU 1:
no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
|
lsmod
Code: |
Module Size Used by
coretemp 5632 0
speedstep_lib 4608 0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | tuxy ~ # /etc/init.d/cpufreqd start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* cpufreqd requires the kernel to be configured with CONFIG_CPU_FREQ |
I already gave up on this one..without driver loaded it wont work..config looks fine to my eyes...
Problem:
-The problem is acpi_cpufreq isnt loaded...en probably u already mentioned tht it failed to modprobe.
Questions left:
-Why its not loaded, and why it cant be loaded.
Ans:
-Aaah...dunno why, sorry bout that...im gonna have to leave it to somebody else who knows better..
-my last word would be re-check with ls -l if the kernel image you wrote in grub.conf is actually the one from this kernel that you are posting...happens to me sometimes
Good luck with it..i stop spreading lies now _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
The kernel loaded by grub is correct...
I hope to find a way to make acpi work on this laptop...
Thanks for your help! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Schwinni Apprentice
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 214 Location: quadrant1.earth. germany.wuerzburg
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try to compile the kernel with (or better without ):
Code: | [ ] Future power /sys interface |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can you please tell me where I can find the "Future power /sys interface"?
My kernel version is 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Schwinni Apprentice
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 214 Location: quadrant1.earth. germany.wuerzburg
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Look at the first post (your own ):
Code: | Power management options --->
[*] ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support --->
[ ] Future power /sys interface |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
ops... I don't see it! And it was under my eyes!
Ok, I try, thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I recompiled the kernel with the "Future power /sys interface" unchecked: nothing changed
The Bios says the cpu has 6 speed step, but probably the acpi drivers don't recognize it correctly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Schwinni Apprentice
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 214 Location: quadrant1.earth. germany.wuerzburg
|
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you already tried gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r1? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Stefax n00b
Joined: 25 Jul 2008 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
I updated recently my kernel from 2.6.24-gentoo-r7 to 2.6.25-gentoo-r7...
Do you think that configuring 2.6.26 this problem could be solved?
I'm really thinking that this acpi problem is in someway related to hardware or HP bios... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muhsinzubeir l33t
Joined: 29 Sep 2007 Posts: 948 Location: /home/muhsin
|
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Do you think that configuring 2.6.26 this problem could be solved? |
It doesnt hurt to try, the process can easily be reversed by using eselect...assumming symlink is not set though!
-backup your kernel img in the /boot, with cp e.g cp /boot/kernel /boot/kernel.old
-emerge new gentoo-sources...{without symlink}
-follow kernel upgrade guide, the advanced way of copying .config to the new kernel.kernel guide
-emerge eselect if you dont have it, then check the list and pick up the new version.
Code: | eselect kernel list |
Code: | eselect kernel set <some_num_listed_as_new_kernel_version> |
-copy the new img to your /boot and make sure its the same name as in grub.conf
Now you have multiple kernel version...good luck
P:S
Reverse would be almost the same, updating eselect and updating your kernel img _________________ ~x86
p5k-se
Intel Core 2 Duo
Nvidia GT200
http://www.zanbytes.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|