Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE 4.1 portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

santaclaws wrote:
I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.

KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote:
"~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it."

Just move .kde out of the way then
Code:
mv .kde .kde.BAK


On Gentoo, ~/.kde is a symlink, which is changed on login by startkde. Arch might use a different approach to allow multiple kde installations, so using same $HOME for both might fail.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
santaclaws wrote:
I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.

KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote:
"~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it."

Just move .kde out of the way then
Code:
mv .kde .kde.BAK


On Gentoo, ~/.kde is a symlink, which is changed on login by startkde. Arch might use a different approach to allow multiple kde installations, so using same $HOME for both might fail.


Gracias for your help.

But I had to completely delete the directory. mv did not help - kde4 came up but it was looking pretty ugly and slow as a snail.

rm -dfr .kde and a reboot did the trick. It is not the very cleanest solution, but it worked.
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmrk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

santaclaws wrote:
I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.

KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote:
"~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it."

I am completely stuck.


just do the following:
Code:
mv ~/.kde ~/.kde3.5
ln -s ~/.kde3.5 ~/.kde

after that, "~/.kde" will be a symlink and kde 4 should stop complaining.

what then happens it that every time you start kde 4, it changes the symlink to point to ~/.kde4.1, and every time you start kde 3, it changes it back to ~/.kde3.5, so that ~/.kde will always point to the directory of the currently running version of kde without getting the directories mixed up (as their contents are not compatible). note that you should not start two parallel sessions with the same user but different kde versions for that very reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
santaclaws
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Location: Deeper Underground

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmrk wrote:
santaclaws wrote:
I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.

KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote:
"~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it."

I am completely stuck.


just do the following:
Code:
mv ~/.kde ~/.kde3.5
ln -s ~/.kde3.5 ~/.kde

after that, "~/.kde" will be a symlink and kde 4 should stop complaining.

what then happens it that every time you start kde 4, it changes the symlink to point to ~/.kde4.1, and every time you start kde 3, it changes it back to ~/.kde3.5, so that ~/.kde will always point to the directory of the currently running version of kde without getting the directories mixed up (as their contents are not compatible). note that you should not start two parallel sessions with the same user but different kde versions for that very reason.


Thanks.
_________________
Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
[ 54%] Building CXX object syndication/CMakeFiles/syndication.dir/syndication_automoc.o
Linking CXX shared library ../lib/libsyndication.so
[ 54%] Built target syndication
make: *** [all] Error 2
 *
 * ERROR: kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 2558:  Called kde4overlay-base_src_compile
 *             environment, line 1896:  Called kde4overlay-base_src_make
 *             environment, line 1929:  Called cmake-utils_src_make
 *             environment, line  625:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
 *  The die message:
 *   Make failed!
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
 *   /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-base.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-functions.eclass
 *

 * Messages for package kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0:

 *
 * ERROR: kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 2558:  Called kde4overlay-base_src_compile
 *             environment, line 1896:  Called kde4overlay-base_src_make
 *             environment, line 1929:  Called cmake-utils_src_make
 *             environment, line  625:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
 *  The die message:
 *   Make failed!
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
 *   /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-base.eclass
 *   /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-functions.eclass


Everything but this package has been compiled without errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

santaclaws wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
santaclaws wrote:
I do have a strange problem.

I have kde-3.5.9 installed and now successfully emerged kde-4.1 via kdesvn-portage overlay.

But when I want to start kde-4.1 I get a message telling me that there is a problem with a symlink to .kde.

So what to do?

I do have a folder named .kde and one named .kde4.1. in my /home directory but Is it safe to create a symlink from .kde to -kde4.1? I have read something on gentoo.wiki that this could cause real problems.

Any hints, please?


Quote:
ls -al | grep .kde
ls: cannot access .gvfs: Permission denied
-rw-rw---- 1 user user 287 2008-02-12 16:31 .gtkrc-2.0-kde
lrwxrwxrwx 1 user user 7 2008-07-14 21:09 .kde -> .kdesvn
drwxrwx--- 4 user user 192 2008-07-10 05:41 .kde3.5
drwxrwx--- 2 user user 48 2008-07-05 17:18 kde_bak
-rw------- 1 user user 350 2008-01-17 01:33 .kderc
drwxrwx--- 4 user user 224 2008-08-13 10:23 .kdesvn
drwxrwx--- 2 user user 72 2008-05-02 00:22 tmp-kde


Hi kerneloftruth,

I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.

KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote:
"~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it."


I am completely stuck.

On archlinux it is working properlz but this time gentoo has driven me into problems..

Cheers.


Is ~/.kde a symlink or not ? If not, and if you were using KDE 3.5, move it to ~/.kde3.5 as explained in the error message. If this is already a symlink, just remove it and it will be created correctly for you at your next KDE4 login.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it ideally should be:

.kde3.5 & .kdesvn (real folders)

.kde (a symbolic link) either linking to .kde3.5 or .kdesvn :idea:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bloodsurfer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Wolfstein, Germany (Rhineland-Palatinate)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
it ideally should be:

.kde3.5 & .kdesvn (real folders)


Or .kde4.1 if he isn't using svn.
_________________
SiberianSniper: my girlfriend's name ends with .c
Clete2: Uber geek! W00t! I'd rather have it end in .cpp... <insert name>.cpp
Dralnu: ...why not <name>.o? Then she's ready for linking...
SiberianSniper: or <name>.ko, so she's ready for insertion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

ive set up the kde-svn overlay and since a week i got this message on updating:
Code:


...
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kscd-9999/work/kscd_build
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: kde-base/kscd-9999

>>> Install kscd-9999 into /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kscd-9999/image/ categorykde-base
make: *** No rule to make target `install'.  Stop.
 *
 * ERROR: kde-base/kscd-9999 failed.
...


is it possible to fix it by myself, or have i to wait until the devs of kde will fix it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a layman -S this morning which brought in a modified version of phonon-xine-4.1.0 which depends on

Quote:

>=media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.9
<media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15


which yields a dependency problem since some other packages demand the new media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15:

Quote:

!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been
!!! pulled into the dependency graph:

media-libs/xine-lib:1

('ebuild', '/', 'media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.13', 'merge') pulled in by
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/phonon-xine-4.1.0', 'nomerge')

('installed', '/', 'media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15', 'nomerge') pulled in by
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/dragonplayer-4.1.0', 'nomerge')
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/phonon-xine-4.1.0', 'nomerge')
('installed', '/', 'media-video/xine-ui-0.99.5-r1', 'nomerge')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bloodsurfer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Wolfstein, Germany (Rhineland-Palatinate)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

echo '>=media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15' >> /etc/portage/package.mask
Should solve that problem if none of the packages really need 1.1.15.
_________________
SiberianSniper: my girlfriend's name ends with .c
Clete2: Uber geek! W00t! I'd rather have it end in .cpp... <insert name>.cpp
Dralnu: ...why not <name>.o? Then she's ready for linking...
SiberianSniper: or <name>.ko, so she's ready for insertion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But doesn't xine-libs-1.1.15 close some security-relevant holes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am removing kde 4.0.99 and kde-9999 and rebuilding 4.1.0 to fix the removed files. but i have run into a problem. portage doesn't want to emerge kmail giving me
Code:

Calculating dependencies                         h
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 (masked by: )

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0" [ebuild])


but here is the kicker, i have that in my package.unmask and package.keywords.
do you guys know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolsnowmen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 1479
Location: No.VA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

truekaiser wrote:
i am removing kde 4.0.99 and kde-9999 and rebuilding 4.1.0 to fix the removed files. but i have run into a problem. portage doesn't want to emerge kmail giving me
Code:

Calculating dependencies                         h
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 (masked by: )

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0" [ebuild])


but here is the kicker, i have that in my package.unmask and package.keywords.
do you guys know how to fix this?


Perhaps if you paste the relevent package.unmask, and package.keywords we could double check them with you
_________________
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "moo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the part of package.keywords that has it
Code:

=kde-base/knode-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kode-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/ktimetracker-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/ktnef-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/konsolekalendar-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/libkpgp-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/korn-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kdemaildir-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/mimelib-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kalarm-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/libkholidays-4.1.0 **


and package.unmask
Code:

=kde-base/libksane-4.1.0
=kde-base/kdegraphics-strigi-analyzer-4.1.0
=kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0
=kde-base/ktnef-4.1.0
=kde-base/mimelib-4.1.0
=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0
=kde-base/libksieve-4.1.0
=kde-base/kontactinterfaces-4.1.0
=kde-base/libkpgp-4.1.0
=kde-base/libkleo-4.1.0
=kde-base/kmailcvt-4.1.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coolsnowmen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 1479
Location: No.VA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kmail was updated to 4.1.0-r1, so you need to change both files. because the '=' will miss it

I don't version specific unmask in package.unmask (because things like this happen)
and in keywords i use the slot if I can, or '<' so in this case I would do
<kde-base/kmail-4.2
_________________
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "moo"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

coolsnowmen wrote:
kmail was updated to 4.1.0-r1, so you need to change both files. because the '=' will miss it

I don't version specific unmask in package.unmask (because things like this happen)
and in keywords i use the slot if I can, or '<' so in this case I would do
<kde-base/kmail-4.2


thanks. i was using the guides that i found via google to install the thing in the first place since all the ones here force feed you one of the two portage 'replacements'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naseweis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 159
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Split ebuilds only?! Reply with quote

From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay.
_________________
Nothing makes a person more productive than the last minute.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 1009
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Split ebuilds only?! Reply with quote

naseweis wrote:
From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay.
There is nomonolithic overlay AFAIK and the monoithic point has already been discussed about somewhere in the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:36 am    Post subject: Re: Split ebuilds only?! Reply with quote

shaumux wrote:
naseweis wrote:
From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay.
There is nomonolithic overlay AFAIK and the monoithic point has already been discussed about somewhere in the forums.


yes. it's actually slower then building the whole thing at once(due to repeated re-opening and extracting only the parts that are needed out of the monolithic releases, or waiting for things to download). It's just useful for those who want only programs A and B from kde-network, instead of A-Z
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
termite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it's a little slower, big deal - you're running Gentoo. Gentoo is about customization. A monolithic ebuild runs counter to that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 1009
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please don't start monolithic vs split for kde 4.x here its already been discussed.
and with kde 4.x swithing to cmake the gains would be very minimal while installing the package if any.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 804

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

termite wrote:
So it's a little slower, big deal - you're running Gentoo. Gentoo is about customization. A monolithic ebuild runs counter to that.


i was just answering the person's question, also i pointed out the reason why they were split. so don't jump down my throat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
naseweis
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 159
Location: germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

> Please don't start monolithic vs split for kde 4.x here its already been discussed.
No discussion here - I just assumed there would be monolithic ebuilds too, as split ebuilds are a great thing but not everybody needs them.

> and with kde 4.x swithing to cmake the gains would be very minimal while installing the package if any.
Aside from the time it takes until 200+ ebuilds are finished and they finally hit the tree.

Anyway, thanks for the info.
_________________
Nothing makes a person more productive than the last minute.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otty
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, sorry for posting again but i did not get any answer on my question.
kscd-9999 just failes and prevents the rest to build with this stupid message:
Code:

make: *** No rule to make target `install'.  Stop.


what can i do ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 22, 23, 24 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 23 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum