View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
gimpel Advocate
Joined: 15 Oct 2004 Posts: 2720 Location: Munich, Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
santaclaws wrote: | I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.
KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote: | "~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it." |
|
Just move .kde out of the way then
On Gentoo, ~/.kde is a symlink, which is changed on login by startkde. Arch might use a different approach to allow multiple kde installations, so using same $HOME for both might fail. _________________ http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
santaclaws Apprentice
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 Posts: 161 Location: Deeper Underground
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gimpel wrote: | santaclaws wrote: | I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.
KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote: | "~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it." |
|
Just move .kde out of the way then
On Gentoo, ~/.kde is a symlink, which is changed on login by startkde. Arch might use a different approach to allow multiple kde installations, so using same $HOME for both might fail. |
Gracias for your help.
But I had to completely delete the directory. mv did not help - kde4 came up but it was looking pretty ugly and slow as a snail.
rm -dfr .kde and a reboot did the trick. It is not the very cleanest solution, but it worked. _________________ Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jmrk n00b
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
santaclaws wrote: | I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.
KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote: | "~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it." |
I am completely stuck. |
just do the following:
Code: | mv ~/.kde ~/.kde3.5
ln -s ~/.kde3.5 ~/.kde
|
after that, "~/.kde" will be a symlink and kde 4 should stop complaining.
what then happens it that every time you start kde 4, it changes the symlink to point to ~/.kde4.1, and every time you start kde 3, it changes it back to ~/.kde3.5, so that ~/.kde will always point to the directory of the currently running version of kde without getting the directories mixed up (as their contents are not compatible). note that you should not start two parallel sessions with the same user but different kde versions for that very reason. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
santaclaws Apprentice
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 Posts: 161 Location: Deeper Underground
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 3:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jmrk wrote: | santaclaws wrote: | I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.
KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote: | "~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it." |
I am completely stuck. |
just do the following:
Code: | mv ~/.kde ~/.kde3.5
ln -s ~/.kde3.5 ~/.kde
|
after that, "~/.kde" will be a symlink and kde 4 should stop complaining.
what then happens it that every time you start kde 4, it changes the symlink to point to ~/.kde4.1, and every time you start kde 3, it changes it back to ~/.kde3.5, so that ~/.kde will always point to the directory of the currently running version of kde without getting the directories mixed up (as their contents are not compatible). note that you should not start two parallel sessions with the same user but different kde versions for that very reason. |
Thanks. _________________ Software is like sex. It is better when ist is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
isilia Apprentice
Joined: 25 Feb 2008 Posts: 177
|
Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 4:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | [ 54%] Building CXX object syndication/CMakeFiles/syndication.dir/syndication_automoc.o
Linking CXX shared library ../lib/libsyndication.so
[ 54%] Built target syndication
make: *** [all] Error 2
*
* ERROR: kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0 failed.
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
* environment, line 2558: Called kde4overlay-base_src_compile
* environment, line 1896: Called kde4overlay-base_src_make
* environment, line 1929: Called cmake-utils_src_make
* environment, line 625: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
* The die message:
* Make failed!
*
* If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
* A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/build.log'.
* The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/environment'.
* This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
* /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-base.eclass
* /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-functions.eclass
*
* Messages for package kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0:
*
* ERROR: kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0 failed.
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
* environment, line 2558: Called kde4overlay-base_src_compile
* environment, line 1896: Called kde4overlay-base_src_make
* environment, line 1929: Called cmake-utils_src_make
* environment, line 625: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";
* The die message:
* Make failed!
*
* If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
* A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/build.log'.
* The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.0/temp/environment'.
* This ebuild used the following eclasses from overlays:
* /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-base.eclass
* /usr/portage/local/layman/kdesvn-portage/eclass/kde4overlay-functions.eclass
|
Everything but this package has been compiled without errors. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jeanfrancis Veteran
Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 1482 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
santaclaws wrote: | kernelOfTruth wrote: | santaclaws wrote: | I do have a strange problem.
I have kde-3.5.9 installed and now successfully emerged kde-4.1 via kdesvn-portage overlay.
But when I want to start kde-4.1 I get a message telling me that there is a problem with a symlink to .kde.
So what to do?
I do have a folder named .kde and one named .kde4.1. in my /home directory but Is it safe to create a symlink from .kde to -kde4.1? I have read something on gentoo.wiki that this could cause real problems.
Any hints, please? |
Quote: | ls -al | grep .kde
ls: cannot access .gvfs: Permission denied
-rw-rw---- 1 user user 287 2008-02-12 16:31 .gtkrc-2.0-kde
lrwxrwxrwx 1 user user 7 2008-07-14 21:09 .kde -> .kdesvn
drwxrwx--- 4 user user 192 2008-07-10 05:41 .kde3.5
drwxrwx--- 2 user user 48 2008-07-05 17:18 kde_bak
-rw------- 1 user user 350 2008-01-17 01:33 .kderc
drwxrwx--- 4 user user 224 2008-08-13 10:23 .kdesvn
drwxrwx--- 2 user user 72 2008-05-02 00:22 tmp-kde |
|
Hi kerneloftruth,
I cannot get this symlink working. No plan.
KDE4.1 is always telling me:
Quote: | "~/.kde is not a symlink. Please move ~/.kde to ~/.kde3.5 (if appropriate) and symlink ~/.kde to it." |
I am completely stuck.
On archlinux it is working properlz but this time gentoo has driven me into problems..
Cheers. |
Is ~/.kde a symlink or not ? If not, and if you were using KDE 3.5, move it to ~/.kde3.5 as explained in the error message. If this is already a symlink, just remove it and it will be created correctly for you at your next KDE4 login. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bloodsurfer Guru
Joined: 07 Dec 2005 Posts: 361 Location: Wolfstein, Germany (Rhineland-Palatinate)
|
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kernelOfTruth wrote: | it ideally should be:
.kde3.5 & .kdesvn (real folders) |
Or .kde4.1 if he isn't using svn. _________________ SiberianSniper: my girlfriend's name ends with .c
Clete2: Uber geek! W00t! I'd rather have it end in .cpp... <insert name>.cpp
Dralnu: ...why not <name>.o? Then she's ready for linking...
SiberianSniper: or <name>.ko, so she's ready for insertion? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
otty n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi,
ive set up the kde-svn overlay and since a week i got this message on updating:
Code: |
...
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kscd-9999/work/kscd_build
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: kde-base/kscd-9999
>>> Install kscd-9999 into /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/kscd-9999/image/ categorykde-base
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
*
* ERROR: kde-base/kscd-9999 failed.
...
|
is it possible to fix it by myself, or have i to wait until the devs of kde will fix it ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Boccaccio Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 286
|
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did a layman -S this morning which brought in a modified version of phonon-xine-4.1.0 which depends on
Quote: |
>=media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.9
<media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15
|
which yields a dependency problem since some other packages demand the new media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15:
Quote: |
!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been
!!! pulled into the dependency graph:
media-libs/xine-lib:1
('ebuild', '/', 'media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.13', 'merge') pulled in by
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/phonon-xine-4.1.0', 'nomerge')
('installed', '/', 'media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15', 'nomerge') pulled in by
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/dragonplayer-4.1.0', 'nomerge')
('installed', '/', 'kde-base/phonon-xine-4.1.0', 'nomerge')
('installed', '/', 'media-video/xine-ui-0.99.5-r1', 'nomerge')
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bloodsurfer Guru
Joined: 07 Dec 2005 Posts: 361 Location: Wolfstein, Germany (Rhineland-Palatinate)
|
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
echo '>=media-libs/xine-lib-1.1.15' >> /etc/portage/package.mask
Should solve that problem if none of the packages really need 1.1.15. _________________ SiberianSniper: my girlfriend's name ends with .c
Clete2: Uber geek! W00t! I'd rather have it end in .cpp... <insert name>.cpp
Dralnu: ...why not <name>.o? Then she's ready for linking...
SiberianSniper: or <name>.ko, so she's ready for insertion? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Boccaccio Apprentice
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 Posts: 286
|
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
But doesn't xine-libs-1.1.15 close some security-relevant holes? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
truekaiser l33t
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
i am removing kde 4.0.99 and kde-9999 and rebuilding 4.1.0 to fix the removed files. but i have run into a problem. portage doesn't want to emerge kmail giving me
Code: |
Calculating dependencies h
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 (masked by: )
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0" [ebuild])
|
but here is the kicker, i have that in my package.unmask and package.keywords.
do you guys know how to fix this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
coolsnowmen Veteran
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 1479 Location: No.VA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
truekaiser wrote: | i am removing kde 4.0.99 and kde-9999 and rebuilding 4.1.0 to fix the removed files. but i have run into a problem. portage doesn't want to emerge kmail giving me
Code: |
Calculating dependencies h
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 (masked by: )
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0" [ebuild])
|
but here is the kicker, i have that in my package.unmask and package.keywords.
do you guys know how to fix this? |
Perhaps if you paste the relevent package.unmask, and package.keywords we could double check them with you _________________ emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "moo" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
truekaiser l33t
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
the part of package.keywords that has it
Code: |
=kde-base/knode-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kode-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/ktimetracker-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/ktnef-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/konsolekalendar-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/libkpgp-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/korn-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kdemaildir-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/mimelib-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/kalarm-4.1.0 **
=kde-base/libkholidays-4.1.0 **
|
and package.unmask
Code: |
=kde-base/libksane-4.1.0
=kde-base/kdegraphics-strigi-analyzer-4.1.0
=kde-base/kdepim-meta-4.1.0
=kde-base/ktnef-4.1.0
=kde-base/mimelib-4.1.0
=kde-base/kmail-4.1.0
=kde-base/libksieve-4.1.0
=kde-base/kontactinterfaces-4.1.0
=kde-base/libkpgp-4.1.0
=kde-base/libkleo-4.1.0
=kde-base/kmailcvt-4.1.0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
coolsnowmen Veteran
Joined: 30 Jun 2004 Posts: 1479 Location: No.VA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
kmail was updated to 4.1.0-r1, so you need to change both files. because the '=' will miss it
I don't version specific unmask in package.unmask (because things like this happen)
and in keywords i use the slot if I can, or '<' so in this case I would do
<kde-base/kmail-4.2 _________________ emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "moo" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
truekaiser l33t
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
coolsnowmen wrote: | kmail was updated to 4.1.0-r1, so you need to change both files. because the '=' will miss it
I don't version specific unmask in package.unmask (because things like this happen)
and in keywords i use the slot if I can, or '<' so in this case I would do
<kde-base/kmail-4.2 |
thanks. i was using the guides that i found via google to install the thing in the first place since all the ones here force feed you one of the two portage 'replacements' |
|
Back to top |
|
|
naseweis Apprentice
Joined: 04 Apr 2003 Posts: 159 Location: germany
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 6:22 pm Post subject: Split ebuilds only?! |
|
|
From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay. _________________ Nothing makes a person more productive than the last minute. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaumux Veteran
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:30 pm Post subject: Re: Split ebuilds only?! |
|
|
naseweis wrote: | From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay. | There is nomonolithic overlay AFAIK and the monoithic point has already been discussed about somewhere in the forums. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
truekaiser l33t
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:36 am Post subject: Re: Split ebuilds only?! |
|
|
shaumux wrote: | naseweis wrote: | From what I read on bugs.gentoo.org it seems, there will not be monolithic ebuilds for kde4.1 as we used to have for the 3.x series. Is that correct?
After waiting for what seems to be an eternity for kde4.1 to hit the tree, I'll be watching about 200 packages configure just to get a complete kde, which I assume would be a lot easier and faster to build with monolithic ebuilds (which I assume would also have been ready quite some time ago)?
Damn - I still love my gentoo but this sucks bigtime!
Please someone tell me that I'm wrong and point me to the monolithic overlay. | There is nomonolithic overlay AFAIK and the monoithic point has already been discussed about somewhere in the forums. |
yes. it's actually slower then building the whole thing at once(due to repeated re-opening and extracting only the parts that are needed out of the monolithic releases, or waiting for things to download). It's just useful for those who want only programs A and B from kde-network, instead of A-Z |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termite Guru
Joined: 06 May 2007 Posts: 466
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
So it's a little slower, big deal - you're running Gentoo. Gentoo is about customization. A monolithic ebuild runs counter to that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaumux Veteran
Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 1013 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Please don't start monolithic vs split for kde 4.x here its already been discussed.
and with kde 4.x swithing to cmake the gains would be very minimal while installing the package if any. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
truekaiser l33t
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 804
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
termite wrote: | So it's a little slower, big deal - you're running Gentoo. Gentoo is about customization. A monolithic ebuild runs counter to that. |
i was just answering the person's question, also i pointed out the reason why they were split. so don't jump down my throat. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
naseweis Apprentice
Joined: 04 Apr 2003 Posts: 159 Location: germany
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
> Please don't start monolithic vs split for kde 4.x here its already been discussed.
No discussion here - I just assumed there would be monolithic ebuilds too, as split ebuilds are a great thing but not everybody needs them.
> and with kde 4.x swithing to cmake the gains would be very minimal while installing the package if any.
Aside from the time it takes until 200+ ebuilds are finished and they finally hit the tree.
Anyway, thanks for the info. _________________ Nothing makes a person more productive than the last minute. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
otty n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2005 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi, sorry for posting again but i did not get any answer on my question.
kscd-9999 just failes and prevents the rest to build with this stupid message:
Code: |
make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
|
what can i do ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|