View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dissident85 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1642441178498688f175d3b.png)
Joined: 03 Nov 2008 Posts: 52 Location: ~/.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:27 am Post subject: xfce wireless? |
|
|
Hi all, I am trying to get wireless networking working in xfce with a D-Link DWL-G122 rev c1 (rt73 chip set) ok so what I have done so far is emerged networkmanager, nm-applet and XFapplet so that I have that nice gnome network manager. I then emerged net-wireless/rt73-firmware then executed "modprobe rt73 && update-modules" and then for good measure I restarted the pc. Once I login back in is where I am having some problems. First thing is the nm-applet is showing up 3 times in the notification area, but appears to be working. I'm guessing it is doing this because it has 3 network interfaces up? Loopback, LAN and WLAN. anyone know how to stop that? Now the other thing is when I click the nm-applet it shows all the networks in range, their SSID’s and signal strength. Which I am assuming is a good sign that the card is working correctly. And everything has installed correctly. But when I try to connect to my network, it just won’t connect, it won’t even ask me for the WPA phrase, and when I try to manually enter the network it still won’t connect.
Have I missed something? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
disi Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Zelda/Zelda_-_Link.jpg)
Joined: 28 Nov 2003 Posts: 1354 Location: Out There ...
|
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
I do not know about network manager in Gnome.
The default wireless tool would be iwconfig. Unfortunately it can only WEP and no WPA, for WPA afaik wpa_supplicant is used.
here is a pretty good howto setup networks using wpa_supplicant. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dissident85 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1642441178498688f175d3b.png)
Joined: 03 Nov 2008 Posts: 52 Location: ~/.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
disi wrote: | I do not know about network manager in Gnome.
The default wireless tool would be iwconfig. Unfortunately it can only WEP and no WPA, for WPA afaik wpa_supplicant is used.
here is a pretty good howto setup networks using wpa_supplicant. |
Thanks for that, I am now able to connect to my ap. But i am still having a few issues... it appears to connect to the ap but it dosn't get an ip or even try to get one? here is what i have done..
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf
Code: | network={
ssid="myssid"
psk="mypassphrase"
priority=5
} |
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: | config_myssid=( "dhcp" )
fallback_myssid=( "10.0.0.210/24" )
fallback_route_myssid=( "default via 10.0.0.15" ) |
and i run wpa_supplicant with this command
Code: | $wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pappy_mcfae Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2063135933479eedb93987b.jpg)
Joined: 27 Dec 2007 Posts: 5999 Location: Pomona, California.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
The first commandment for wpa_supplicant: Thou shalt invoke it thusly: Code: | wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext" |
This goes for (as far as I know) any and all wireless devices using wpa_supplicant. Anything else results in failure.
Blessed be!
Pappy _________________ This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dissident85 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1642441178498688f175d3b.png)
Joined: 03 Nov 2008 Posts: 52 Location: ~/.
|
Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 11:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok so i add
Code: | wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext" |
to /etc/conf.d/net then bring up the interface with
Code: | $wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf |
EDIT: Well i tried that and it still didnt get an ip address? I also tried
Code: | $wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_spplicant.conf |
and got the same thing |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
monsm Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/210649594149da229e52845.png)
Joined: 26 Sep 2007 Posts: 467 Location: London, UK
|
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am running dhcpclient (or something similar, not at the machine now) at the end in order to get the ip address.
I am using wep and a script that runs at the end of boot (called from local) though, don't know if that makes any difference.
Mons |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dissident85 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1642441178498688f175d3b.png)
Joined: 03 Nov 2008 Posts: 52 Location: ~/.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well the only way i have been able to get it to connect is using this script below. there must be a better way?
Code: | #!/bin/bash
wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ifconfig wlan0 10.0.0.201 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
route add default gw 10.0.0.15 wlan0
echo "nameserver 10.0.0.2" > /etc/resolv.conf |
I was thinking of using this script i created to start it up at boot
/etc/init.d/wirelessup
Code: | #!/sbin/runscript
CONFFILE=/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
start() {
if [ ! -f "${CONFFILE}" ]; then
eerror "Configuration file ${CONFFILE} not found!"
return 1
fi
ebegin "Connecting wlan0"
wpa_supplicant -B -iwlan0 -c${CONFFILE}
ifconfig wlan0 10.0.0.201 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
route add default gw 10.0.0.15 wlan0
echo "nameserver 10.0.0.2" > /etc/resolv.conf
eend $?
}
stop() {
ebegin "Stopping wlan0"
ifconfig wlan0 down
killall wpa_supplicant
eend $?
} |
and then running rc-update add wirelessup default |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
disi Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Zelda/Zelda_-_Link.jpg)
Joined: 28 Nov 2003 Posts: 1354 Location: Out There ...
|
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK, here is how I would have set this up...
I know that init should automatically start all network cards, however I like to do it my own way:
Code: |
# emerge dhcpcd
# ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.pengblubb0
# rc-update add net.pengblubb0 default
|
then I know the name it will use and I can configure it using /etc/conf.d/net:
Code: |
modules=( "dhcp" "wpa_supplicant" )
# dhcp stuff while it will do this default anyway
config_pengblubb0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_pengblubb0="-t 30"
# wireless stuff
wpa_supplicant_pengblubb0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_pengblubb0=60
# you can use also postup stuff, which is useful for wireless, since it takes time to connect
|
the wpa_supplicant.conf as you have it already configured
P.S. I do not use wireless at all at the moment, but I hope this helps |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|