View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:20 am Post subject: Copy&Waste |
|
|
something went wrong with the copy&paste. sorry.
here is the file:
https://grafrotz.dyndns.org/public/powernow-patch-2.6.30.3-GRAFROTZ.patch
make sure, the sym-link "linux" points to the right kernel-source-directory:
cd /usr/src/linux/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq
and make sure you patch the original powernow-k8.c . this file is the same in 2.6.30.3 and 2.6.30.4. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:26 am Post subject: possible values for mV |
|
|
with the formula
mV=1550-(VID*25)
<=>
VID=(1550-mV)/25
i get:
VID mV
6 1400
7 1375
8 1350
9 1325
a 1300
b 1275
c 1250
d 1225
e 1200
f 1175
10 1150
11 1125
12 1100
13 1075
14 1050
15 1025
16 1000
17 975
my AMD X2 5600+ 65nm, 65W, 2,9GHz works good with the following values:
Code: |
append="powernow-k8.freq_list=2900,2800,2600,2400,2200,2000,1000 powernow-k8.vcore_list=1200,1175,1125,1100,1075,1025,1000"
|
somebody know, how to test the stability in a good way? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
new_nOOb Apprentice
Joined: 05 Mar 2004 Posts: 280
|
Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dank der Patch ging super.als stabilitätstest eignet sich cpuburn oder kernel backen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
abulak n00b
Joined: 12 Dec 2008 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grafrotz it worked, thank you
i tested my voltages using sci-mathematics/gimps (Great Internet Merssene Prime Search)
command line utility with Benchmarking and Torture test
i don't know how to test frequency midsteps, but i did it for min (800Mhz) and for max(1900) and interpolated
running gimps for 5h is good enough, i've never had hang-ups since then;-)
now i'm running
Code: | module_powernow_k8_args_2_6="freq_list=1900,1800,1600,800 vcore_list=975,950,875,725" |
my turion is about 5C cooler at 800Mhz, and more than 15 at 1900Mhz [full load using gimps]
but it doesn't mean it's cool.... idle ~40C, load ~70C.... damn hot little turion
grafrotz thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TwoMinds Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 146 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
new_nOOb wrote: | it´s doesn't work.
root@ubuntu:/usr/src/linux-2.6.30.3# patch -p1 < powernow-patch-2.6.30.3.patch (or -p0)
missing header for unified diff at line 3 of patch
can't find file to patch at input line 3
Perhaps you used the wrong -p or --strip option?
The text leading up to this was:
--------------------------
|--- powernow-k8.c-ORIGINAL 2009-08-02 15:39:33.989135271 +0200
|+++ powernow-k8.c 2009-08-02 15:37:50.853136905 +0200
--------------------------
File to patch:
when i go to the directory then
root@ubuntu:/usr/src/linux-2.6.30.3/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq# patch -p0 <powernow-patch-2.6.30.3.patch
patching file powernow-k8.c
Hunk #4 succeeded at 77 with fuzz 1.
Hunk #5 succeeded at 95 with fuzz 1.
Hunk #6 FAILED at 689.
Hunk #7 FAILED at 716.
Hunk #8 FAILED at 736.
Hunk #9 FAILED at 771.
Hunk #10 FAILED at 906.
Hunk #11 FAILED at 1023.
Hunk #12 FAILED at 1081.
7 out of 12 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file powernow-k8.c.rej |
...sorry cut'n'paste problem for me too... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trubicoid Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 79
|
Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
abulak wrote: |
i don't know how to test frequency midsteps, but i did it for min (800Mhz) and for max(1900) and interpolated
|
it's much better to test all the frequencies, otherwise you can get bad surprises
e.g. for 1.8GHz you should do:
Code: |
echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo 1800000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed
|
and then check the stability at this frequency
also it is good to check for mce errors (you have to compile it in your kernel CONFIG_X86_MCE_AMD=y) and running mcelog; my turion is showing ecc L1 or L2 cache errors at 800MHz even it is able to go through torture mprime test, so I increase the voltage a little bit to get rid of those errors
on the other hand my newer athlon X2 4850e never shows any mce error at any voltage so I have to rely only on the mprime |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:40 am Post subject: powernow-k8-patch for linux 2.6.32-rc3 |
|
|
something changed in the powernow-k8.c.i tried to make a new patch:
https://grafrotz.dyndns.org/public/powernow-patch-2.6.32-rc3-GRAFROTZ.patch
OLD: powernow-k8.c in linux 2.6.30.8 has: invalidate_entry(data, i);
NEW: powernow-k8.c in linux 2.6.32-rc3 has: invalidate_entry(powernow_table, i);
patching:
cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.32-rc3/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/
patch -p0 < powernow-patch-2.6.32-rc3-GRAFROTZ.patch
(the patch-file in the same dir)
it seems to work here like before with:
append="powernow-k8.freq_list=2900,2800,2600,2400,2200,2000,1000 powernow-k8.vcore_list=1250,1225,1175,1125,1075,1025,1000"
please be careful when trying the new patch... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:00 am Post subject: works with 2.6.30.9 too |
|
|
i tested the new patch with kernel 2.6.30.9. it seems to work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
razze Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2005 Posts: 161 Location: Espoo, Finland
|
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi!
Still a great patch you have made, and I have been using it for several years!
Is there an update for say 2.6.34 or newer kernels? I get the following rejection on 2.6.34-r1:
Code: |
***************
*** 999,1005 ****
dprintk("double low frequency table entry, "
"ignoring it.\n");
- invalidate_entry(data, i);
continue;
} else
cntlofreq = i;
--- 1059,1065 ----
dprintk("double low frequency table entry, "
"ignoring it.\n");
+ invalidate_entry(powernow_table, i);
continue;
} else
cntlofreq = i;
|
_________________ --------------------------
Linux User #393524
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @2,3 GHz, Asus A8V, VIA K8T800PRO, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS, 2 Gb Dual Channel DDR RAM, 2x Samsung SP120 200Gb, 2x WD 320Gb, Plextor PX-716A, linux-2.6.31-gentoo-r10 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
razze Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2005 Posts: 161 Location: Espoo, Finland
|
Posted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great, Thanks!!!! _________________ --------------------------
Linux User #393524
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ @2,3 GHz, Asus A8V, VIA K8T800PRO, Nvidia GeForce 7600GS, 2 Gb Dual Channel DDR RAM, 2x Samsung SP120 200Gb, 2x WD 320Gb, Plextor PX-716A, linux-2.6.31-gentoo-r10 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:56 pm Post subject: settings |
|
|
Hi,
which undervolt-settings do you use for your AMD X2 3800+ Windsor 65W? I use:
powernow-k8.freq_list=2000,1800,1000
powernow-k8.vcore_list=1200,1150,1050
which values do somebody use for an AMD X2 5600+ Brisbane 65W? I use:
powernow-k8.freq_list=2900,2800,2600,2400,2200,2000,1000
powernow-k8.vcore_list=1250,1225,1175,1125,1075,1025,100
Both sets of setting are stable here since some month!
Greetings
Mario |
|
Back to top |
|
|
freke Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 1029 Location: Somewhere in Denmark
|
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for keeping the patch up-to-date, used it a bit back in mid-2005 - 2008 on my laptop, and now I'm finding myself putting Gentoo on the laptop again and still able to apply the undervolt-patches |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ceh n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2005 Posts: 16
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:22 pm Post subject: undervolt patch for kernel 2.6.36.1 |
|
|
undervolt patch for kernel 2.6.36.1:
https://grafrotz.dyndns.org/majos/software/devices/powernow-patch-2.6.36.1-GRAFROTZ.patch
save the patch in the directory /usr/src/
cd /usr/src/linux
cd arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq
patch -p0 </usr/src/powernow-patch-2.6.36.1-GRAFROTZ.patch
to create the patch, i used
diff -Naur powernow-k8.ORIGINAL powernow-k8.c > /usr/src/powernow-patch-2.6.36.1-GRAFROTZ.patch
Greetings |
|
Back to top |
|
|
freke Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 1029 Location: Somewhere in Denmark
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does anyone per chance have a copy of the patch for 2.6.36?
Link seems to be down |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
freke Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 1029 Location: Somewhere in Denmark
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
s_bernstein Apprentice
Joined: 11 Mar 2006 Posts: 172 Location: Bremen, Germany
|
Posted: Sat Mar 19, 2011 6:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm... funny. I always thought, that's what linux-PHC is for? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
freke Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 1029 Location: Somewhere in Denmark
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Seems so - didn't know about that project, have been using this wonderful patch for years though |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:36 am Post subject: which is the smartest way? what about k10? |
|
|
s_bernstein wrote: | Hmm... funny. I always thought, that's what linux-PHC is for? |
I looked at the code of phc-k8-0.4.3 and it seems it technically works very similar to this patch here.
phc can deal with k8 (as this patch here too).
What about k10? somebody knows how to undervolt new CPUs? Is it necessary (temperature, noise)? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
s_bernstein Apprentice
Joined: 11 Mar 2006 Posts: 172 Location: Bremen, Germany
|
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
As far as I remember there should be support for k10 - at least in the so called test release. I'm using linux-PHC for years on my ThinkPad and besides killing the fan noise because the fan doesn't run under normal workloads anymore (execpt for compiling), it also provide increased battery life for about half an hour. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
abulak n00b
Joined: 12 Dec 2008 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 4:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
any chance for the same patch for kernel-3.0?
I see there were some changes in powernow-k8.c not mentioning the kernel source structure... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grafrotz n00b
Joined: 27 Aug 2006 Posts: 38 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:30 am Post subject: Kernel 3.0 |
|
|
I just tested linux 3.0.0 and i want the powernow-patch back too!
Perhaps I will try to adjust the old patch for the new kernel. If someone else could try it too, it would be fine.
The powernow-file is in this path:
/usr/src/linux/drivers/cpufreq/powernow-k8.c |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|