Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] sshfs - Connection reset by peer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2716
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:16 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] sshfs - Connection reset by peer Reply with quote

I'm trying to connect to another box via sshfs.
It works from the command line:
Code:
sshfs thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma mnt/clinic/ -o allow_other
it works perfectly

but when I try to mount it from KDE icon I created (via fstab) I get:
Connection reset by peer

entry in my: fstab
Code:
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/  fuse users,noauto,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0,allow_other  0 0


is the uid=1000,gid=1000 causing problems?
The line above works perfectly with my other boxes (just the IP is different).


Last edited by Joseph_sys on Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bircoph
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 261
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to tcpdump interface in both cases and compare the difference. This may give a clue on what is wrong.
_________________
Per aspera ad astra!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23064

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you run the mount command by hand, does it produce any relevant errors? My first guess would be that you are using key-based authentication and that the fstab-spawned mount fails to find or use your keys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2716
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
If you run the mount command by hand, does it produce any relevant errors? My first guess would be that you are using key-based authentication and that the fstab-spawned mount fails to find or use your keys.


When I mount it from the command line there are no errors and it works perfectly.
I only get an error when I try to mount it by clicking on "NSF" icon I created on the desktop.

I only use keys for log-in.

Which option enable/generate sshd file-log in sshd.conf to /var/log/ directory?
I think this is the only way to find out what is going on as pop-up error message doesn't give enough detail to trace the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bircoph
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Jun 2008
Posts: 261
Location: Moscow

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joseph_sys wrote:

Which option enable/generate sshd file-log in sshd.conf to /var/log/ directory?

run sshd with -d.

Quote:

I think this is the only way to find out what is going on as pop-up error message doesn't give enough detail to trace the problem.

There are good network analyzers, but you seems to ignore them.
_________________
Per aspera ad astra!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2716
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SOLVED

I don't know what difference it makes but the KDE does not like to mount to the same folder. I created extra folder and it mounts OK now.
The last two line in my fstab:
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.167:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/ ...
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/ ...

they are both suppose to mount to the same folder "/home/joseph/mnt/clinic/" and it works from the command line but not from the NFS-icon I created on KDE desktop. So changing second line to:
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic_atx/ (mounting to clinic_atx) folder solved the problem.

But I don't know why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23064

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say it works from the command line, do you mean you ran mount /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/ and it worked? To understand why it is different for KDE, we need to know exactly how KDE is triggering the mount. An strace of the right process would be the simplest way, unless you are familiar enough with the KDE code to check the source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2716
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works from the command line:
Code:
sshfs thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma mnt/clinic/ -o allow_other

but it will not mount byt using created NFS-icon on KDE desktop from fstab:
Code:
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/  fuse users,noauto,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0,allow_other  0 0

So, I think the reason is that I have two lines that mounts to the same location from fstab? not sure
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.167:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/ fuse users,noauto,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0,allow_other 0 0
sshfs#thelma@10.0.0.157:/home/thelma/ /home/joseph/mnt/clinic/ fuse users,noauto,uid=1000,gid=1000,umask=0,allow_other 0 0

All I did was changed the mounting location on second line in fstab and it works OK
.../home/joseph/mnt/clinic-ath/...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum