View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:55 pm Post subject: install KDE |
|
|
i install kde follow this :
Code: |
2. KDE
KDE is a graphical desktop environment for Linux and Unix workstations.
# emerge kdebase-startkde (Install the base KDE components)
# emerge kicker kmenuedit (Install the taskbar)
# emerge kate kcontrol knetattach konqueror konsole kpdf (Install additional)
# env-update; source /etc/profile (Update the system variables)
# su <user> (Test it as non-root user)
$ echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc (Configure X startup)
$ source /etc/profile (Update the system variables)
$ startx (Start KDE)
$ exit (Back to root)
# ls /etc/X11/Sessions (Look for KDE version)
# nano -w /etc/rc.conf (Modify XSESSION and DISPLAYMANAGER)
# rc-update add xdm default (Set graphical session at boot)
# reboot (Reboot and login as root)
|
but when i use startx it say bash:startx : command not found
this is my use flag :
Code: |
USE="-gtk qt3 qt4 kde kdeprefix ...."
|
Thanks ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
startx belongs to x11-apps/xinit - do you have that inatalled?
also maybe you are not in enough groups - what is the output of
And post the output of Code: | eselect rc show ; eselect profile list |
And post your emerge --info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i didnt install x11-app/xinitgentoo (plz tell me how to install this ) and i dont know how to post all of there output because i dont have any desktop to coppy all of them sorry i;m noob |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
x11-app/xinit should have been pulled in as a dependency, run to see if it is in fact installed.
also you can emerge wgetpaste
then run Code: | emerge --info | wgetpaste | and just post the URL e.g. http://dpaste.com/<some_number> |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thank you very much . here this :
http://dpaste.com/91491/
hehe i try install by
then type it say
[/code]
xinit: Permission denied (errno 13) : so server "X" in PATH
......
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok and do you have x11-app/xinit installed
Are you in the users and video groups? run id <user>
Look at eselect profile list - are you using a desktop profile? If not I would suggest setting a desktop profile if you wish, because it will provide most of the USE flags that you need for KDE4.
Also it would be a good idea to run Code: | perl-cleaner all && revdep-rebuild | to make sure your box is consistent. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
id :
Code: |
uid=1000(zenny) gid=1000(zenny) groups=1000(zenny),100(users)
|
in eselect profile list : it have "*" in
Code: |
1. default/linux/x86/2008.0
|
how can i change this ? because in 2. have desktop
.......
and i will add kde4 in my use flags ??
i finished Code: |
perl-cleaner all && revdep-rebuild | it say command not found |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oops revdep-rebuild is in package gentoolkit Code: | emerge gentoolkit && revdep-rebuild |
To set a desktop profile Code: | eselect profile set N | where N is 2008.0/desktop or 10.0/desktop
After you set the desktop profile run
Add yourself to some groups Code: | gpasswd -a <you> video |
These are all groups that are good to belong todaemon tty lp wheel cron audio cdrom video games users portage messagebus haldaemon plugdev
When you add yourself to groups you need to then logout then log back in for the changes to take effect.
Also make sure you start hald dbus and consolekit before running KDE. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Also make sure you start hald dbus and consolekit before running KDE. |
Sorry but how start hald and dbus ... ( i did like you but but dont start them and when start x ... error like the first . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, you need to run this :
And if they are not started, then run this :
Code: |
# rc-update add hald default
# rc-update add consolekit defaut
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i did it and when login user : type startx , it error :
Code: |
Xinit : connection refused (errno 111):unable to connect to X server
Xinit:no such process (errno 3) server error . | [/url] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
remove the file $HOME/.Xauthority
then startx without an xorg.conf file |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
i type : Code: | rm -r $HOME/.Xauthority |
it say no directory or file ,...[/url] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Replace $home with your username actually. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
uhm... i Code: | rm -r /home/zenny/.Xauthority | then i type startx it make that file again and it say xinit server error |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Please post the output of
And post the output of |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jaglover Watchman
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hint:
You CAN redirect the output of a command. For instance ls -l > mydirlisting will create a file mydirlisting with output of ls -l in it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
You need to start dbus Code: | /etc/init.d/dbus start
eselect rc add dbus default |
then try startx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks Jagloverbut can you say more about this ? uhm i try do it , but like : startx -l > mylink . and cp to usb , when i open it ... it have nothing .
when i start x :
Code: |
xinit : No such file or directory (errno2) : no sever "X" in PATH
...
...
Xinit server error
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Huh? What are you trying to do exactly. For one thing there is no "-l" option for startx.
Did you start dbus?
What happened to your X? Post the output of this Code: | echo $PATH ; which X |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can you post this :
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
zenny n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2009 Posts: 43
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
how can i post this . uhm i always wrote all of them to page and then paste this again . How can i do it fast ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
d2_racing Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, if you have a USB Key, then run this :
Code: |
# mkdir /mnt/usb
# mount /dev/your_device /mnt/usb
# cd /mnt/usb
# emerge --info > emerge.info
# cd /
# umount /mnt/usb
|
After that, then you will be able to cut and paste the result from a LiveCD or even an another distro or windows if you are really stuck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zenny wrote: | how can i post this . uhm i always wrote all of them to page and then paste this again . How can i do it fast ? |
You already did (above) Code: | emerge --info | wgetpaste |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|