View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
darkie n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:26 am Post subject: Mozilla 1.5 Final + Epiphany 1.0.2 Fix |
|
|
problem: you managed to get Mozilla 1.5 final installed (i did it with a tiny mod to 1.4-r4 ebuild), and you want a shiny new Epiphany 1.0.2 installed, but alas the ./configure script complains that you don't have Mozilla 1.4, 1.5a, 1.5b, or 1.6a. Thats right no support for 1.5 final yet....
well this is a really simple trick, just make the configure script support 1.5
if you know how to modify ebuilds to apply a patch during src_unpack() use this info
Code: | --- epiphany-1.0.2.old/configure 2003-10-15 23:58:55.000000000 -0400
+++ epiphany-1.0.2/configure 2003-10-15 23:59:20.000000000 -0400
@@ -20825,6 +20825,7 @@
1.4.1) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=9 ;;
1.5a) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=10 ;;
1.5b) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=11 ;;
+ 1.5) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=11 ;;
1.6a) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=12 ;;
trunk) MOZILLA_SNAPSHOT=12 ;;
*) { { echo "$as_me:$LINENO: error:
|
You can see it was as easy as adding 1.5) to the configure script. This worked for me, I am typing this in e1.0.2 now with mozilla 1.5 installed, both from source
Step by step for the queezy (NOTE: this may not work for you, I probably cannont help either because I had to learn all this stuff on the fly, I am by far a guru )
1) open up epiphany-1.0.2.ebuild in your favorite editor, i use nano for this.
Code: | nano -w /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/epiphany-1.0.2.ebuild |
2) add this just BEFORE pkg_setup() { line
Code: | src_unpack() {
unpack ${A}
epatch /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/files/mozilla-1.5-fix.patch
}
|
3) change to /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/files
Code: | cd /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/files |
4) use nano (or fav editor) like above, and create a new file mozilla-1.5-fix.patch
Code: | nano -w mozilla-1.5-fix.patch |
5) paste the code i first listed above into this file and save it (ctrl-o ctrl-x in nano)
6) cd .. to get back one directory (takes you to /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/) and type this:
Code: | ebuild epiphany-1.0.2.ebuild digest |
7) now run (same directory) this:
Code: | emerge epiphany-1.0.2.ebuild |
and wait for it to finish!
Possible problems:
errors on the patch: make sure /usr/portage/net-www/epiphany/files/mozilla-1.5-fix.patch exists and has the first code lisiting pasted into it.
final note: I am far from perfect and this is my first time toying with ebuilds and patching from an ebuild... please let me know if I made any mistakes or how i can make things better. Also let me know if i left out any steps lol.
Remember this worked for ME.. it may not work for you. Enjoy.
update: the patch can also be seen here. _________________ Got Gentoo? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Lovechild Advocate
Joined: 17 May 2002 Posts: 2858 Location: Århus, Denmark
|
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 7:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just set it to build against 1.5b and it worked.
I also found that 1.5 seemed to be tagged wrong in CVS, so checking out mozilla_1_5_branch made it compile like it was suppose to. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkie n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2002 Posts: 23 Location: USA
|
Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 3:54 pm Post subject: yea |
|
|
I downloaded a 1.5 tarball from mozilla.org before it got swamped and some files were missing?
so later on i grabbed the 1.5 release branch from CVS and it compiled fine.
the joys of compiling _________________ Got Gentoo? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crazy-bee Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
The same problem exists with galeon-1.3.9. Unfortunately, I dont know how to make a patch file, otherwise it would work with the epiphany patch darkie made. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Evil Dark Archon Guru
Joined: 21 Dec 2002 Posts: 562 Location: Santa Rosa, CA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 9:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
in both cases modifying the ebuild to change
Code: | --with-mozilla-snapshot=${moz_ver} |
to
Code: | --with-mozilla-snapshot=1.5b |
it will compile and run fine although there is a new version of epiphany (probably masked unstable) that already has 1.5 final support. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crazy-bee Apprentice
Joined: 03 Jan 2003 Posts: 170
|
Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 7:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@evil: thanks, that worked brillant for galeon-1.3.9 !!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|