OpenRC support thread, 2d Edition
|
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
Goto page Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nichocouk Guru
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | staticroute="net 123.456.78.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 123.456.78.1" | seems to do the trick and I do not get a single error message when booting!
Thanks for your help _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nichocouk Guru
Joined: 10 Mar 2005 Posts: 585 Location: Glasgow
|
Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nichocouk wrote: | Code: | staticroute="net 123.456.78.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 123.456.78.1" | seems to do the trick and I do not get a single error message when booting!
|
Even better: in fact I don't need staticroute to be in the boot runlevel - the correct route is already in place with only network in boot runlevel, with the same configuration as before:
Code: | # cat /etc/conf.d/network
ifconfig_eth0="123.456.78.901 netmask 255.255.255.0"
domainname="my.nis.dom"
defaultroute="123.456.78.1" |
Hope this also helps others!
Cheers. _________________ nichocouk
L'Etat, c'est moi. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ferrarif5 wrote: | Hi,
Am running OpenRC 0.5.3, just updated from 0.3.0 to which I was having the same problem as stated below though I can't remember it saying SIGTERM and my filesystem was always marked clean which isn't the case now.
The problem:
When I go to shutdown or reboot the system, stopping localmount results in SIGTERM, below is the rc.log:
Code: |
rc shutdown logging started at Tue Dec 8 22:38:26 2009
* Caching service dependencies... [ ok ]
* Stopping local... [ ok ]
* Saving random seed... [ ok ]
* Deactivating swap devices... [ ok ]
* Disabling numlock on ttys... [ ok ]
* Stopping cupsd... [ ok ]
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels... [ ok ]
* Stopping kdm... [ ok ]
* Unmounting network filesystems... [ ok ]
* Unmounting NFS filesystems... [ ok ]
* Stopping NFS statd... [ ok ]
* Stopping portmap... [ ok ]
* Deleting static routes... SIOCDELRT: No such process [ ok ]
* Bringing down interface eth0 *
Stopping dhcpcd on eth0... [ ok ]
* Removing addresses
* Bringing down interface lo
* Removing addresses
* Stopping Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon... [ ok ]
* Stopping ConsoleKit daemon... [ ok ]
* Stopping syslog-ng... [ ok ]
* Stopping D-BUS system messagebus... [ ok ]
* Unmounting loopback devices
* Unmounting filesystems
* Unmounting /lib/rc/init.d...
* rc: caught SIGTERM, aborting
|
Any ideas? Cheers |
Managed to get rid of the static routes error, but still having an issue with unmounting filesystems, I've tried fscking my root partition which came back clear however due to the system not shutting down properly am getting "Filesystem NOT clean" with transactions being replayed on boot... if anyone has any ideas why my system isn't reboot properly I'll appreciate it!! _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not sure, but I think the unmounting problem could be a udev issue.
Which version of udev is installed?
Did you run etc-update after udev was emerged?
Do you have these?/etc/init.d/udev-mount
/etc/init.d/udev-postmount
/etc/init.d/udev-save
/etc/init.d/udevd |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, thanks for you reply.
Am running udev 146-r1 and the only items I have in init.d with a prefix of udev are:
udev
udev-dev-tarball
udev-mount
udev-postmount _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Hunt Watchman
Joined: 19 Jul 2009 Posts: 5287
|
Posted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see, on my x86 Gentoo I have this Code: | - sys-fs/udev-146-r1 (masked by: package.mask) |
therefore udev-124-r2 installed and only this one in /etc/init.d
They all seem to be somewhat different. But I do know that there are in fact some various un-mounting problems with some of the newest masked udevs during shutdown/reboot.
Have you tried a different version, as a test of my wonderful theory? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well updated to the latest unstable udev (149) and still no dice :-/ going to try a full system rebuild and see what happens there _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hupf Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Sep 2005 Posts: 112 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Remove net.eth0 from init.d |
On that occasion, is there a simple way to identify files in /etc/ that are no longer used? Specifically since I'm running on unstable there are many remainders from the (baselayout-1) stage3 tarball. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr.Willy Guru
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 547 Location: NRW, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Mhh, I guess you could do something like
awk '/ \/etc/ { print $2 }' /var/db/pkg/*/*/CONTENTS | sort -u > etcCONTENTS
find /etc | sort -u > etcFiles
diff -u etcFiles etcCONTENTS | less
You should verify that list though, you will get a lot of false positives. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ferrarif5 wrote: | Hi,
Am running OpenRC 0.5.3, just updated from 0.3.0 to which I was having the same problem as stated below though I can't remember it saying SIGTERM and my filesystem was always marked clean which isn't the case now.
The problem:
When I go to shutdown or reboot the system, stopping localmount results in SIGTERM, below is the rc.log:
Code: |
rc shutdown logging started at Tue Dec 8 22:38:26 2009
* Caching service dependencies... [ ok ]
* Stopping local... [ ok ]
* Saving random seed... [ ok ]
* Deactivating swap devices... [ ok ]
* Disabling numlock on ttys... [ ok ]
* Stopping cupsd... [ ok ]
* Storing ALSA Mixer Levels... [ ok ]
* Stopping kdm... [ ok ]
* Unmounting network filesystems... [ ok ]
* Unmounting NFS filesystems... [ ok ]
* Stopping NFS statd... [ ok ]
* Stopping portmap... [ ok ]
* Deleting static routes... SIOCDELRT: No such process [ ok ]
* Bringing down interface eth0 *
Stopping dhcpcd on eth0... [ ok ]
* Removing addresses
* Bringing down interface lo
* Removing addresses
* Stopping Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon... [ ok ]
* Stopping ConsoleKit daemon... [ ok ]
* Stopping syslog-ng... [ ok ]
* Stopping D-BUS system messagebus... [ ok ]
* Unmounting loopback devices
* Unmounting filesystems
* Unmounting /lib/rc/init.d...
* rc: caught SIGTERM, aborting
|
Any ideas? Cheers |
Well done an empty tree with world and it's still doing this :-/ someone must of encountered this.. _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah I am, what would you recommend?
Code: |
$ ls -l /usr | grep lib
drwxr-xr-x 153 root root 128792 2009-12-21 01:03 lib
drwxr-xr-x 24 root root 21080 2009-12-21 01:03 lib32
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 2005-01-26 21:09 lib64 -> lib
|
_________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for being numb here but what is the actual cause? Is it how my lib directories are setup? _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ferrarif5 Apprentice
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, my profile is the following:
Code: |
# eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
[1] default/linux/amd64/10.0
[2] default/linux/amd64/10.0/desktop *
[3] default/linux/amd64/10.0/developer
[4] default/linux/amd64/10.0/no-multilib
[5] default/linux/amd64/10.0/server
|
I also checked glibc to ensure multilib was in use
Code: |
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] sys-libs/glibc-2.9_p20081201-r2 USE="(multilib) nls -debug -gd -glibc-omitfp (-hardened) -profile (-selinux) -vanilla" 0 kB
|
I'll try an emptytree of system. _________________ Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
Intel Core i7 920
18GB Corsair DDR3
User:335876 | Screenshot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zhushazang Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 01 Dec 2005 Posts: 81
|
Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hey dudes, i'm using at to openrc-0.5.3 this /etc/conf.d/net configuration:
config_bond0="192.168.1.2 netmask 255.255.255.0"
slaves_bond0="eth0 eth2"
routes_bond0="default via 192.168.1.1"
But now, with upgrade to openrc-0.6.0 my network configuration don't start in boot process.
Has some new how-to to follow, cos this:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/openrc-migration.xml
Are outdated...
Thanks for now |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MalleRIM Guru
Joined: 23 Jul 2007 Posts: 563 Location: China
|
Posted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | MalleRIM wrote: | Is there a way to use RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP="yes" but to stop at specific points and do not try to start anything until a certain init script is executed?
I want to use RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP but I can't type my LUKS password if I do... So I want the init process to wait until dmcrypt is started and then keep going. |
You can't do this as you could have 2 scripts contending for the keyboard.
In your situation, just disable parallel. |
Ok, thanks for the info! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | AM088 wrote: | With the new devtmpfs feature in Linux 2.6.32, the kernel to populates and mounts /dev with most device nodes - meaning udev is not needed so early in the boot. How can this be taken advantage of with OpenRC, so that we can get a 2-second faster bootup? |
email zzam@gentoo.org about it. cc roy@marples.name on the convo as well. I don't think he reads these forums and he's the udev maintainer. |
I've been quite curious about this as well. Did either of you hear any feedback on this one?
(sorry for the only-marginally-related hijack) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nenemsis5 n00b
Joined: 23 Oct 2007 Posts: 72
|
Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this is my system:
Code: |
Portage 2.1.7.16 (default/linux/amd64/10.0/desktop, gcc-4.4.2, glibc-2.11-r1, 2.6.32-gentoo-r1 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.32-gentoo-r1-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-2_Duo_CPU_P9700_@_2.80GHz-with-gentoo-2.0.1
Timestamp of tree: Sat, 02 Jan 2010 21:00:01 +0000
app-shells/bash: 4.0_p35
dev-java/java-config: 2.1.10
dev-lang/python: 2.6.4, 3.1.1-r1
dev-util/cmake: 2.8.0
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.0.1
sys-apps/openrc: 0.6.0
sys-apps/sandbox: 2.2
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.65
sys-devel/automake: 1.8.5-r4, 1.9.6-r3, 1.10.3, 1.11.1
sys-devel/binutils: 2.20
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
sys-devel/libtool: 2.2.6b
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.30-r1
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64 ~amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="*"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
|
following problem are there:
in this sys-apps/openrc: 0.6.0 the files: /etc/init.d/net.eth0, /etc/conf.d/rc , /etc/conf.d/net will always installed.
i though u wanted to replace it, so why it will be installed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skotlex Guru
Joined: 13 Mar 2004 Posts: 306
|
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's been a while, but I don't get unclean reboots that often.
Some history on the problem:
UberLord wrote: |
Quote: | I noticed that my reiser4 partitions don't get mounted after a crash (aka. hibernate-gone-wrong), and I really would want to fix that because it's annoying logging in as root just to mount filesystems.
I think the source of the problem may lay in the fact that, within /etc/fstab, the partitions are called "reiser4," while the correct syntax for mount -at to make the partitions be mounted is "mount -at reiserfs"
However, since I don't know how the net_fs_list variable is built, I can't look for a way to fix it myself. Could it even be fixed by adding something to /etc/conf.d/localmount?
using baselayout 2.0.1 |
Isn't reiser4 supposed to fix itself? Either they replay at mount or fsck fixes them.
The chances of me running reiser4 are nothing, so you'll have to help me here.
How do you manually fix this? |
My new developments: I modified a bit /etc/init.d/localmount to check what's going on, and this is the output after an unclean reboot:
Code: |
fsck |* Checking local filesystems ...
devfs |* Mounting /dev/pts...
devfs |* Mounting /dev/shm...fsck.reiser4 /dev/sda2
fsck |/dev/sda1 : propre, 54/14056 fichiers, 33476/56196 blocs
fsck.reiser4 /dev/sda3
localmount |* Mounting local filesystems of types noproc,afs,cifs,coda,davfs,fuse,fuse.sshfs,gfs,glusterfs,lustre,ncpfs,nfs,nfs4,ocfs2,shfs,smbfs...
localmount |Sys. de fich. 1K-blocs Occupé Disponible Capacité Monté sur
localmount |rootfs 49824596 11622384 38202212 24% /
localmount |/dev/root 49824596 11622384 38202212 24% /
localmount |rc-svcdir 1024 48 976 5% /lib/rc/init.d
localmount |udev 10240 216 10024 3% /dev
localmount |shm 1555112 0 1555112 0% /dev/shm
localmount |/dev/sda3 49824596 11622384 38202212 24% /home
hwclock |* Setting system clock using the hardware clock [UTC]...
hostname |* Setting hostname to XXX...
root |* Remounting root filesystem read/write...
termencoding |* Setting terminal encoding [UTF-8]...
sysctl |* Configuring kernel parameters...
mtab |* Updating /etc/mtab...
procfs |* Mounting USB device filesystem [usbfs]...
urandom |* Initializing random number generator...
fbcondecor |* Setting framebuffer console images...
bootmisc |* Creating user login records...
procfs |* Mounting misc binary format filesystem...
bootmisc |* Cleaning /var/run...
bootmisc |* Wiping /tmp directory...
dbus |* Starting D-BUS system messagebus...
alsasound |* Restoring Mixer Levels...
net.lo |* Bringing up interface lo
consolefont |* Setting console font [default8x16]...
metalog |* Starting metalog...
keymaps |* Loading key mappings [us]...
acpid |* Starting acpid...
keymaps |* Setting keyboard mode [UTF-8]...
hald |* Starting Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon...
net.lo |* 127.0.0.1/8...
net.lo |* Adding routes
net.lo |* 127.0.0.0/8 via 127.0.0.1...
INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
hddtemp |* Starting hddtemp daemon...
laptop_mode |* Starting laptop_mode...
gpm |* Starting gpm...
vixie-cron |* Starting vixie-cron...
smartd |* Starting S.M.A.R.T. monitoring daemon...
mpd |* Starting Music Player Daemon...
wicd |* Starting wicd daemon...
postfix |* Starting postfix (/etc/postfix)...
lm_sensors |* Initializing sensors...
mpd |failed to stat music directory "/home/mpd/music": No such file or directory
local |* Starting local...
|
As you can see, localmount now issues a "df" and prints the mounted filesystems. The root and home directories are correctly mounted. But at some point afterwards, they get unmounted again! (notice how mpd fails with a missing home subdirectory).
So, localmount is working right, but some other script is undoing its work... my question then is, where should I look for this? I don't see any umount calls in any of the scripts that were executed afterwards.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Skotlex wrote: |
As you can see, localmount now issues a "df" and prints the mounted filesystems. The root and home directories are correctly mounted. But at some point afterwards, they get unmounted again! (notice how mpd fails with a missing home subdirectory).
So, localmount is working right, but some other script is undoing its work... my question then is, where should I look for this? I don't see any umount calls in any of the scripts that were executed afterwards.... |
It's because the mtab script is running too late.
localmount uses mtab, so should appear after it.
Could you do /etc/init.d/localmount iuse ? _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skotlex Guru
Joined: 13 Mar 2004 Posts: 306
|
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Skotlex wrote: |
As you can see, localmount now issues a "df" and prints the mounted filesystems. The root and home directories are correctly mounted. But at some point afterwards, they get unmounted again! (notice how mpd fails with a missing home subdirectory).
So, localmount is working right, but some other script is undoing its work... my question then is, where should I look for this? I don't see any umount calls in any of the scripts that were executed afterwards.... |
It's because the mtab script is running too late.
localmount uses mtab, so should appear after it.
Could you do /etc/init.d/localmount iuse ? |
I see.... that command shows "mtab," however I just updated the OpenRC version today, I hadn't notice that a new version was out, and the version I had unmasked and installed was no longer in portage. It could had been a bug in a previous version. I'll consider this then fixed then (unless it doesn't work again after the next crash-reboot). Thanks for your attention. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
milomak Apprentice
Joined: 10 Apr 2008 Posts: 287
|
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 6:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I read this page.
I then created /etc/portage/package.keywords/baselayout-2
Code: |
>=sys-apps/baselayout-2
sys-apps/openrc |
Then I tried to update my system
Code: |
# emerge -DNupv world
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild U ] sys-apps/baselayout-2.0.1 [1.12.13] USE="-build (-bootstrap%) (-static%) (-unicode%*)" 23 kB
[ebuild N ] sys-apps/openrc-0.6.0 USE="ncurses pam unicode -debug" 151 kB
[blocks B ] <sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r11 ("<sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r11" is blocking sys-apps/openrc-0.6.0)
Total: 2 packages (1 upgrade, 1 new), Size of downloads: 174 kB
Conflict: 1 block (1 unsatisfied)
* Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
* installed at the same time on the same system.
('installed', '/', 'sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r10', 'nomerge') pulled in by
>=sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r6 required by ('installed', '/', 'virtual/init-0', 'nomerge')
>=sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86-r6 required by ('ebuild', '/', 'sys-apps/openrc-0.6.0', 'merge')
('ebuild', '/', 'sys-apps/openrc-0.6.0', 'merge') pulled in by
sys-apps/openrc required by ('ebuild', '/', 'sys-apps/baselayout-2.0.1', 'merge')
For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked |
Is it such a fundamental change that I need to move to ~amd64? _________________ Desktop - Windows 10, Debian Sid, Gentoo Unstable, Arch Linux, Solus
Laptop - Windows 10, Debian Sid, Solus |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|