View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nerr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jun 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:02 am Post subject: [SOLVED] Wireless only functional if wired is disconnected |
|
|
Hey everybody, I'm fairly new to Gentoo, but have gotten far enough to install KDE, and configure my wireless network connection. I cannot for the life of me figure out what is wrong with it now. If I have a wired connection plugged in, I am able to connect to a network. If I attempt to use the wireless after unplugging the wired connection, it will not function. The only time my wireless will function is when I boot the system WITHOUT a wired connection attached. As soon as one is attached, the wireless connection will no longer function.
I'm completely clueless as to what the problem is here. My card is a Broadcom BCM4322 and I'm using the broadcom-sta driver on kernel 2.6.32-gentoo-r7. My network is WPA2-Personal using AES (CCMP, not TKIP). I will post any config files I can think of, but please don't hesitate to ask for more information! I'd really like to get this working as soon as possible.
/etc/conf.d/net
Code: | # This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d. To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
config_eth0=( "dhcp") |
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code: | # The below line not be changed otherwise we refuse to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
# Ensure that only root can read the WPA configuration
ctrl_interface_group=0
# Let wpa_supplicant take care of scanning and AP selection
ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="********"
proto=WPA2 RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP
group=CCMP
eap=TTLS PEAP TLS
psk="********"
priority=5
} |
iwconfig eth1
Code: | eth1 IEEE 802.11abgn ESSID:"********" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:1C:10:CD:51:DF
Bit Rate=2 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=-41 dBm Noise level=-91 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0 |
ifconfig
Code: | eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:19:de:12:60
inet addr:192.168.1.20 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::222:19ff:fede:1260/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:7455 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5554 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:9419974 (8.9 MiB) TX bytes:630069 (615.3 KiB)
Interrupt:23 Base address:0xa000
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:2c:7a:dc:94
inet addr:192.168.1.24 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::224:2cff:fe7a:dc94/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:394
TX packets:2546 errors:6 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4832128 (4.6 MiB) TX bytes:373996 (365.2 KiB)
Interrupt:21 |
iwlist eth1 scan
Code: | eth1 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:1C:10:CD:51:DF
ESSID:"********"
Mode:Managed
Frequency=2.422 GHz (Channel 3)
Quality:5/5 Signal level:-45 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK |
I find it so strange that the wireless device will only function if the wired device has been disconnected since reboot. Here's hoping that we can find a solution for this dilemma fast! Thank you!
Last edited by nerr on Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:07 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Logicien Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/42705619553e95f9decf93.jpg)
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
you do not tell us what exactly is at the other end, I suppose a router with a wireless card and RJ45 connectors. I see that your wired and wireless cards are on the same network 192.168.1.0. I would prefer to configure the router to give IP address on two differents networks, one for the wired card and one for the wireless card. I think it can help. As I know, differents physicals networks are on separates logicals networks and are only links together with dridge(s). _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DONAHUE Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2468228754a8b1493ea37b.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
So both interfaces are running (Bravo, well done) but the default interface is eth0. You can check that eth1 is fully operational by running Code: | ping -c2 -I eth1 google.com | .
what happens if you run:
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart |
having booted with wired wired?
Are you running wpa_gui, wifi radar, ifplugd, wicd, or network manager? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nerr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jun 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 12:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
My apologies, it is a Linksys router. The only reason I object to separating wired and wireless networks is because it has never been a necessity in the past, and I'd prefer to not complicate my network. Other distributions have accepted and worked well with this same configuration in the past, so all I can figure is that it must be something to do with a config file or driver in Gentoo. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nerr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jun 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
EDIT: Sorry for the double post, just wanted to grab attention again because I didn't realize DONAHUE had posted before I made my first reply.
DONAHUE wrote: | So both interfaces are running (Bravo, well done) but the default interface is eth0. You can check that eth1 is fully operational by running Code: | ping -c2 -I eth1 google.com | .
what happens if you run:
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 stop
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart |
having booted with wired wired?
Are you running wpa_gui, wifi radar, ifplugd, wicd, or network manager? |
The ping command works sporadically. There is really no good pattern as to whether it will run or not, but it usually runs only when I'm on wired.
Stopping eth0 and restarting eth1 appears to have worked for the time being, as I am posting this from wireless right now. I have wpa_gui (which only works as root), and wicd (although I have not configured wicd at all). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DONAHUE Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2468228754a8b1493ea37b.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Personally I like wpa_gui and have had no luck with wicd or network manager.
Purloined knowledge:
Quote: | Dynamic method: 'wpa_gui', 'wpa_cli'
wpa_gui or wpa_cli require a very minimal wpa_supplicant.conf.
A simple example:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=network
update_config=1
This configuration will allow users in the "network" group to control wpa_supplicant via the wpa_gui/wpa_cli frontends. The "update_config=1" variable allows these programs (wpa_cli,wpa_gui) to automatically modify the wpa_supplicant.conf file, to save new networks or make modifications to existing networks. |
Of course this solution requires adding a group and putting users in it.
As I believe things to work, at boot time the first net.interface started will become default and stay as default until the interface is stopped. The commands above cause the wired to lose default status and wireless to gain it. ifplugd should give the same effect but will shift to the wired whenever it is plugged. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
d2_racing Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/1190120345458c61e31ec3c.jpg)
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, what happen when you run this :
Code: |
# /etc/init.d/dhcpcd restart
# /etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart
# ifconfig -a
# iwconfig
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nerr n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jun 2010 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello again, ifplugd seems to be exactly what I was looking for. By removing eth0 from starting at boot-time and allowing it to be controlled by ifplugd, I have the wired/wireless interface switching that I desire. Thank you very much for your help, DONAHUE, and I appreciate your input as well d2_racing! Consider this problem SOLVED! ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
d2_racing Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/1190120345458c61e31ec3c.jpg)
Joined: 25 Apr 2005 Posts: 13047 Location: Ste-Foy,Canada
|
Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have fun now ![Razz :P](images/smiles/icon_razz.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|