View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mathfeel l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 Posts: 700
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:04 am Post subject: framebuffer driver and KMS radeon. |
|
|
My machine used to boot up with fbsplash and turns on console decoration with the uvesafb driver. I did not enable the KMS option for the radeon driver (the chip is R500), but basically uvesafb as framebuffer driver and radeon as X driver works.
Now I decided to play with enabling KMS for radeo. So I turned off framebuffer driver (FB_UVESA=n and FB_RADEON=n) in kernel and modified boot option to be simply
Code: | vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet splash | Now when I reboot, the screen is black, but everything starts up fine in the background. Finally when X is started by gdm, then X takes over the display. I cannot CTRL-ALT-F# out to any of the console.
What am I screwing up here? _________________ -----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chithanh Developer
![Developer Developer](/images/ranks/rank-dev.gif)
![](images/avatars/3210501551dc02a09eeb8.png)
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 2158 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Black screen usually points to framebuffer console not enabled in kernel (or if built as module, not loaded). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mathfeel l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 Posts: 700
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
chithanh wrote: | Black screen usually points to framebuffer console not enabled in kernel (or if built as module, not loaded). |
Thanks, somehow I thought with:
Code: | CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=m
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y |
the module would be loaded when the fbcondecor service start. Compiling it in kernel works.
I just noticed also now that CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR option is missing! What? _________________ -----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche
Last edited by mathfeel on Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sera Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
Joined: 29 Feb 2008 Posts: 1017 Location: CET
|
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG is not set |
is the relevant part. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
VoidMage Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/16259984764821973534cdc.gif)
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
@sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
mathfeel l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 03 Aug 2004 Posts: 700
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
VoidMage wrote: | @sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work. |
Exactly.
Turned out my problem was unrelated because I already have FB_RADEON=n. I found that the following conditions has to be true for CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR to appear in menuconfig:
Code: | CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=n
CONFIG_FB=y (not m)
|
After that and enabling CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE and CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR, things are working now. _________________ -----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sera Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
Joined: 29 Feb 2008 Posts: 1017 Location: CET
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
VoidMage wrote: | @sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work. |
this is a grep -i radeon of my running kernel 2.6.34 with enabled and working kms on a rv560, thats all I can say. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
VoidMage Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/16259984764821973534cdc.gif)
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it's just like having both IDE and libata drivers enabled
for your controllers - sometimes it works, but on occasions,
you'll be getting "unexpected" failures. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sera Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
Joined: 29 Feb 2008 Posts: 1017 Location: CET
|
Posted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
VoidMage wrote: | Well, it's just like having both IDE and libata drivers enabled
for your controllers - sometimes it works, but on occasions,
you'll be getting "unexpected" failures. |
I removed the radeon fb and it still works ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|