View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:23 am Post subject: network troubles and lspci: command not found [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hey,
Working on my first Gentoo install.
Got through the bootstrap, stage 1, stage 2 and rebooted ... now I am trying to setup networking (which I should have done before I rebooted).
When I run 'lspci' I get the following:
Code: |
#lspci
-bash: lspci: command not found
|
While waiting for a reply, I am going to boot off the cd again and see if I can figure out what module was used from there.
--BiggJ
Last edited by BiggJ on Sun Nov 09, 2003 4:22 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bar n00b
Joined: 21 Jun 2003 Posts: 73
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
to prove a point
Code: |
bar@Shallow_Thought bar $ lspci
-bash: lspci: command not found
bar@Shallow_Thought bar $ su - root
Password:
Shallow_Thought root # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82820 820 (Camino) Chipset Host Bridge (MCH) (rev 04)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82820 820 (Camino) Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801AA PCI Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801AA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801AA IDE (rev 02)
00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801AA USB (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801AA SMBus (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV15 [GeForce2 GTS/Pro] (rev a3)
02:09.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
02:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 07)
02:0b.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! MIDI/Game Port (rev 07)
02:0c.0 Communication controller: Conexant HCF 56k Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp Modem (rev 08)
|
so either make sure you got this far correctly with the correct user. but i highly doubt thats the problem since you bootstrapped and whatnot.
Ill point to the install guides network setup, it should work the same at this stage as if you did it first when the doc says so; so just go follow the instructions in there. _________________ feel free to correct (read:lightly flame) anything wrong above
"Don't take life to seriously. It isn't as if you will actually live through it anyways"-Elbert Hubbard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:39 am Post subject: Got network, now where is lspci |
|
|
Booting off the cd loaded the tulip driver. Added that to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.4 and eth0 started as expected. I had origionally set it to 3c95x (which is the driver I use at work... oops).
However, all that still doesn't tell me where lspci. I makes me wonder if I messed something up in the origional bootstrap or emerge system steps.
--BiggJ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bar wrote: | to prove a point
Code: |
bar@Shallow_Thought bar $ lspci
-bash: lspci: command not found
bar@Shallow_Thought bar $ su - root
|
|
I only logged in with root ...
Code: |
# whoami
root
# lspci
-bash: lspci: command not found
# ls -l /sbin/lspci (that's where it is on redhat)
ls: /sbin/lspci: No such file or directory
|
Good thought though... thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
just noticed that net-setup isn't there either |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bar n00b
Joined: 21 Jun 2003 Posts: 73
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
2 things:
1) "ls /sbin | grep lspci" should return lspci, if it doesnt we need to find out where bootstrap messed up triple edit: just read you did this, so your untarring of the stage messed up most likely
2) try "ping -c 3 www.yahoo.com" and see if you have a connection, because as long as your network is ok not having lspci is not a super-important problem
hope that helps
Edit: sounds like your missing some things from the stage tarball, since you went out of order could you say what youve done
Double-Edit: i dont have net-setup either, i think that its only on the LiveCD since im almost positive i used it. _________________ feel free to correct (read:lightly flame) anything wrong above
"Don't take life to seriously. It isn't as if you will actually live through it anyways"-Elbert Hubbard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
For 1:
Code: |
hayden root # ls /sbin | grep lspci
hayden root #
|
Wonder what else I am missing.
For 2:
I am on line and opperation, thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cyrillic Watchman
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 7313 Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 3:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | # emerge -pv hotplug
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild N ] sys-apps/pciutils-2.1.11
[ebuild N ] sys-apps/usbutils-0.11-r3
[ebuild N ] sys-apps/hotplug-20030805-r1 |
This will install a bunch of handy utilities including lspci. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BiggJ Guru
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 384 Location: /usr/share/ \ zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
|
Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2003 4:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ah yes ... I remember seeing that in the install doc. Thank you! I'll do that.
Edit: Sweet! That worked! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|