Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can you convince me that Gentoo is going forward?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gossoon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:24 am    Post subject: Can you convince me that Gentoo is going forward? Reply with quote

Hi All

Firstly please don't see this post as a rant or an invitation to start berating me. I have a serious question. Please bear with me.

I have been using Linux since around 1998, i was tasked with setting up a DNS server for the company i worked for. In those days DNS needed about a bajillion configuration files to work properly, and it took about a week to setup :) , the sense of achievement was awesome. I was hooked on Linux.

I moved to Linux 90% of the time at work, setup print servers and samba shares, people saw the advantage of linux, vmware was new then, but i could run NT4 and Win98 in a virtual machine. people were in awe. (i never thought vmware would turn into the huge success it has).

In about 2000/2001 i landed a job as an AIX admin, purely because the UNIX guys didn't know linux and needed help with a new fangled RedHat server. I joined the team and worked on the commandline for 3 years. I became proficient in shell scripting, mainly ksh and moved to perl quite quickly (much to the disgust of the hard core UNIX admins).

I had always had a linux box at home but wanted a more streamlined, faster more productive box. I was running Suse if i remember correrectly. I found Gentoo.

I tested 2004 edition on a spare box, pentium 166, i went for a stage 1 install. I think it took 2-3 days before i got into a fully working system. It was awesome.