Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
CPU scaling locks at minimum freq
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:38 pm    Post subject: CPU scaling locks at minimum freq Reply with quote

Hi!
I've got a problem with freq scaling on my laptop (Dell Vostro 1400, Core2Duo T7250 2Ghz). For some reason, when on external power (which is almost always, since battery time is down to ~20 minutes...) the only availible state is 800 MHz. Looking at /var/log/messages, this is what happens when disconnecting and connecting external power:
Code:

# Unplug
Mar 21 21:16:42 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: battery BAT0 00000080 00000001
Mar 21 21:16:58 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: processor CPU0 00000080 00000000
Mar 21 21:16:58 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: processor CPU1 00000080 00000000
# Plug in
Mar 21 21:17:45 localhost kernel: [ 1088.441293] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0x8d on isa0060/serio0).
Mar 21 21:17:45 localhost kernel: [ 1088.441304] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e00d <keycode>' to make it known.
Mar 21 21:17:46 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: processor CPU0 00000080 00000004
Mar 21 21:17:46 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: processor CPU1 00000080 00000004
Mar 21 21:17:46 localhost logger: ACPI event unhandled: battery BAT0 00000080 00000001

Reading around the internet, the event "CPUn 00000080 00000004" seems to disallow frequency states 0-3 (which are "2.00 GHz, 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.20 GHz", according to /proc/cpuinfo. The two 2GHz's are because the highest state is really 2001 MHz, for some reason). Why is this run when connecting?

I've tried running/not running cpufrequtils, disabling the userspace frequency tool (E17 cpufreq module) restarting acpid and whatnot, but I can't find a way to get around it. Any ideas? Could it be related to the wierd "atkbd serio0" thing? It seems to be connected to the plugging in of power.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What governors you have enabled in the kernel and which one is set default.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Default is userspace (tried enabling all of them, didn't help though):
Code:

# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_LADDER=y
CONFIG_CPU_IDLE_GOV_MENU=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try emerging sys-power/cpufrequtils, then use cpufreq-set to enable ondemand or performance.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already have cpufrequtils (I mentioned trying with disabling the init-script). Setting the governor does not help, neither does 'cpufreq-set -u 2Ghz', it's still locked to only using 800 MHz.

As I understand it, acpid (or some even lower level) disallows using power states > 800 MHz - unless *not* using external power.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you set it up properly in the BIOS?
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I think so. The BIOS isn't very verbose in the meaning of the options, but it looks ok, and it has worked before. I don't remember when it stopped working, but possibly something like 4-5 months ago. It took a while until I realised why the comp was so awfully slow all the time. Last time I updated acpid before I noticed it was in August however, and I know it's been working after that. Any other likely packages I could check?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2305
Location: Adendorf, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe your problem is the same I had on my laptop:

Whenever I unplugged AC power, acpid correctly switched the runlevel and the governor (from "performance" to "conservative") as I configured in /etc/acpi/default.sh.
But when I plugged in AC power, although it looked like everything is working fine, runlevel change, cpufreq-info stated the CPUs to be driven by the right governor ("performance"), the MHz stayed at minimum. Both conky and cpufreq-info showed the minimal MHz, nothing more.

The solution for me was:
/etc/init.d/cpufreqd restart
after plugging in AC. Since then everything is working fine again.
_________________
Edited 220,176 times by Yamakuzure
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I kinda solved it, but I'd like to know if there are any reprecussions. Adding a empty action in /etc/acpi/default.sh which catches the CPU events, all works as expected. But it seems like a kludge solution, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pettsson
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disregard that, must have been something else. After a reboot, the problem is back.

However, on that reboot i noticed a warning about it thinking my AC adapter was not genuine. Looked into it a bit more, and discovered that my battery was not charging when connected, just not discharging. Switched to a spare adapter, and now there aren't any slow-down events logged (yes, I did remove the catch-all I wrote about above). So probably the BIOS did not recognise my adapter, and thus scaled down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum