Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] Mounting Floppy Silently Fails
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10732
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:20 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Mounting Floppy Silently Fails Reply with quote

Ever seen anything like this?
Code:
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mkfs.vfat /dev/fd0
mkfs.vfat 3.0.9 (31 Jan 2010)
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mount /mnt/floppy
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mount | grep floppy
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ umount /mnt/floppy/
umount: /mnt/floppy is not mounted (according to mtab)
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ expand -t4 /etc/fstab | grep floppy
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto        noauto,user,noexec,shortname=lower  0 0
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ uname -r
2.6.38-reiser4-r6
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ ls -d /dev/fd*
/dev/fd        /dev/fd0u1120  /dev/fd0u1680  /dev/fd0u1760  /dev/fd0u360  /dev/fd0u820
/dev/fd0       /dev/fd0u1440  /dev/fd0u1722  /dev/fd0u1840  /dev/fd0u720  /dev/fd0u830
/dev/fd0u1040  /dev/fd0u1600  /dev/fd0u1743  /dev/fd0u1920  /dev/fd0u800
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $
There's no error message to sink my teeth into. An older kernel I have lying around (2.6.27) behaves normally.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.


Last edited by John R. Graham on Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aquous
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Mounting Floppy Silently Fails Reply with quote

Quote:
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mount /mnt/floppy
Shouldn't that be
Code:
mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7221
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Mounting Floppy Silently Fails Reply with quote

Aquous wrote:
Quote:
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mount /mnt/floppy
Shouldn't that be
Code:
mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
?
If it's listed in your fstab you only have to specify the device or mountpoint and mount knows what to do.
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disi
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 1354
Location: Out There ...

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Mounting Floppy Silently Fails Reply with quote

tomk wrote:
Aquous wrote:
Quote:
IPSN-JOHNGRAH2 ~ $ mount /mnt/floppy
Shouldn't that be
Code:
mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
?
If it's listed in your fstab you only have to specify the device or mountpoint and mount knows what to do.


never seen that...
What defaults does the other kernel use? cat /proc/mounts | grep floppy
once the floppy is mounted?
_________________
Gentoo on Uptime Project - Larry is a cow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10732
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the /etc/fstab is the same, 'cause the root filesystem is the same. I'll check & report back.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dwbowyer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2008
Posts: 155

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anecdotal: Several weeks ago while using floppies on a pentium 3, I had a very similar issue. I found that if I edited /etc/fstab to:
Code:

/dev/fd0u1440                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto,users                0 0


It would mount the floppies. For some reason mount just couldn't guess the format size. After an update ( for baselayout2 and openrc),
the above stopped working. I haven't test with /dev/fd0, since I hardly ever use the floppy drive.

I hope that might point you in right direction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10732
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dwbowyer wrote:
Code:
/dev/fd0u1440                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto,users                0 0
For some reason mount just couldn't guess the format size.
...
That actually worked. I thought I had tried that before but I apparently had not. Thanks. :)

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gokhan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It looks like I am having this problem with the mounting of the floppy silently failing if I start the KDE environment. My floppy cannot mount after I start KDE (it silently fails), even after I log out of KDE back into the shell.

I tried the rw option under options in /etc/fstab but it didn't seem to help either:

Code:
/dev/fd0    /mnt/floppy    auto    noauto,user,rw    0    0


Note that mounting the floppy works in the shell until I start KDE. It will not work again even after I log out of KDE (will silently fail), until I reboot the system.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 2056
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:27 am    Post subject: udisks command works but mount command does not Reply with quote

Code:
$ uname -a
Linux gateway9300 3.2.1-gentoo-r2 #8 SMP Tue Apr 10 22:14:05 BST 2012 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

My machine's internal floppy drive isn't mounting either. Entry in /etc/fstab look OK:

Code:
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      rw,noauto,user,sync   0 0

The device is definitely present, and I'm in the floppy group:

Code:
$ ls /dev/fd*
/dev/fd0

/dev/fd:
0  1  2  3
$ ls -la /dev/fd0
brw-rw---- 1 root floppy 2, 0 Apr 11 08:23 /dev/fd0
$ groups
lp wheel floppy cron audio cdrom video cdrw usb users portage

When I try to mount the floppy it does not mount correctly:
Code:
$ umount /dev/fd0
umount: /dev/fd0 is not mounted (according to mtab)
$ mount /mnt/floppy/
$ ls /mnt/floppy/
$ cp ~/test_file_1.txt /mnt/floppy/
cp: cannot create regular file `/mnt/floppy/test_file_1.txt': Permission denied
$ su
Password:
# cp ./test_file_1.txt /mnt/floppy/
# ls /mnt/floppy/
test_file_1.txt
# umount /dev/fd0
umount: /dev/fd0: not mounted
# exit
exit
$ ls /mnt/floppy/
test_file_1.txt
$ cp ~/test_file_2.txt /mnt/floppy
cp: cannot create regular file `/mnt/floppy/test_file_2.txt': Permission denied
$

Yet udisks command mounts the floppy without any trouble:
Code:
$ udisks --mount /dev/fd0
Mounted /org/freedesktop/UDisks/devices/fd0 at /mnt/floppy
$ cp ~/test_file_2.txt /mnt/floppy
$ ls /mnt/floppy/
test_file_2.txt
$ rm /mnt/floppy/*
$ ls /mnt/floppy/
$ udisks --unmount /dev/fd0
$ ls /mnt/floppy/
test_file_1.txt
$

_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC systemd-utils[udev] elogind KDE on both.

My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 2056
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:25 am    Post subject: Apparently it is a bug in udisks Reply with quote

Thought it best to make a new post, rather than edit my previous post, in case posters here had already read my previous one.

Apparently this is a known bug in udisks: see freedesktop.org Bugzilla Bug 30283 - regression: udisks-daemon keeps forcibly unmounting floppies and Ubuntu Bugzilla Bug Report No. 441835.

As per Comment #344 in that Ubuntu bug report, I edited the following section in /lib/udev/rules.d/80-udisks.rules and replaced the "1" with "0", then rebooted:

Code:
##############################################################################################################

# PC floppy drives
#
KERNEL=="fd*", ENV{ID_DRIVE_FLOPPY}="1"

# USB floppy drives
#
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{bInterfaceClass}=="08", ATTRS{bInterfaceSubClass}=="04", ENV{ID_DRIVE_FLOPPY}="1"

# ATA Zip drives
#
ENV{ID_VENDOR}=="*IOMEGA*", ENV{ID_MODEL}=="*ZIP*", ENV{ID_DRIVE_FLOPPY_ZIP}="1"

##############################################################################################################


It didn't solve the problem in my case, so, as a work-around, I have created two desktop configuration files with floppy disk icons on my Desktop: one named Mount_floppy to run the command udisks --mount /dev/fd0 and the other named Unmount_floppy to run the command udisks --unmount /dev/fd0. That is better than nothing but it is frustrating that this bug has been left unfixed for two years. OK, the 720/1440 KB floppy drive has been obsolete for several years now, but there must still be in use quite a few legacy machines with internal floppy drives, especially in back offices.
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC systemd-utils[udev] elogind KDE on both.

My blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum