View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bawig1 n00b
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 Posts: 68 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:28 am Post subject: New user wireless problems.[SOLVED] |
|
|
Hi guys,
I am new to Gentoo Linux and am trying to install it for the first time. I have been following the amd64 version of the handbook as the laptop I am using is an i5. My wireless adapter is detected and lsmod shows that the liveCD is using the ath9k driver.
when I type iwconfig the adapter shows up as wlan0. The access point I am trying to connect to is open and uses no encryption or security and uses dhcp. I have tried net-setup to configure the network but all it does is change the ESSID to that of the access point I am trying to connect to. I try using dhcpcd but get the following;
Code: |
dhcpcd[20762]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[20762]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[20762]: timed out
|
I have read on pages I found using google to use wpa_supplicant, but I don't see why because there is no encryption. I have tried wpa_supplicant to associate with an encrypted access point, but apparently wpa_supplicant does not work with the ath9k driver.
anyway, any help would be great.
Last edited by bawig1 on Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:27 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mikegpitt Advocate
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 3224
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
I am pretty sure wpa_supplicant works with ath9k. I use wpa_supplicant to manage the configuration for all my ap's.
You will want something like this in your /etc/conf.d/net (assuming baselayout-2):
Code: | modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=15 |
And this in your /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
update_config=1
network={
ssid="myopenap"
key_mgmt=NONE
}
| You might want to use wpa_gui to help with the configuration. Also you might want to look at wicd. I don't use it but a lot of others like it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
ensure the laptop radio is on--on/off switch? key? key combination? led indicator light?
try
if still no luck:
System rescue cd Gentoo based, booted to the xfce GUI has network manager icon lower right corner. Works well. Boot a choice that is the same bitness as your intended install. _________________ Defund the FCC. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bawig1 n00b
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 Posts: 68 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi guys,
Thank-you for replying. The hardware switch is on and I followed the instructions but I have no idea how to find what my baselayout is. I ran;
Code: |
wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
|
and got;
Code: |
Failed to read or parse configuration '/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bawig1 n00b
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 Posts: 68 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've changed a couple of things is /etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
config_wlan0=("dhcp")
modules=("wpa_supplicant")
|
and that seems to make some difference. Now when I run
Code: |
wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
|
I get the following output;
Code: |
Trying to associate with network:mac:address (ssid='network' freq=2412 Mhz)
Authentication with network:mac:address timed out
|
I tried it before just after I edited the files and it said that it associated with the AP but then it would just hang. Are there log files generated by the livecd that I could look at? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Recommend System rescue cd Gentoo based, booted to the xfce GUI has network manager icon lower right corner. Works well. Boot a choice that is the same bitness as your intended install.
I have never been able to write a wpa_supplicant.conf on the minimal installcd system, I have been able to use an unprotected and a wep protected access point using net-setup.
Did you try rfkill unblock all? I don't know if the minimal cd has it. _________________ Defund the FCC. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mikegpitt Advocate
Joined: 22 May 2004 Posts: 3224
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I would recommend starting wpa_supplicant via the init script `/etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart`. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bawig1 n00b
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 Posts: 68 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi guys',
Thankyou for trying to help a n00b
I figured out what I did wrong,a real rookie mistake and I feel like an idiot for not reading the handbook properly.
I did this for the ethernet adapter;
Code: |
# cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.lo net.eth0
|
but not the wireless
Code: |
# cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
|
then did the text files and started the networking with;
Code: |
# /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
|
the section of the handbook I found the solution in is here;
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-amd64.xml?part=4&chap=1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|