View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
GenBlack n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 3:57 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Optimus new nvidia drivers |
|
|
Hello here,
My first message on this forum for ask help, apologize about that.
I'm trying to find a way to make it work my nvidia optimus natively with the drivers from nvidia but it won't work.
Here some information about my system :
Xorg.conf : http://bpaste.net/show/99096/
Xorg version : 1.13.4
Xrandr : 1.4.0
Kernel : 3.9.2
Nvidia version driver : 319.17
xf86-video-modesetting : 0.7.0
lspci |grep VGA :
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 640M] (rev a1)
Actually with this configuration, xorg run fine but using the intel card (direct rendering yes but 1500 fps in 5 seconds with glxgears)
I can't get the display from my nvidia card, with bumblebee yes (optirun glxgears) but the fps is too slow.
I read that :
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/319.12/README/randr14.html
Saying I need to pass my nvidia card in master (card0 nvidia and card1 intel with modesetting)
Here the xorg.log if I m trying with the method from nvidia :
http://bpaste.net/show/99099/
I also try to edit my xinitrc for add this :
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto
Not working at all.
Any idea ?
Thank for your help
Last edited by GenBlack on Wed May 15, 2013 5:54 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GenBlack n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Problem solved
I did just add the BusID for the intel card, switch to opengl nvidia interface and it's work perfectly !
I got now more than 8K fps with glxgears.
If anyone are interest by a small "how to" make work nvidia optimus natively just reply here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alfalco n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 2 Location: Curitiba - PR - Brazil
|
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 7:48 pm Post subject: Mini How-To |
|
|
Hi GenBlack, it's possible to you, reply this with a how-to?
Thanks in advance.
alfalco |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GenBlack n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 7:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How to get optimus working with the last drivers nvidia
---------------------------------------------------------------
Requierement :
- Kernel 3.9.x (if the kernel is not at least a 3.9.0 it will not work)
- Xorg version 1.13.4 or higher (Tested on 1.13.4 and 1.14.1 version)
- xrandr 1.4.0
- nvidia drivers 319.12 or higher (Tested with the 319.17 version)
- Check if your card is supported by the drivers -> http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-display-ia32-319.17-driver.html
For security reason stable reason, Gentoo don't provide by default the last update needed for making work optimus natively, you will need to write somes rules in the packages.keywords
You should probably don't do it for the stability of your system, but well... Get fully fps for your card can excuse it
If the nouveau drivers (open source nvidia) is setting in your kernel, you need to blacklist this one :
Code: | nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf |
and add :
You should probably also, if that is setting in your kernel blacklist rivafb and nvidiafb.
If you did install the drivers by downloading the .run to the nvidia website, use the uninstaller (nvidia-uninstall I guess)
Now we edit the package.keyworkds :
Code: | nano /etc/portage/package.keywords |
And here what I did use :
Code: |
=x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.0 ~x86
=x11-base/xorg-server-1.14.1 ~x86
=x11-proto/inputproto-2.3 ~x86
=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-319.17 ~x86
=x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-2.8.0 ~x86
=x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics-1.7.0 ~x86
=x11-drivers/xf86-video-modesetting-0.7.0 ~x86
|
Begin by emerge these packet or update if the lastest version was already installed in your system.
Code: | emerge x11-apps/xrandr |
...
When these packet are emerge, you will need to force xorg an the other packet to be rebuild "between them", I find this solution on the gentoo forum by s_bernstein
Code: | emerge -1 $(qlist -IC x11-drivers) |
When that's is done, edit your .xinitrc
Code: | nano /home/yourusername/.xinitrc |
And add :
Code: |
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto
|
Somes distributions need these line inside the .xsessionrc
Change your interface for nvidia :
Code: | eselect opengl list |
If nvidia is the number 1 of the result :
Code: | eselect opengl set 1 |
You will have in return :
Code: | Switching to nvidia OpenGL interface... done |
Almost done, you need to change your xorg.conf as saying in the official documentation nvidia.
Code: | nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf |
Remove all inside and add :
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout"
Screen 0 "nvidia"
Inactive "intel"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "<BusID for NVIDIA device here>"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "nvidia"
Device "nvidia"
# Uncomment this line if your computer has no display devices connected to
# the NVIDIA GPU. Leave it commented if you have display devices
# connected to the NVIDIA GPU that you would like to use.
#Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "intel"
Driver "modesetting"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "intel"
Device "intel"
EndSection
|
You need to put the BusID of your nvidia card, probably PCI:1:0:0 but better to check it with lspci
Return for me
Code: |
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 640M] (rev a1)
|
01:00.0 is my busID nvidia.
I recommend too, to set the BusID of your intel card in your xorg.conf I got black/blank screen because it was not writen.
Save your xorg.conf and reboot X (no need to reboot your system except if you did build a new kernel)
It should work now.
If that did not work, try to uncomment the line Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none' in your xorg.conf by removing the #
On my side here the test :
Nouveau driver and bumblebeed : 1500 fps in 5 seconds (glxgears)
Nvidia driver and bumblebeed : 1500 to 1700 fps in 5 seconds (glxgears)
New driver support the optimus by nvidia : 8000 to 8800 fps in 5 seconds (glxgears)
List of game test with the new drivers :
- Crusader kings 2 (work without any problem)
- Left 4 dead 2 (soon)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Any help to complete this are welcome ! I'm not an expert so if something is wrong on these instructions, tell me and I will edit |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GenBlack n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Done |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alfalco n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 2 Location: Curitiba - PR - Brazil
|
Posted: Thu May 16, 2013 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your time.
Great job. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BeaTtheMeaT666 n00b
Joined: 12 Nov 2002 Posts: 54
|
Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It works for me when I use startx , but not with a login manager (slim), I get a black screen.
Do I have to put the xrandr commands somewhere in slim's configuration? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GenBlack n00b
Joined: 15 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 1:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
BeaTtheMeaT666 wrote: | It works for me when I use startx , but not with a login manager (slim), I get a black screen.
Do I have to put the xrandr commands somewhere in slim's configuration? |
You should wait for use the lastest nvidia pilote with your login manager, it's not officialy supported by Gentoo I guess. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beizhuchun n00b
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not work for me. I cann't find xorg.conf in /etc/X11,so I writed a new xorg.conf as
Code: | Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout"
Screen 0 "nvidia"
Inactive "intel"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:01:00.0 "
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "nvidia"
Device "nvidia"
# Uncomment this line if your computer has no display devices connected to
# the NVIDIA GPU. Leave it commented if you have display devices
# connected to the NVIDIA GPU that you would like to use.
#Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "intel"
Driver "modesetting"
BusID "PCI:00:02.0 "
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "intel"
Device "intel"
EndSection |
and eselect opengl set to nvidia
I can't startx.
the xorg log report:
[ 10.919] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
[ 10.919] (EE) No devices detected.
[ 10.919]
Fatal server error:
[ 10.919] no screens found
[ 10.919] (EE) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr.Willy Guru
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 547 Location: NRW, Germany
|
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your BusID syntax is probably wrong. Change them to PCI:1:0:0 and PCI:0:2:0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beizhuchun n00b
Joined: 11 Apr 2013 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Thu May 23, 2013 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dr.Willy wrote: | Your BusID syntax is probably wrong. Change them to PCI:1:0:0 and PCI:0:2:0 |
I have tried with corrected BusID, but still not work, xorg.log saied no srceen, if uncommented Code: | Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none" | in xorg.conf, lead to black screen.
BTW
can put
Code: | xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto |
into /etc/gdm/PreSession/default? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vinz94f n00b
Joined: 25 May 2013 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Sat May 25, 2013 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Is it necessary to enable an option in the kernel 3.9.x for optimus works?
I activated the hybrid graphics in section device/graphics.
Is it enough?
Because I have a segfault in X when I type the following command :
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
My system 64 bit not 32 bit:
- Kernel 3.9.3
- Xorg version 1.14.1
- xrandr 1.4.0
- nvidia drivers 319.17
- Compiled with CFLAGS =" -02 -march=native" and LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tolstoi l33t
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 678
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 7:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
First of all thanks for the guide. Works for me so far with startx but leads to a black screen with KDM. Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr.Willy Guru
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 547 Location: NRW, Germany
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 10:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tolstoi wrote: | First of all thanks for the guide. Works for me so far with startx but leads to a black screen with KDM. Any ideas? |
You probably need to run
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tolstoi l33t
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 678
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dr.Willy wrote: | Tolstoi wrote: | First of all thanks for the guide. Works for me so far with startx but leads to a black screen with KDM. Any ideas? |
You probably need to run
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0 |
I had set that in my .xinitrc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr.Willy Guru
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 547 Location: NRW, Germany
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tolstoi wrote: | Dr.Willy wrote: | Tolstoi wrote: | First of all thanks for the guide. Works for me so far with startx but leads to a black screen with KDM. Any ideas? |
You probably need to run
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0 |
I had set that in my .xinitrc. |
...which is executed when? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tolstoi l33t
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 678
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
... I guess after KDM? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr.Willy Guru
Joined: 15 Jul 2007 Posts: 547 Location: NRW, Germany
|
Posted: Sun May 26, 2013 7:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tolstoi wrote: | ... I guess after KDM? |
It's your user's .xinitrc so more to the point it is executed after you login.
Which in turn means until you log in your screen is black. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kernelOfTruth Watchman
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dcd94 n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2013 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 2:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
im also having problems starting X, followed the guide and im getting the error:
Fatal server error:
no screens found
Heres my pastebin in Xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/a0rKY2eX
I hope you guys know something I really want to test this baby out |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jms.gentoo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2009 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the guide and anyone helping with it.
amd64
got problem too when starting x =>segfault
Also would like to know about kernel option
Quote: |
Is it necessary to enable an option in the kernel 3.9.x for optimus works?
I activated the hybrid graphics in section device/graphics.
|
I have this too compiled in my kernel
Device Drivers>Graphics Support
Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support (VGA_SWITCHEROO)
*using:
Code: |
[ebuild R ~] x11-proto/inputproto-2.3 ABI_X86="32 (64) (-x32)" 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-apps/xrandr-1.4.0 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-base/xorg-server-1.14.1.901:0/1.14.1.901 USE="ipv6 nptl suid udev xorg -dmx -doc -kdrive -minimal (-selinux) -static-libs -tslib -xnest -xvfb" 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-3.9.4:3.9.4 USE="-build -deblob -symlink" 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-2.8.0 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-drivers/xf86-input-synaptics-1.7.1 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-drivers/xf86-video-modesetting-0.7.0 0 kB
[ebuild R ~] x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-319.23 USE="X acpi (multilib) tools -pax_kernel" 0 kB
|
Code: |
lspci | grep 'VGA\|NVIDIA'
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
01:00.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M] (rev a1)
|
note for howto: as you can see NVIDIA apear here as 3D controller not as VGA compatible controller.
my xorg.conf
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout"
Screen 0 "nvidia"
Inactive "intel"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "nvidia"
Device "nvidia"
# Uncomment this line if your computer has no display devices connected to
# the NVIDIA GPU. Leave it commented if you have display devices
# connected to the NVIDIA GPU that you would like to use.
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "intel"
Driver "modesetting"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "intel"
Device "intel"
EndSection
|
note :also tried busid format like "PCI:00:02:00"
did try with "#Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none" " too
/root/.xinitrc
Code: |
xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto
|
and did set opengl to nvidia
did also module rebuild rebuild ,revdep-rebuild and did rebuild all drivers for xorg-server....
But...
my Xorg log with segfault
http://bpaste.net/show/104111/
emerge --info:
http://bpaste.net/show/104118/
Last edited by jms.gentoo on Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:19 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jms.gentoo Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 May 2009 Posts: 102
|
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok
about kernel option VGA_SWITCHEROO
Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support (VGA_SWITCHEROO)
from what I found here
http://doc.ubuntu-fr.org/vga_switcheroo
Quote: | VGA Switcheroo ne fonctionne pas avec les pilotes graphiques propriétaires des cartes graphiques |
Looks like it's incompatible/useless with proprietary drivers
will test without this when I will have time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dcd94 n00b
Joined: 28 Mar 2013 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jms.gentoo wrote: | ok
about kernel option VGA_SWITCHEROO
Laptop Hybrid Graphics - GPU switching support (VGA_SWITCHEROO)
from what I found here
http://doc.ubuntu-fr.org/vga_switcheroo
Quote: | VGA Switcheroo ne fonctionne pas avec les pilotes graphiques propriétaires des cartes graphiques |
Looks like it's incompatible/useless with proprietary drivers
will test without this when I will have time |
Hi got the same kernel as you I found out about my previously error and wrote wrong bus id and now I got the same error as you but I dont have VGA_SWITCHEROO built in |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|