Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dhcpd on two NICs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spitzwegerich
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 697
Location: Lower Bavaria, Central Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:32 pm    Post subject: dhcpd on two NICs Reply with quote

Hello!

I want to set up a dhcp-server for a non-profite youth-organisation.

At the moment there are 3 network adapters in the server. One is for the connection to the internet, the others should form two independent local area networks. (One for office boxes, one for teaching purposes.)

Both networks should receive their IPs via DHCP from the server, and they should form different IP subnets (10.0.0.X and 10.0.1.X).
So the problem is to tell dhcpd to differentiate between the 2 network adapters and to assign IPs depending on that. For administration ease I do not want to maintain a MAC-database of the clients NICs.

I had a look to the manpages of dhcpd and dhcpd.conf, but I could not find any solution besides maybe running 2 dhcpds parallel (which does not look like a clean solution to me).

I would welcome any idea on the topic (configuring dhcpd or maybe change the complete setup).

Many thanks,

~michael
_________________
"Work is the curse of the drinking classes."
-Oskar Wilde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasher
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im not sure if this is what u mean but,

u've 2 nics

1st NET = 10.0.1.0
2nd NET = 10.0.2.0

in /etc/conf.d/dhcp u assign both adapters (eth0 / eth1) (or something).

then u eddit your dhcp.conf

(range dfgw ns etc)

i guess your network is something like this
the xxx are just for filling up ;o

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/-- > <switch1> 10.0.1.0 > clients
internet eth -><- pc -
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx\-- > <switch2> 10.0.2.0 > clients

dhcp should auto assign ips to clients in the same net

i.e.,
when you hang a client in NET 10.0.1.0 he gets an ip between 10.0.1.2 10.0.1.254 (this is what u need to eddit in dhcp.conf)


---
its better to give your eth's nics ips like 10.0.1.1 and 10.0.2.1

and for clients, ranges between .50 / .200 or something

under .50 you can asssign other servers / printers and above .200(till 254) too . .


Last edited by nasher on Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bokkepoot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 123
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The following setup works for me with the same layout as you have: 1 nic for the world, 2 seperate local networks, and 1 dhcp running:

/etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf
Quote:

jen@CC494831-A dhcp $ more dhcpd.conf
ddns-update-style ad-hoc;

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
{
range 192.168.1.3 192.168.1.100;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.1.2;
option domain-name "fastnet";
option routers 192.168.1.2;
allow bootp;
}

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
{
range 10.0.0.3 10.0.0.100;
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.2;
option domain-name "crapnet";
option routers 10.0.0.2;
allow bootp;
}

group {
# Krupps
host krupps {
hardware ethernet 08:00:20:90:35:C5;
fixed-address 10.0.0.12;
option host-name "krupps";
filename "0A00000C";
}
}



and /etc/conf.d/dhcp

Quote:

# Copyright 1999-2002 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License, v2 or later
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-misc/dhcp/files/conf.dhcpd,v 1.4 2002/09/03 07:40:14 lostlogic E
xp $

#configure which interface or interfaces to for dhcp to listen on
#list all interfaces space separated.
IFACE="eth1 eth2"

# Insert any other options needed
DHCPD_OPTS=""


HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasher
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
{
range 10.0.0.3 10.0.0.100;
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.2;
option domain-name "crapnet";
option routers 10.0.0.2;
allow bootp;
}



subnet 10.0.0.0 = netmask 255.0.0.0 and not 255.255.255.0 :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nasher wrote:
Quote:

subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0
{
range 10.0.0.3 10.0.0.100;
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.2;
option domain-name "crapnet";
option routers 10.0.0.2;
allow bootp;
}



subnet 10.0.0.0 = netmask 255.0.0.0 and not 255.255.255.0 :wink:


You're kidding, aren't you?
Classful addressing is aged out quite some time now (RFC1519). So it's perfectly valid to use 10.0.0.0/24.
I use a 10.x.y.z/28 (thats 255.255.255.240) at home to be able to connect to my office without NAT inside the VPN.

T.
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nasher
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm
what i've learned is

10.0.0.0 /8
172. /16
192 /24

ok i should have it wrong, but explain me why you can use subnetmasker like that :|
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
think4urs11
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Jun 2003
Posts: 6659
Location: above the cloud

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mhhh...

what you mean (i think at least) is

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (10/8 prefix)
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (172.16/12 prefix)
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (192.168/16 prefix)

That are the ip ranges meant for private use (RFC1918)

But nowadays it is no longer needed to use the old classful addressing scheme - meaning /8, /16, /24 dependand on the first/second octet.
At least if you don't have one of those strange boxes which still don't know about CIDR.

Today you can have subnet masks from /8 - /30 (/31) - it just depends on what you need. And (if you need offical ips) on what you can pay.

HTH
T.
_________________
Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spitzwegerich
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 697
Location: Lower Bavaria, Central Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your answers!

My problem was that I did not understand that the subnet sections are assigned to the NICs given to dhcpd on startup.
_________________
"Work is the curse of the drinking classes."
-Oskar Wilde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spitzwegerich
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2003
Posts: 697
Location: Lower Bavaria, Central Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@bokkepoot

I started from your dhcpd.conf and tried to understand it with the manpage of dhcpd.conf. I found this:

Code:
The ad-hoc Dynamic DNS update scheme is now  deprecated  and  does  not work.   In future releases of the ISC DHCP server, this scheme will not likely be available.  The interim scheme works,  allows  for  failover, and  should  now  be  used.


So depending on your dhcp version, you should change
Code:
ddns-update-style ad-hoc;

to
Code:
ddns-update-style interim;

_________________
"Work is the curse of the drinking classes."
-Oskar Wilde
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum