View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:46 pm Post subject: World update: Help in understanding which packages to mask |
|
|
Hello!
It has been a while since I updated my Desktop/Audio Workstation Gentoo box, and I don't know how to solve this right now. I try to:
Code: | emerge --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse @world |
and I get this: http://pastebin.com/Cv0Rd3Rr
Here is my make.conf:
Code: | # These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
#ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64"
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="icu xine openal networking sse3 vim-syntax dbus consolekit python threads aalib httpd bluray cpude$
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
ALSA_CARDS="hdsp hdspm"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.de.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
#SYNC=rsync://ftp.df.lth.se/pub/gentoo/
PORT_LOGDIR=/var/log/portage/
#ACCEPT_LICENSE="AdobeFlash-10.1 AdobeFlash-11.x"
#ACCEPT_LICENSE="skype-4.0.0.7-copyright"
#ACCEPT_LICENSE="skype-eula"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0.37 Oracle-BCLA-JavaSE"
source /var/lib/layman/make.conf
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/root/overlays/rt-nvidia"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
PORTAGE_ELOG_SYSTEM="save"
PORTAGE_ELOG_CLASSES="warn error info log qa"
PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python2_7 python3_2" ## python3_3"
PYTHON_TARGETS="python2_7 python3_3"
# Set PORTDIR for backward compatibility with various tools:
# gentoo-bashcomp - bug #478444
# euse - bug #474574
# euses and ufed - bug #478318
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="rsync://trumpetti.atm.tut.fi/gentoo/ http://ftp.df.lth.se/pub/gentoo/ rsync://ftp.df.l$
#GENTOO_MIRRORS="rsync://ftp.df.lth.se/pub/gentoo/ ftp://ftp.df.lth.se/pub/gentoo/ rsync://ftp.snt.utwe$
|
I am pretty lost in semantics at the last bulk of lines portage returns, I mean I don't understand what I need to do when I get this:
Code: | media-libs/libmng:0
(media-libs/libmng-2.0.2-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) pulled in by
(no parents that aren't satisfied by other packages in this slot)
(media-libs/libmng-1.0.10-r1::gentoo, installed) pulled in by
>=media-libs/libmng-1.0.9:0/0= required by (dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.5-r3::gentoo, installed)
| Is it the 'libmng-2.0.2-r1' package I have to mask?? Or??
Thank you for your help!
K. _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tryn Guru
Joined: 21 Dec 2002 Posts: 325 Location: 39.885° N. -88.913° W.
|
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
muadib25
Looks like you need to take care of this item. It says that you need a newer gnome-base/gdm then the one that you have.
Quote: | [blocks B ] <gnome-base/gdm-3.8 ("<gnome-base/gdm-3.8" is blocking gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.12.2)
|
Try upgrading it first with Code: | emerge -1up gnome-base/gdm |
See what it says and if it looks good remove the ( p ) and do it.
Then try the update for the world and see if it removes the problems for you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey Tryn!
The gdm packages above 3.0 are masked on my system, the reason being that I didn't want to upgrade to Gnome 3.0.
Here is my package.mask file:
Code: | # Atoms that makes me miserable :)
=x11-libs/fltk-2.0_pre6970
=dev-libs/boost-1.42.0-r2
=net-irc/xchat-gnome-0.26.1-r2
=dev-games/physfs-2.0.2-r1
=dev-qt/qtscript-4.8.2-r9999
media-libs/lv2core
=app-pda/libimobiledevice-1.1.4-r4
=media-sound/ardour-3.3-r1
=app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-baselibs-20131008-r2
=app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-baselibs-20131008
=app-emulation/wine-1.7.4
=app-emulation/wine-1.7.3
##=dev-qt/qtcore-4.8.4-r5
##=dev-qt/qt3support-4.8.5
##=dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.5-r1
##=dev-qt/designer-4.8.5
##=net-p2p/retroshare-0.5.5b
##GNOME 3.8 block
>=dev-libs/libgweather-3.0
>=gnome-base/libgnomekbd-3.0
=media-libs/libcanberra-0.28-r4
# Core Applications
>=app-accessibility/orca-3.0
>=gnome-base/gdm-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-applets-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-keyring-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-menus-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-panel-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-session-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-settings-daemon-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-shell-3.0
>=gnome-base/libgnome-keyring-3.0
>=gnome-base/nautilus-3.0
>=x11-wm/metacity-2.34
>=x11-wm/mutter-3.0
# Extra Applications
>=app-arch/file-roller-3.0
>=app-cdr/brasero-3.0
>=app-crypt/seahorse-3.0
>=app-editors/gedit-3.0
>=app-editors/gedit-plugins-3.0
>=app-text/gtranslator-2.90
>=app-text/evince-3.0
>=dev-util/anjuta-3.0
>=app-pda/gtkpod-2.1.0
>=dev-util/devhelp-3.0
>=gnome-extra/drwright-3.0
>=gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.0
>=gnome-extra/evolution-exchange-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gcalctool-6.0
>=gnome-extra/gconf-editor-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-color-manager-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-games-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-games-extra-data-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-media-2.32.0-r300
>=gnome-extra/gnome-packagekit-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-screensaver-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-system-monitor-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-tweak-tool-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-user-share-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-utils-3.0
#>=gnome-extra/gucharmap-3.0
>=gnome-extra/mousetweaks-3.0
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-sendto-3.0
gnome-extra/office-runner
>=gnome-extra/zenity-3.0
>=mail-client/evolution-3.0
>=media-gfx/eog-3.0
>=media-sound/rhythmbox-2.90
>=media-sound/sound-juicer-2.99
>=media-video/cheese-3.0
##>=media-video/totem-3.0
>=net-analyzer/gnome-nettool-3.0
>=net-im/empathy-3.0
>=net-misc/vinagre-3.0
>=net-misc/vino-3.0
>=net-wireless/gnome-bluetooth-3.0
>=sys-apps/gnome-disk-utility-3.0.2-r300
>=www-client/epiphany-3.0
>=www-client/epiphany-extensions-3.0
>=x11-terms/gnome-terminal-3.0
# Documentation
>=gnome-extra/yelp-3.0
>=dev-util/gnome-devel-docs-3.0
>=gnome-extra/gnome-user-docs-3.0
# NetworkManager
>=net-misc/networkmanager-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-pptp-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openconnect-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openvpn-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-openswan-0.8.99
>=net-misc/networkmanager-vpnc-0.8.99
>=gnome-extra/nm-applet-0.8.99
# Meta packages
>=gnome-base/gnome-core-apps-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-extra-apps-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-core-libs-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-fallback-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-light-3.0
>=gnome-base/gnome-3.0
# Misc applications
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-open-terminal-0.19
>=app-mobilephone/gnome-phone-manager-0.67
>=app-accessibility/caribou-0.4
app-admin/eselect-gnome-shell-extensions
>=app-misc/tracker-0.12
>=dev-libs/folks-0.6
>=dev-libs/libgdata-0.9
>=dev-python/pyatspi-2.2
>=gnome-base/gconf-3.2
>=gnome-extra/at-spi-2.2
gnome-extra/gnome-contacts
gnome-extra/gnome-documents
gnome-extra/gnome-shell-extensions
>=gnome-extra/nautilus-tracker-tags-0.12
gnome-extra/sushi
##>=media-libs/clutter-1.7
##>=media-libs/cogl-1.7
>=net-libs/gnome-online-accounts-3
>=x11-libs/libcryptui-3
>=x11-misc/alacarte-0.13.2-r50
>=app-accessibility/accerciser-3.2
#=app-admin/system-config-printer-common-1.4.3
>gnome-extra/sensors-applet-2.99
=gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.10.1
=gnome-base/gvfs-1.18.3
##>=media-video/totem-2.32.0
##=media-libs/cogl-1.16.2
##=media-video/totem-3.10.1
##=net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.2.6-r200
=net-libs/webkit-gtk-2.2.6-r200
=net-libs/opal-3.10.10
=media-video/x264-encoder-0.0.20111220
=net-im/skype-4.3.0.37
>=gnome-base/gnome-control-center-3.12.1-r1
>=net-libs/gnome-online-accounts-3.12.4
>=dev-libs/libgdata-0.14.3
>=media-plugins/grilo-plugins-0.2.12
>=media-video/totem-3.12.1 |
... which as I noticed now is a bit messy form previous adjustments...
I dont really know how gdm popped up in this upgrade, since it's masked. _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
muadib25,
Try Code: | emerge --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse --ask --verbose @system | first.
Code: | emerge -uDNav --with-bdeps=y @system | is less typing.
You are going to get a perl update to 5.18, so you must run perl-cleaner after the above completes. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tony0945 Watchman
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 5127 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | The gdm packages above 3.0 are masked on my system, the reason being that I didn't want to upgrade to Gnome 3.0.
|
Bite the bullet and move to Mate. Trying to keep Gnome 2.x is only going to get worse. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tryn Guru
Joined: 21 Dec 2002 Posts: 325 Location: 39.885° N. -88.913° W.
|
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
muadib25
Sorry about that. I had forgot about the Gnome thing since I don't have Gnome.
I'm glad that I don't have to mess with it. My package.mask only has 4 things in it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see. How do I uninstall it then? _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tony0945 Watchman
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 5127 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So you are running gdm without Gnome. I'd replace gdm. Which desktop are you running? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tony0945 wrote: | So you are running gdm without Gnome. I'd replace gdm. Which desktop are you running? |
One moment, I have Gnome 2.x, which I use. I also have fluxbox. _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sebB l33t
Joined: 02 Mar 2011 Posts: 806 Location: S.O. France
|
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In your package.mask
Try replacing
Code: | =gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.10.1 |
by
Code: | >=gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.10.1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tony0945 Watchman
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 5127 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you don't need remote login, I recommend SLiM, http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/SLiM. That will give you the chance to choose your desktop at each login.
Personally, I've gone back to vanilla XDM as I run only Mate now and sometimes do remote login with XDMCP.
If you search the forum, you will find several threads on converting to Mate with masks posted. I participated in several of those threads, but on the final machine that I converted, I just removed all the gnome use flags, changed profile from Gnome to plain Desktop (very important), emerge'd -C anything from gnome, --depclean, then unmasked and emerge'd Mate which brought several things back. I don't know if I can really recommend that approach, but it was simple. If you have a lot of customization in Gnome, I'd look for more expert advice than mine. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sebB wrote: | In your package.mask
Try replacing
Code: | =gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.10.1 |
by
Code: | >=gnome-base/gsettings-desktop-schemas-3.10.1 |
|
SebB, I think this was it.
With '# emerge --update --deep --with-bdeps=y --newuse @world -p' I get lots of packages for update and in the end this:
Code: | [ebuild U ] dev-cpp/libgnomecanvasmm-2.26.0-r1 [2.26.0]
[ebuild R ] net-libs/gtk-vnc-0.5.3 PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild U ] dev-python/gnome-python-extras-base-2.25.3-r1 [2.25.3]
[ebuild R ] x11-libs/vte-0.28.2-r206 PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild R ] gnome-extra/hamster-applet-2.32.1-r1 PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="(-python2_6%)" PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild R ] gnome-base/gconf-2.32.4-r1
[ebuild U ] sys-fs/udisks-1.0.5-r1 [1.0.5]
[ebuild U ] gnome-base/gnome-vfs-2.24.4-r2 [2.24.4-r1] ABI_X86="(64%*) (-32) (-x32)"
[ebuild R ] gnome-base/gnome-desktop-2.32.1-r2 PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild U ] media-plugins/gst-plugins-gconf-0.10.31-r1 [0.10.31] ABI_X86="(64%*) (-32) (-x32)"
[ebuild R ] app-misc/emelfm2-0.8.1 USE="udisks%* (-udev%*)"
[ebuild U ] app-office/libreoffice-4.2.6.3 [4.2.5.2] PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_3*"
[ebuild U ] x11-libs/libgksu-2.0.12-r2 [2.0.12-r1]
[ebuild R ] media-gfx/inkscape-0.48.4-r1 PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="(-python2_6%)" PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild UD ] media-video/totem-2.32.0-r2 [3.10.1] USE="bluetooth%* youtube%* -iplayer% (-tracker) -upnp-av%"
[ebuild U ~] media-video/vlc-2.1.5 [2.1.4]
[ebuild R ] net-libs/telepathy-glib-0.24.0 PYTHON_TARGETS="(-python2_6%)"
[ebuild N ] app-pda/libusbmuxd-1.0.9 USE="-static-libs"
[uninstall ] app-pda/usbmuxd-1.0.8-r1
[blocks b ] <app-pda/usbmuxd-1.0.8_p1 ("<app-pda/usbmuxd-1.0.8_p1" is blocking app-pda/libusbmuxd-1.0.9)
[ebuild U ] app-pda/libimobiledevice-1.1.6 [1.1.5] USE="-static-libs%" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_3%* (-python3_2)"
[ebuild rR ] sys-power/upower-pm-utils-0.9.23-r2
[ebuild rR ] app-pda/ideviceinstaller-1.0.1
[ebuild U ] app-pda/ifuse-1.1.3 [1.1.2-r1]
[ebuild U ] kde-base/kdelibs-4.12.5-r2 [4.12.5-r1]
[ebuild U ] net-im/telepathy-mission-control-5.16.2 [5.14.1] USE="-systemd%"
The following packages are causing rebuilds:
(media-libs/libmng-2.0.2-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) causes rebuilds for:
(dev-qt/qtgui-4.8.5-r3::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-lang/perl-5.18.2-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) causes rebuilds for:
(dev-perl/WWW-RobotRules-6.20.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/IO-Socket-SSL-1.953.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/libwww-perl-6.50.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(perl-core/Digest-SHA-5.820.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/Net-SSLeay-1.550::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/HTTP-Cookies-6.0.1-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/Net-HTTP-6.60.0::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/HTTP-Negotiate-6.0.1-r1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(dev-perl/Error-0.170.210::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(app-pda/libplist-1.11::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge) causes rebuilds for:
(sys-power/upower-pm-utils-0.9.23-r2::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
(app-pda/ideviceinstaller-1.0.1::gentoo, ebuild scheduled for merge)
!!! The following installed packages are masked:
- net-im/skype-4.3.0.37::gentoo (masked by: package.mask)
For more information, see the MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge
man page or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
* IMPORTANT: 10 news items need reading for repository 'gentoo'.
* Use eselect news to read news items. |
I'll let it update tomorrow before I go to work and let you all know.
Tony0945, yeah SliM was cool but I remember I had a problem with it back then when I was setting up this box. I also have the Desktop profile, didnt want it to be Gnome-specific.
I remember I had some problems in getting Fluxbox to work with locale changes (keyboard in other langs) that got me into GNOME again. Regardless of what happens with GNOME tomorrow, I am going to fix this for Fluxbox though...
Thanks! _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
steveL Watchman
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 Posts: 5153 Location: The Peanut Gallery
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nice tip, tony.
Cheers :-) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
muadib25 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 08 Aug 2010 Posts: 144 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
SebB,
yes it worked! Thanks!
Now its only totem-2.32.0-r2 that doesn't compile when I do 'emerge --update --newuse --deep --with-bdeps=y @world', I'll make a new post for that. _________________ “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” -Albert Pine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|