View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
P1neapple n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2014 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:25 am Post subject: [SOLVED] How do I dual boot with Windows correctly? |
|
|
I could only find either outdated information or information that applies to UEFI/GPT
I am using BIOS/MBR, how would I correctly dual boot with Windows (7)?
I know I need to setup GRUB2 to detect Windows, and obviously keep the Windows partition. Also I believe I need to use "local" time instead of UTC for the hardware clock.
I just want to make sure I don't miss anything :/
So, how would I dual boot Gentoo with Windows (steps please)?
Thank you in advance _________________ Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon...
Last edited by P1neapple on Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:04 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
xaviermiller Bodhisattva
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 8722 Location: ~Brussels - Belgique
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
Normally, that outdated information should be OK. With BIOS systems, I prefer syslinux to GRUB, because the simplicity of configuration files, and the fact that syslinux boots the active partition, which can be Windows or a syslinux menu. So, this is easy to uninstall Linux : remove the linux partition, set the Windows partition as active, and regain the Linux space. _________________ Kind regards,
Xavier Miller |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mv Watchman
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 6780
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
The information about "local" time might be outdated: Depending on your windows versions there might be possibilities to use UTC time also in windows by manually setting some variables in this braindead windows configuration database. However, for details you have to look in the web... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
P1neapple n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2014 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm asking about steps about how to dual boot Gentoo with Windows, not about if another bootloader is better.
I still much rather stay with local time if it means avoiding clock skew because of Windows.
Edit: I looked it up, UTC time requires a registry hack, much rather stay with local time then. _________________ Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
P1neapple n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2014 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 8:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
To be clear: I would like this explained to a newbie who knows how to setup a Gentoo system, but has no idea what is necessary for a dual boot with Windows. Thanks. _________________ Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Irre Guru
Joined: 09 Nov 2013 Posts: 434 Location: Stockholm
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | To be clear: I would like this explained to a newbie who knows how to setup a Gentoo system, but has no idea what is necessary for a dual boot with Windows. Thanks. |
I never touched windows bootloader on /dev/sda1. Instead I made another partition active (see fdisk command). There I installed and configured grub. After boot the entries in grub are presented. Windows 7 boot loader is chainloaded via grub. All other systems (three Linuxes and even FreeBSD) are loaded direct from grub (+grub2). The advantage with this method is that it works even if Windows updates its boot-record!
Edit:
This is my layout: Code: | Device Boot Start End Sectors Size Id Type
/dev/sda1 2048 409599 407552 199M 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2 409600 266649599 266240000 127G 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3 * 266649600 309069823 42420224 20,2G a5 FreeBSD
/dev/sda4 309069824 1465147119 1156077296 551,3G 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 1464936448 1465147119 210672 102,9M c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda6 309071872 330043391 20971520 10G 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 330045440 351016959 20971520 10G 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 351019008 371990527 20971520 10G 83 Linux
/dev/sda9 371992576 791422975 419430400 200G 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda10 791425024 1210855423 419430400 200G 83 Linux
/dev/sda11 1210857472 1422516223 211658752 100,9G 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda12 1422518272 1464936447 42418176 20,2G 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
Partition table entries are not in disk order.
| This is how I created boot-record Code: | grub-install --root-directory=/???/boot /dev/sda3 | N.B. configuration file need not be on same partition. I have it on sda6: Code: |
(mount /dev/sda6 /tmp1)
(cat /tmp1/boot/grub/menu.lst)
timeout 300
color cyan/blue white/blue
title gentoo-3.18.3/sda6
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.18.3-gentoox root=/dev/sda6 ro vga=773 rootdelay=17 psmouse.proto=imps
title gentoo-3.18.1/sda7
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.18.1-gentoo root=/dev/sda7 ro vga=773 rootdelay=17 psmouse.proto=imps
title Arch-linux/sda8 init=/bin/systemd
root (hd0,7)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda8 ro vga=773 rootdelay=17 psmouse.proto=imps
initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img
title Windows
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
title grub2 sda7
root (hd0,6)
chainloader +1
| As you see I also chainload grub2. I failed to install the freeBSD boot loader, but grub2 works fine for freeBSD. Grub2 could have been used as main boot loader for everything but Windows. This is how I created grub2 boot record on sda7: Code: | grub2-install --root-directory=/ --boot-directory=/grub2 --force /dev/sda7
grub2-mkconfig -o /grub2/grub/grub.cfg |
Last edited by Irre on Tue Jan 27, 2015 6:40 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
charles17 Advocate
Joined: 02 Mar 2008 Posts: 3685
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:27 am Post subject: Re: How do I dual boot with Windows correctly? |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | I am using BIOS/MBR, how would I correctly dual boot with Windows (7)? | For windows 7 to install it will need space for two primary partitions. Windows installer will create these partitions by itself. So it should be ok starting with a primary boot partition and an extended partition for swap and "/". Code: | Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 101MB 101MB primary ext2
2 101MB 88.2GB 88.1GB extended
5 101MB 3104MB 3004MB logical linux-swap(v1)
6 3104MB 88.2GB 85.1GB logical reiserfs | Then windows installer can create it's partitions in the remaining disc space. Minimum 20G should work.
Code: | 3 88.2GB 88.3GB 105MB primary ntfs boot
4 88.3GB 120GB 31.7GB primary ntfs | After that, grub mbr needs to be re-installed since windows installer overwrote it.
And, sys-boot/os-prober would be needed for grub2 create the grub menu windows line. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fitzcarraldo Advocate
Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 2056 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:26 pm Post subject: Re: How do I dual boot with Windows correctly? |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | I could only find either outdated information or information that applies to UEFI/GPT
I am using BIOS/MBR, how would I correctly dual boot with Windows (7)?
I know I need to setup GRUB2 to detect Windows, and obviously keep the Windows partition. Also I believe I need to use "local" time instead of UTC for the hardware clock.
I just want to make sure I don't miss anything :/
So, how would I dual boot Gentoo with Windows (steps please)?
Thank you in advance |
I also use BIOS/MBR and dual-boot Gentoo and Windows 7. However, in order to guarantee not borking Windows, I chainload GRUB 2 from the Windows Boot Manager, i.e. the MBR is not touched by GRUB 2 at all, only Windows, which means that the Windows hidden factory restore partition function key code in the MBR is left intact too (if your manufacturer has installed such code). To do all that, I used EasyBCD (Non-commercial edition). The procedure I used is explained in The best way to dual boot Linux and Windows. _________________ Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC systemd-utils[udev] elogind KDE on both.
My blog |
|
Back to top |
|
|
P1neapple n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2014 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok thanks to charles17 I found out I need to use os-prober. I think the os-prober needs the OS to have NTFS support to detect Windows, no? So does the install media come with NTFS support?? _________________ Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ShanaXXII Apprentice
Joined: 29 Jun 2014 Posts: 283 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 11:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | Ok thanks to charles17 I found out I need to use os-prober. I think the os-prober needs the OS to have NTFS support to detect Windows, no? So does the install media come with NTFS support?? |
I don't think os-prober needs NTFS support. When I installed Gentoo it was basically:
Code: | # emerge os-prober
# emerge grub
# grub2-install /dev/sda
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg |
And you are good to go
Last edited by ShanaXXII on Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:20 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
P1neapple n00b
Joined: 18 Jul 2014 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
ShanaXXII, maybe because you already had NTFS support
Ok thank you for telling me it's so simple.
I shall mark this as solved. _________________ Gentoo currently running in Virtualbox, hoping to switch to real hardware soon... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ShanaXXII Apprentice
Joined: 29 Jun 2014 Posts: 283 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | ShanaXXII, maybe because you already had NTFS support
Ok thank you for telling me it's so simple.
I shall mark this as solved. |
Well, I guess the gentoo install disc came with NTFS support (: |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Roman_Gruber Advocate
Joined: 03 Oct 2006 Posts: 3846 Location: Austro Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well grub2, boot partition, linux partion, windows partition.
and for your clock =>
Quote: | [I] net-misc/ntp
Available versions: 4.2.6_p5-r10 (~)4.2.6_p5-r11 4.2.8-r1 (~)4.2.8-r2 {caps debug ipv6 openntpd parse-clocks samba selinux snmp ssl vim-syntax zeroconf}
Installed versions: 4.2.8-r2(13:06:16 19.01.2015)(ipv6 ssl -caps -debug -openntpd -parse-clocks -samba -selinux -snmp -vim-syntax -zeroconf)
Homepage: http://www.ntp.org/
Description: Network Time Protocol suite/programs
|
why bother at all? set up ntp and afaik windows 95+ could use a time server too. why bother with anything when the os corrects the clock itself?
ofc there are so many installation ways, so anything more is out of scope. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tw04l124 wrote: | [...]
why bother at all? set up ntp and afaik windows 95+ could use a time server too. why bother with anything when the os corrects the clock itself? |
I'm left wondering if you even bothered to read what was posted. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
djdunn l33t
Joined: 26 Dec 2004 Posts: 812
|
Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2015 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
P1neapple wrote: | I'm asking about steps about how to dual boot Gentoo with Windows, not about if another bootloader is better.
I still much rather stay with local time if it means avoiding clock skew because of Windows.
Edit: I looked it up, UTC time requires a registry hack, much rather stay with local time then. |
the registery is just a database for all .ini and .conf files for anything installed in windows, changing anything in the registry is perfectly safe and ok _________________ “Music is a moral law. It gives a soul to the Universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness, gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order, and leads to all that is good and just and beautiful.”
― Plato |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|