View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:28 pm Post subject: can no longer loop mount ISO file |
|
|
Trying to loop mount an ISO file which I've done a gazillion times previously and it no longer works.
In the past I had always built the loop device as a module but for some (possibly good) reason it was currently built-in. I decided to rebuild the kernel with the loop device as a module (and made sure it was loaded) but that did not solve the problem.
Of course I've tried several different ISO files and mount points, none work. Code: | mount -o loop /path/to/isofile/isofile.iso /mnt/loop | simply provides this message most likely due to the fact that I didn't specify ro in the mount option: Code: | mount: /dev/loop0 is write-protected, mounting read-only | however the file does not get loop mounted - no data in the mount point.
Running gentoo-sources-3.19.2 and sys-apps/util-linux-2.26.1-r1.
Any ideas?
Thanks. _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
i92guboj Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 Nov 2004 Posts: 10315 Location: Córdoba (Spain)
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If the mount if failing, dmesg should show something.
There's also the chance that it's a multisession disk and the first session is empty.
Or maybe it's not iso9660, but udf or something else. In that case you might need to add support for that in the kernel.
Don't really know, it's been long since I bothered with this stuff for the last time. In the rare occasions when I need to handle an iso file I just unpack it with 7z in a temporal directory. I admit it's not the most straightforward way to handle it, but optical drivers are hardly practical for anything, much less in linux where burning barely works. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've tried with several known good ISO files (several Linux install and live images for one). All dmesg provides is: Code: | [ 2300.839262] ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 3
[ 2300.839290] ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A |
_________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
toralf Developer
Joined: 01 Feb 2004 Posts: 3942 Location: Hamburg
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:30 pm Post subject: Re: can no longer loop mount ISO file |
|
|
darkphader wrote: | however the file does not get loop mounted - no data in the mount point. | Happens for me for an ISO image from Lenovos web side for a BIOS update.
However mounting a minimal iso from Gentoo works fine :
Code: | $ sudo mount -o loop,ro ~/Downloads/install-amd64-minimal-20150319.iso /mnt/media/
$ ls /mnt/media/
gentoo.efimg gentoo.efimg.mountPoint image.squashfs isolinux livecd README.txt
$ sudo umount /mnt/media/
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
None of my ISO files mount. _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It seems the system recognizes what the files are (hence the proper dmesg output) yet the mount really never occurs. _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Any ideas? I'm losing hair rapidly... _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 10:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
May be a systemd situation. I get this in the journal: Code: | ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 3
ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
systemd[1]: Unit mnt-loop.mount is bound to inactive unit. Stopping, too. |
Filed a bug just in case it is a systemd issue and the devs can figure it out. _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
musv Advocate
Joined: 01 Dec 2002 Posts: 3366 Location: de
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
musv Advocate
Joined: 01 Dec 2002 Posts: 3366 Location: de
|
Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Btw. I found a workaround:
I just mounted the iso file to /dev/shm. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
musv Advocate
Joined: 01 Dec 2002 Posts: 3366 Location: de
|
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Went back to systemd-218. Everything works again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darkphader Veteran
Joined: 09 May 2002 Posts: 1225 Location: Motown
|
Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 8:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I applied the patch linked to in the bug report. Works fine. _________________ WYSIWYG - What You See Is What You Grep |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|