View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
styler n00b
Joined: 12 Jan 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 8:56 pm Post subject: tiny MySQL noob question :) |
|
|
first of all i wanna say gentoo is kewl *grin*
now to the serious shit:
i installed apache, php and mysql. they all running just fine
but
now i'm trying to connect with mysqlfront from a windows machine and im getting the error:
2003 - Can't connect to MySQL server on '10.0.0.14' (10061)
but i know for shure that the user and pwd is right, because when i do:
mysql -u root -p -h localhost
i have to login and it works!
i think i have to allow the remote pc to contact the mysql ... but how?
any suggestions?
tnx in advance,
greetz sTyLeR_1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
primus Apprentice
Joined: 07 Jun 2003 Posts: 230
|
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey,
i think you have the same problem i had once... i basically had to allow a another server access to my mysql server and grant the server permission to mysql box.
the way i did this was through phpmyadmin... do you have that up and running?
if so, check out the permission or authentication section. i cant access it now because i am at work, but i know that i had to make some addition of adding the requesting server.
sorry i cant be more help, but when i get home i can check for you...
oh but i found this: http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Access_denied.html
if it helps. _________________
$japh=qq/62D112U107N106E28D89U104N109E89 D86U96N102E14D77U87N106E96D12U68N95E98 D102U101N101E/;
map { $i++ while chop; push (@dune,$i); undef $i; } split /[eE]/;
map { print chr ${\(shift(@dune) + $_)}; } split /[DUNE]/,$japh;
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
kashani Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 2032 Location: San Francisco
|
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 9:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO root@"%" IDENTIFIED BY 'myadminpass' WITH GRANT OPTION;
flush privileges;
|
The "%" means from everywhere not just localhost which is the default. You can check to see what's currently allowed by doing
use mysql;
select * from user;
You can also do nifty thing like only allowing the 10.1.1.0/24 network to connect by specifying 10.1.1.% instead of just %.
kashani _________________ Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
styler n00b
Joined: 12 Jan 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 3:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
all i did to come at this stage:
emerge mysql
ebuild /blablab///mysql.3432.ebuild config
changed the root password
then connected en then:
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO root@"%" IDENTIFIED BY '****' WITH GRANT OPTION;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)
mysql> flush privileges;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)
still cant connect after that |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kashani Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 2032 Location: San Francisco
|
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hmmmm a netstat -ptln wouldn't happen to show your mysql process bound only to 127.0.0.1 would it? If so remove the bind = 127.0.0.1 in your /etc/mysql/my.cnf file and restart mysql.
kashani _________________ Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
styler n00b
Joined: 12 Jan 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 9:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
it works
i configed mysql further in webmin
tnx for all the help!!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgowling n00b
Joined: 16 Jan 2004 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 5:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kashani - you're a star!!!
I've spent about 12 hours trying to get a connection from WinXP to MySQL on Gentoo over MyODBC working and searched all over the web for the solution as to what was wrong. I kept getting error '10061' when testing the ODBC connection on WinXP yet it worked fine on the Gentoo box... Yours is the only posting I found with the solution.
Many thanks,
Phil |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sixshot n00b
Joined: 30 Apr 2004 Posts: 52
|
Posted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
This blurb needs to be documented... as I ran into the same problem trying to do remote management. Is it a Gentoo thing or mySQL thing? The last mySQL server I ran/configured was 3.x and I never saw that option in my my.cnf file. _________________ One shall stand. One shall fall. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|