View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jody l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/696899603471f187c97dcc.png)
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 676 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:54 pm Post subject: [SOLVED]network doesn't start at boot, but does start man... |
|
|
Hi
I have just installed gentoo on a computer, i used 'genkernel -all' to build the kernel.
To find the name to use for the networks i did 'ifconfig -a': Code: | # ifconfig -a
enp1s0: flags=4163<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 187 bytes 23866 (23.3 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 79 bytes 11965 (11.6 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 16 memory 0xfaee0000-faf00000
enp2s0: flags=4098<BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
device interrupt 16 memory 0xfafe0000-fb000000
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
|
I created a net.enp1s0 Code: | # ls -l /etc/init.d/net.*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Apr 28 17:55 /etc/init.d/net.enp1s0 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 17415 Apr 21 07:22 /etc/init.d/net.lo
|
and added it to rc level default: Code: | # rc-update
binfmt | boot
bootmisc | boot
cronie | default
devfs | sysinit
dmesg | sysinit
fsck | boot
hostname | boot
hwclock | boot
keymaps | boot
killprocs | shutdown
kmod-static-nodes | sysinit
local | default
localmount | boot
loopback | boot
modules | boot
mount-ro | shutdown
mtab | boot
net.enp1s0 | default
netmount | default
procfs | boot
root | boot
savecache | shutdown
sshd | default
swap | boot
swapfiles | boot
sysctl | boot
sysfs | sysinit
syslog-ng | default
termencoding | boot
tmpfiles.dev | sysinit
tmpfiles.setup | boot
udev | sysinit
urandom | boot
|
When i reboot the computer, the network is not started,
but when i manually do '/etc/init.d/net.enp1s0 start' the network starts without a problem.
Interestingly, i have yesterday installed gentoo on an identical machine with the same installation cd, and there i did not have this problem.
The log file shows something weird: Code: | Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 syslog-ng[2873]: syslog-ng starting up; version='3.7.2'
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 crond[2901]: (CRON) STARTUP (1.5.0)
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 crond[2901]: (CRON) INFO (Syslog will be used instead of sendmail.)
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 crond[2901]: (CRON) INFO (RANDOM_DELAY will be scaled with factor 29% if used.)
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 crond[2901]: (CRON) INFO (running with inotify support)
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 /etc/init.d/net.eth0[2992]: ERROR: interface eth0 does not exist
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 /etc/init.d/net.eth0[2993]: Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 /etc/init.d/net.eth0[2907]: ERROR: net.eth0 failed to start
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 /etc/init.d/netmount[2995]: ERROR: cannot start netmount as net.eth0 would not start
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 sshd[3019]: Server listening on 0.0.0.0 port 22.
Apr 28 17:32:19 squid_01 sshd[3019]: Server listening on :: port 22.
|
Why does it want to start net.eth0 (it doesn't even exist, and it is not shown by rc-update), and doesn't try net.enp1s0?
Can anybody help here?
Thank You
Jody
Last edited by jody on Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:54 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Maxxx Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/165826604256d85c0587763.jpg)
Joined: 12 Jan 2016 Posts: 595 Location: Italia
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jody l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/696899603471f187c97dcc.png)
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 676 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I followed the installation handbook, but what i did can't be all wrong, because i can manually start the network.
But thanks for the link! What is especially interesting is the rc logging - i'll have a look into that.
But i i still don't understand, why my computer wants to start net.eth0... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
charles17 Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 02 Mar 2008 Posts: 3685
|
Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 6:48 pm Post subject: Re: network doesn't start at boot, but does start manually |
|
|
jody wrote: | Why does it want to start net.eth0 (it doesn't even exist, and it is not shown by rc-update), and doesn't try net.enp1s0? |
Sounds like you did some of the recommendations for how to Keep classic 'eth0' naming.
Renaming - if happening - can be seen from dmesg. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
khayyam Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/9397496074fd0189143bb7.png)
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:19 pm Post subject: Re: network doesn't start at boot, but does start manually |
|
|
charles17 wrote: | jody wrote: | Why does it want to start net.eth0 (it doesn't even exist, and it is not shown by rc-update), and doesn't try net.enp1s0? |
Sounds like you did some of the recommendations for how to Keep classic 'eth0' naming. |
charles17 ... that wouldn't explain how a non-existant service is started, and were this the case then that service wouldn't complain "interface eth0 does not exist".
@jody ... I'm hesitent to suggest anything with regard to the current openrc as I'm still using 0.12.4, and having given it some thought I can't think of a reason why your issue would occur. Anyhow, that said, please provide the following:
Code: | # ls -l /etc/runlevel/default/*
# rc-status --all |tr -s ' '
# mount | grep run |
You might try 'rc-update -u' but I'm inclined to think the issue is elsewhere.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jody l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/696899603471f187c97dcc.png)
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 Posts: 676 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
@khayyam:
I did a 'rc-update -u' and rebooted: now the network came up as expected.
Thanks!
Jody |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|