View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:54 pm Post subject: Failed to bring eth0 up |
|
|
After doing a install with a 2.6.1 kernel built with genkernel, I get this error message on boot:
Failed to bring eth0 up
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started.
What do I do to make it work? On the LiveCD, it appears to be using the tulip module. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is the tulip module loaded now? Did you add it to your modules autoload file?
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
How do I do that? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
See if tulip shows up. If not then
That should do it for ya, then just restart your net.eth0 script.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When I run modprobe tulip, it says:
FATAL: Module tulip not found. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | lifeafter2am $lsmod
Module Size Used by Not tainted
tulip 43104 1
|
Its definatly called tulip.
Oops, looks like genkernel didnt compile the module for your ethernet card. I dont use genkernel so I cant tell you how to fix that, short of you compiling your own kernel.
I can give you some links on that subject if you like.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, that would be nice. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is it just a matter of booting from the livecd, running
make menuconfig
and then changing grub.conf? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/linux/story/0,24330,2433297,00.html
Yea, pretty much.
The big thing that you are looking for is under drivers --> network devices --> ethernet 10 or 100mbit --> tulip. This is its own little directory and has several options for different tulip options. If you want you can just select them all as modules and they will just load as needed with the tulip module.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do I have to build my own kernel? Is there any way around this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Not that I know of. Like I said, I have never used genkernel so i dont know how it really works. Maybe looking through the man page for genkernel there is an option to inject a certain module?? I really dont know....
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 11:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK, I build the kernel, and it boots. Here's the error message I get when it tries to load the driver:
Code: | modproble: FATAL: Error inserting tulip (/lib/modules/2.6.1-gentoo/kernel/drivers/net/tulip/tulip.ko): Invalid module format |
A bunch of these messages come up. What do I do? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
What can I do about this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
When you made your kernel you did the standerd: Code: | make clean && make && make modules_install |
Also your linux diretory in /usr/src is linked to your current kernel right? Another thing you could try is compiling support directly into your kernel instead of using a module. I had a simular problem with my alsa drivers, and compiling them in ended up fixing it.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
I didn't do the make clean, and it looks like my new kernel overwrote the old one, so the links should be set up properly.
Should I compile the kernel with the tulip support compiled in? Or is there something else I should do? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | $ ls -l /usr/src
total 32467
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jan 20 01:24 linux -> linux-2.6.0/
drwxr-xr-x 16 root root 624 Dec 20 18:41 linux-2.4.22-gentoo-r1
drwxrwxr-x 19 1046 1046 1184 Jan 21 12:14 linux-2.6.0
| Your link should look like my first entry. I would try compiling them in the kernel. I cant see any reason that the module shouldnt load though.....Is that the only error message you get when you do the modprobe? What about your logs? dmesg maybe tells you more?
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
interesting... in the dmesg output is this:
Code: | tulip: version magic '2.6.1-gentoo preempt PENTIUMII gcc-3.2' should be '2.6.1-gentoo preempt PENTIMUM4 gcc-3.2' |
I know I did change the processor in menuconfig to Pentium II from Pentium 4, because that's what this runs on. Should I change it back or something? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
That almost makes me think something was wrong during the compile or something. Go ahead and JUST run a Code: | make clean && make && make install | and copy over your necessory files. If that dosent work, then try compiling tulip directly into the kernel.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
sonikntails wrote: | copy over your necessory files. |
What? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Your bzImage and your System.map files.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Wait a second, I copied the vmlinux not the bzimage last time. Let me try that first. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Darn it, no good. I'm gonna compile it in and see what happens. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ugh. Back to the beginning. I don't get an errors in dmesg, but the same message I posted at the beginning appears. I have hotplug, does this matter? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
What does show you? Look in your dmesg again, towards the beggining I would guess, for where the tulip loaded and post it.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
termee Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
There is nothing at all about the ethernet card or tulip in dmesg. All ifconfig shows is lo. I'd prefer not to have to post it because it obviously isn't on my network now and typing it is kind of tedious. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|