View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:44 am Post subject: [SOLVED] Choosing a sound driver |
|
|
Hi all,
I have Gentoo installed running KDE, and I have no sound. When I play a video online there is no sound, and there is no sound widget on the panel. I checked my kernel configuration and I realised I have ALSA enabled, but I did not compile any drivers. The output of lspci for audio is
Code: | 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04) |
I looked on the ALSA matrix under Intel, but the names mentioned for Intel do not show up in the menuconfig for the kernel. Am I supposed to pick the one entry that mentions Intel? Or do I download and compile a different module?
Is ALSA what I need to get this working? This is my first installation of Gentoo, and I forgot about audio, as my only use for audio is watching course material, which I don't do often.
If the ALSA wiki entry is the right option to solve this, I can follow that, I just need some guidance on getting the right driver.
Thanks
Last edited by Dylanus on Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:44 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 2:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
from the root tree of Menuconfig go to Device Drivers/Sound card support/Advanced Linux Sound Architecture/HD-Audio/ Select HD Audio PCI and the codec for your sound card. If in doubt about the codec select all of them. You will be able to keep only the usefull one later as Linux will load it automatically.
Put everything you can in modules about sound. _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. I've done that now. I ran make && make modules_install, but lsmod doesn't show any sound drivers, even after a reboot. Why aren't they showing up? Did I miss a step? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
It depend if you compile the sound support in modules or directly in the kernel image. In the second case there is no module to load. You must install alsa-utils if not and see with alsamixer and
what is the output and if there's a sound card. I have not tell you all about configuring the sound support in the Linux sources because there is a lot of options but the snd-hda-intel and the good codec for your sound card are where I conduct you. _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
So the output of aplay -l is
Code: | aplay: device_list:268: no soundcards found... |
I selected all the codecs with M instead of Y, so I would expect to see modules. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
What does output
Code: | find /lib/modules -iname *snd* |
Are you sure you are using the kernel version you have compiled for snd-hda-intel? Do you have a boot partition? _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Turns out the modules are there. I loaded each one with modprobe. I still don't have sound when I play a video. I'm using KDE and the panel does not have a speaker widget for some reason. So I'm not sure whether I have no sound because the volume is at zero, or because the sound module is not working. Do you know how to get the speaker widget to show up in KDE so I can check this? All the documentation assumes that it will be there. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
What does output
If you are using pulseaudio ou are better tu use pavucontrol to setup the sound card to use and the mixer level.
Code: | ps aux | grep pulse |
_________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
lsmod | grep snd:
Code: | snd_hda_codec_cmedia 16384 0
snd_hda_codec_cirrus 20480 0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 57344 0
snd_hda_codec_analog 20480 0
snd_hda_codec_ca0110 16384 0
snd_hda_codec_via 24576 0
snd_hda_codec_si3054 16384 0
snd_hda_codec_idt 53248 0
snd_hda_codec_realtek 81920 0
snd_hda_codec_conexant 20480 0
snd_hda_codec_generic 73728 8 snd_hda_codec_ca0110,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hda_codec_cmedia,
snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_via,
snd_hda_codec_cirrus,snd_hda_codec_idt
|
ps aux | grep pulse gives no output except for grep. I don't have it installed. I've seen some negative comments about it online, so I didn't install it. Do you know of any issues about it? It seemed like people dislike it for the same reasons as systemd, but I don't know enough about these issues. Is there alternative software? Or should I just install pulseaudio?
Wrapped long lines to make the forum layout behave. —Chiitoo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jaglover Watchman
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PulseAudio is a layer between ALSA and sound applications, it won't work if ALSA does not work.
Is this a laptop? I read laptops require sometimes options passed to the sound module.
Did the sound work from installation media? If yes, check out what modules were needed. _________________ My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I installed Pulseaudio, but I'm not really sure what to do with it. I've come from Arch, and everything was taken care of without me noticing.
I just rebooted the system, and none of the sound modules are loaded. The system does automatically load a lot of required hardware modules. Does that mean it's not recognising any of the modules as related to the sound card I have?
This is a laptop. I don't know anything about options I could pass.
When I run pulseaudio as a command all on it's own, this is the output I get:
Code: | W: [pulseaudio] main.c: This program is not intended to be run as root (unless --system is specified).
W: [pulseaudio] authkey.c: Failed to open cookie file '/root/.config/pulse/cookie': No such file or directory
W: [pulseaudio] authkey.c: Failed to load authentication key '/root/.config/pulse/cookie': No such file or directory
W: [pulseaudio] authkey.c: Failed to open cookie file '/root/.pulse-cookie': No such file or directory
W: [pulseaudio] authkey.c: Failed to load authentication key '/root/.pulse-cookie': No such file or directory
E: [pulseaudio] bluez5-util.c: GetManagedObjects() failed: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.bluez was not provided by any .service files |
Does this mean anything? Am I supposed to do something to set pulseaudio up? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If everything work with Arch without passing any parameter to snd-hda-intel, we can suppose that you don't need to do it with Gentoo. Pulseaudio is intended to be use by a normal user not root and Pulseaudio is started automatically with the graphical session of a user because it is a graphical sound server.
The fact that the sound modules are not loaded with the system at boot time may be because something is wrong with the kernel version the modules. If you have kernel stuff in a boot partition and other kernel stuff in the /boot directory of the root partition this can be the cause of a mismatch where you are using an earlier version and/or configuration of the kernel than the modules compiled.
If you have a boot partition this one must always be mounted in the /boot directory at anytime something is read and write in.
Mainly you must be sure that the module snd-hda-intel is loaded and than the good codec after. Your output show only codecs loaded not snd-hda-intel who is the main module to be loaded for your sound card, unless it have been compiled in hard in the kernel image. Give the ouput of
Code: | find /lib/modules -iname *snd* |
_________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's working! I checked the kernel configuration and realised that the snd-hda-intel module was actually built-in. I recompiled the kernel with that as a module and booted from that, and sound is now working. Thanks very much for your help.
I still don't have a convenient way of adjusting the volume and I can't see a widget in the KDE menu for that. Do any of you know of a way to do that? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can open a graphical terminal and type alsamixer. You have for sure a mixer for Kde in the Portage tree. But understand that if Pulseaudio is started with the Kde session it is Pulseaudio who manage the sound card and you are better to use Pavucontrol to manage the sound. Maybe you have a Kde frontend for Pavucontrol that you can emerge. _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll give that a go tomorrow. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dylanus n00b
Joined: 02 Jun 2018 Posts: 40
|
Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Alsamixer works fine, thanks. I uninstalled Pulseaudio and it still works fine, so I think having the HD module installed as builtin was the problem. Everything's working well now. Thanks for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|