View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jehu n00b
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 Posts: 2 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:52 pm Post subject: XFree86 on Alpha |
|
|
I've recently installed Gentoo on my Alpha (which is an XPS1000 with a 500MHz EV6 CPU and 1GB RAM), and everything seems to be working fine so far apart from being unable to build XFree86-4.3.0-r3. After pulling down the sources and unpacking, the build dies almost immediately with:
Code: | make[2]: ./config/imake/imake: Command not found
make[2]: *** [xmakefile] Error 127
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/tmp/portage/xfree-4.3.0-r3/work/xc'
make[1]: *** [imake.bootstrap] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/tmp/portage/xfree-4.3.0-r3/work/xc'
make: *** [World] Error 2
!!! ERROR: x11-base/xfree-4.3.0-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 476, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)
|
Looking further up I notice the following:
Code: | cd ./config/imake && make -f Makefile.proto all
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/tmp/portage/xfree-4.3.0-r3/work/xc/config/imake'
ansi -pedantic -Wno-return-type -w -I../../include -I../../exports/include/X11 -I../.. -I../../exports/include -Dlinux -D__alpha__ -D_POSIX_C_SOURCE=199309L -D_POSIX_SOURCE -D_XOPEN_SOURCE -D_BSD_SOURCE -D_SVID_SOURCE -D_GNU_SOURCE -DFUNCPROTO=15 -DNARROWPROTO -DCPP_PROGRAM="\"/usr/bin/cpp\"" -DHAS_MERGE_CONSTANTS=`if -fmerge-constants -xc /dev/null -S -o /dev/null 2> /dev/null 1> /dev/null; then echo 1; else echo 0; fi` -c -o imake.o imake.c
/bin/sh: ansi: command not found
make[2]: [imake.o] Error 127 (ignored)
rm -f imake
o imake -ansi -pedantic -Wno-return-type -w imake.o -Wl,-rpath-link,../../exports/lib
/bin/sh: o: command not found
make[2]: [imake] Error 127 (ignored)
|
So it seems that the compiler flags are being passed as a command instead of an argument. My make.conf has the same as whatever is in the installation instructions for Alpha, and I've tried removing any additional flags to see if that helps but the same (or similar) error persists. I'm probably missing something really obvious here but I just can't see it.
Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jehu n00b
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 Posts: 2 Location: UK
|
Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, think I found the problem. The COMPILER environment variable seems to be set by default to 'gcc3', but:
nick@lungfish nick $ gcc3 -v
bash: gcc3: command not found
So setting COMPILER to just 'gcc' instead means that it's now happily compiling away. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|