Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[mkvtoolnix] dbus dependency removal question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not surprised at the comment, as far as git, it's a good place to keep the patch.

Now you know why I don't bother with trying to get the devs to do anything.

Once again, with mkvtoolnix I have walked away from modifying the ebuild, as it's easy enough to put "qtdbus" in package.provided and just leave the ebuild as is, the patch already turns off dbus/qtdbus in the configure section. So the solution is self-contained, ie don't depend on upstream/gentoo devs, to make things work our way.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not add an appropriate configure option to the patch so that it could be applied unconditionally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 667
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Not surprised at the comment, as far as git, it's a good place to keep the patch.

Now you know why I don't bother with trying to get the devs to do anything.

If we can at least have this dbus USE flag commit accepted, it will be a first step. :o After all, if this is ever solved upstream, it will be needed.

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Once again, with mkvtoolnix I have walked away from modifying the ebuild, as it's easy enough to put "qtdbus" in package.provided and just leave the ebuild as is, the patch already turns off dbus/qtdbus in the configure section. So the solution is self-contained, ie don't depend on upstream/gentoo devs, to make things work our way.

I never used package.provided, it seems indeed a really neat way to be done with it. Thanks for the tip. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 667
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Why not add an appropriate configure option to the patch so that it could be applied unconditionally?

How ? Sorry but I'm not an expert as you guess. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

charles17 wrote:
Why not add an appropriate configure option to the patch so that it could be applied unconditionally?


You mean make it work so upstream might accept it?

When I first started these type patches, I did add a configure option, but over time I changed my view on the need for it.
People either have dbus on their system or they don't. If they have it, then no need for this patch at all or a configure option.
If they have dbus installed, then they can use the patch because they don't care about ever turning on dbis by way of a configure option, just remove/rename patch.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 667
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I closed the pull request as even adding dbus USE flag is not acceptable. If it gets fixed upstream, I will open a new pull request. Meanwhile, I will follow Anon-E-moose wisdom :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With just patches and package.provided, I've been able to avoid having dbus on my system, it has worked for mkvtoolnix, makemkv and gtk3, all with just using the standard ebuild (less work for me and it keeps my local repo size down)
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9330

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
You mean make it work so upstream might accept it?

Upstream: "I'll gladly integrate it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looking at /var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-48.0.0/work/mkvtoolnix-48.0.0/configure, what would be needed to add such configure option for an upstreamable patch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I'm not mistaken the configure script is wrong on setting the qtdbus flag.

Code:
HAVE_QTDBUS is undefined
...
      if test -n "$PKG_CONFIG" && \
    { { $as_echo "$as_me:${as_lineno-$LINENO}: \$PKG_CONFIG --exists --print-errors \"Qt5DBus\""; } >&5
  ($PKG_CONFIG --exists --print-errors "Qt5DBus") 2>&5
  ac_status=$?
  $as_echo "$as_me:${as_lineno-$LINENO}: \$? = $ac_status" >&5
  test $ac_status = 0; }; then
  with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
fi

$as_echo "#define HAVE_QTDBUS 1" >>confdefs.h


Shouldn't the last line HAVE_QTDBUS be inside the fi and only triggered off if qtdbus is found???

Edit to add: If the "define" should go with the with_qt_pkg_config_modules part of the if, then there would not need to be a patch and a simple flag for include/exclude qtdbus in the ebuild would work for all parties.

ETA2: what made me look at this was I compiled without the patch, which it acknowledged not having qtdbus, in the config.log, but it set the HAVE_QTDBUS flag anyway, which causes a compile error as it looks for qtdbus header files.

ETA3: This is from the configure.ac which generates the above section from configure
Code:
    if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
      PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"])
      AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
    fi


But what should be is something like this

Code:
  with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus" && $as_echo "#define HAVE_QTDBUS 1" >>confdefs.h

That way the HAVE flag is only set if it sees confirmation from pkg-config.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, straightened out the configure script.

Code:
$ cat qt5-m4.patch
--- a/ac/qt5.m4   2019-08-24 03:04:11.000000000 -0500
+++ b/ac/qt5.m4   2020-07-29 10:14:27.901248847 -0500
@@ -170,8 +170,11 @@
     fi
 
     if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
-      PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"])
-      AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+      PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[dbus_found=yes],[dbus_found=no])
+      if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
+        with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
+        AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+      fi
     fi
 
     with_qt_pkg_config_modules="`echo "$with_qt_pkg_config_modules" | sed -e 's/,/ /g'`"


Code:
$ cat qt5-configure.patch
--- a/configure   2019-08-24 03:04:21.000000000 -0500
+++ b/configure   2020-07-29 10:24:13.859876315 -0500
@@ -9188,11 +9188,16 @@
   ac_status=$?
   $as_echo "$as_me:${as_lineno-$LINENO}: \$? = $ac_status" >&5
   test $ac_status = 0; }; then
-  with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
+  dbus_found=yes
+else
+  dbus_found=no
 fi
+      if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
+        with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
 
 $as_echo "#define HAVE_QTDBUS 1" >>confdefs.h
 
+      fi
     fi
 
     with_qt_pkg_config_modules="`echo "$with_qt_pkg_config_modules" | sed -e 's/,/ /g'`"


This properly looks for qtdbus and if not found, skips that part of the code.

So two things needed, upstream to accept patch or gentoo-dev accept patch AND add a dbus flag to ebuild to include/exclude qtdbus (include should be default)
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 667
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Anon-E-Moose, I've posted on a comment with your patches here : https://gitlab.com/mbunkus/mkvtoolnix/-/issues/2886
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If he accepts it (he should as it just fixes a flaw) then the only thing needed is to have the ebuild changed to make a qtdbus use flag, for inclusion/exclusion.

Edit to add: Just checked

Quote:
Maintainer

Thanks. I've verified (in the sense that my installation which does contain Qt with DBus still detects DBus & compiles) & applied the patch.

_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something like this should work.

Code:
$ cat /tmp/mkvtoolnix-48.patch
--- a/mkvtoolnix-48.0.0.ebuild   2020-06-29 22:09:06.000000000 -0500
+++ b/mkvtoolnix-48.0.0.ebuild   2020-07-30 07:15:45.984797630 -0500
@@ -19,7 +19,7 @@
 
 LICENSE="GPL-2"
 SLOT="0"
-IUSE="debug dvd nls pch test qt5"
+IUSE="dbus debug dvd nls pch test qt5"
 RESTRICT="!test? ( test )"
 
 # check NEWS.md for build system changes entries for boost/libebml/libmatroska
@@ -38,7 +38,7 @@
    dvd? ( media-libs/libdvdread:= )
    qt5? (
       dev-qt/qtcore:5
-      dev-qt/qtdbus:5
+      dbus? ( dev-qt/qtdbus:5 )
       dev-qt/qtgui:5
       dev-qt/qtnetwork:5
       dev-qt/qtwidgets:5


Edit to add: and if the dev says qtdbus needs to be optional in the tarball, it is already optional, if it doesn't see it by way of pkg-config it bypasses it in the configure script. So if it's not pulled in by way of a not-needed dependency then it becomes optional.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9330

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's still not providing a build switch, the automagic issue is left unaddressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
That's still not providing a build switch, the automagic issue is left unaddressed.


??? expound please on both build switch and automagic.

Since I used (reused?) the dbus flag, it should satisfy all parties, as a switch. ETA: and IMO, it is the proper flag to use as qtdbus is just a fancy wrapper around dbus.
Those who have the dbus flag set will likely already have qtdbus/dbus installed
Those who don't have it set, simply won't pull in qtdbus (because of the ebuild) as it's not needed.

Configure script is already fixed upstream ... the accepted and applied patch to code.
It always tried to determine whether qtdbus was installed by checking pkg-config, they just misplaced an assertion (outside of an if, instead of inside where it belonged)
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9330

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

USE="-dbus" must guarantee to build without dev-qt/qtdbus:5 even if it is installed. An according build switch in autotools will often be named "--with[out]-dbus" or "--(en|dis)able-dbus".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand now.

That would indeed require a with/without flag and more logic in the configure area.
Not that difficult to add, but I'm not sure if it will be accepted, since it would only be there for gentoo's way of doing things and only for a subset of the gentoo population.

So, I guess instead of changing the ebuiid the proper way to bypass qtdbus is with package.provided.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sdauth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Sep 2018
Posts: 667
Location: Ásgarðr

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

asturm wrote:
USE="-dbus" must guarantee to build without dev-qt/qtdbus:5 even if it is installed. An according build switch in autotools will often be named "--with[out]-dbus" or "--(en|dis)able-dbus".


Indeed.
@a17r commented (on github)
>This would effectively introduce build system automagic to Gentoo ebuilds which is unacceptable. If sys-apps/dbus is installed, your ebuild would link to it no matter what the status of USE=dbus is. If the flag has no according build system switch it can not be added.

Well at least, we won't need the patch anymore in the upcoming releases. (only need to remove that qtdbus USE by ourselves or use package.provided) until a build switch to disable dbus is implemented in mkvtoolnix if I'm understanding this correctly.
Thanks Anon-E-moose, I like it when /etc/portage/patches is empty. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Question for asturm, if I fix configure to properly accept/deny dbus, does it still have to be upstream accepted, or can we apply by way of local files dir patch and then a -dbus flag in the ebuild?


I ask because even though they have a patch now applied, it's not in the 48.0.0 version and I'm not sure when it will be applied so that we see it in the tarball.
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patch to add dbus enable/disable to configure script

Code:
$ cat /tmp/qt5dbus-mkvtoolnix.patch
--- a/ac/qt5.m4   2020-07-30 10:09:28.548698242 -0500
+++ b/ac/qt5.m4   2020-07-30 10:38:23.190676414 -0500
@@ -14,6 +14,11 @@
 AC_ARG_WITH([qt_pkg_config],
   AC_HELP_STRING([--without-qt-pkg-config], [do not use pkg-config for detecting Qt; instead rely on QT_CFLAGS/QT_LIBS being set correctly already]),
   [ with_qt_pkg_config=${withval} ], [ with_qt_pkg_config=yes ])
+AC_ARG_ENABLE([dbus],
+  AC_HELP_STRING([--enable-dbus],[enable/disable qtdbus/dbus from being included in build (yes)]),
+  [],[enable_dbus=yes])
+
+
 
 if test x"$enable_qt" = "xyes" -a \
   '(' x"$enable_gui" = x"yes" -o x"$enable_gui" = "x" ')'; then
@@ -169,11 +174,13 @@
       AC_MSG_RESULT(no: not found by pkg-config)
     fi
 
-    if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
-      PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[dbus_found=yes],[dbus_found=no])
-      if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
-        with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
-        AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+    if test x"$enable_dbus" = xyes; then
+      if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
+        PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[dbus_found=yes],[dbus_found=no])
+        if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
+          with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
+          AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+        fi
       fi
     fi


and the ebuild

Code:
$ diff -u /usr/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0.ebuild /usr/local/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0.ebuild
--- /usr/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0.ebuild   2019-12-10 17:41:55.000000000 -0600
+++ /usr/local/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0.ebuild   2020-07-30 11:01:16.742724739 -0500
@@ -19,7 +19,7 @@
 
 LICENSE="GPL-2"
 SLOT="0"
-IUSE="debug nls pch test qt5"
+IUSE="+dbus debug nls pch test qt5"
 RESTRICT="!test? ( test )"
 
 # check NEWS.md for build system changes entries for boost/libebml/libmatroska
@@ -37,7 +37,7 @@
    sys-libs/zlib
    qt5? (
       dev-qt/qtcore:5
-      dev-qt/qtdbus:5
+      dbus? ( dev-qt/qtdbus:5 )
       dev-qt/qtgui:5
       dev-qt/qtnetwork:5
       dev-qt/qtwidgets:5
@@ -80,6 +80,7 @@
       $(use_enable debug)
       $(usex pch "" --disable-precompiled-headers)
       $(use_enable qt5 qt)
+      $(use_enable dbus)
       $(use_with nls gettext)
       $(usex nls "" --with-po4a-translate=false)
       --disable-update-check

_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23026

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
So, I guess instead of changing the ebuiid the proper way to bypass qtdbus is with package.provided.
The intended use of package.provided is to inform Portage that the named package(s) already exist on the system outside Portage's control, so there is no need to install a Portage-managed copy. You can abuse it for the purpose of defeating a dependency check, but there is a risk. Since package.provided is global, Portage now believes the named package is installed and will not try to install it, nor notify you of its absence, whenever it does a dependency check for any package. That is fine if you confine yourself to ebuilds where the dependency is wrong (and the ebuild works fine without the package). If someday you install something that needs qtdbus, the build will fail when it does not find qtdbus. You will not get an advance warning from Portage that the package requires a masked dependency, nor will Portage ask to install the dependency.

If this is a trade you are willing to make, go ahead. Personally, if I had only a small number of packages for which I knew the dependency was wrong, I would consider omitting qtdbus from package.provided and relying on patching out the dependency in the ebuild, so that I am not caught by surprise when something new depends on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charles17
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Mar 2008
Posts: 3685

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose wrote:
Patch to add dbus enable/disable to configure script

Code:
$ cat /tmp/qt5dbus-mkvtoolnix.patch
--- a/ac/qt5.m4   2020-07-30 10:09:28.548698242 -0500
+++ b/ac/qt5.m4   2020-07-30 10:38:23.190676414 -0500
@@ -14,6 +14,11 @@
 AC_ARG_WITH([qt_pkg_config],
   AC_HELP_STRING([--without-qt-pkg-config], [do not use pkg-config for detecting Qt; instead rely on QT_CFLAGS/QT_LIBS being set correctly already]),
   [ with_qt_pkg_config=${withval} ], [ with_qt_pkg_config=yes ])
+AC_ARG_ENABLE([dbus],
+  AC_HELP_STRING([--enable-dbus],[enable/disable qtdbus/dbus from being included in build (yes)]),
+  [],[enable_dbus=yes])
+
+
 
 if test x"$enable_qt" = "xyes" -a \
   '(' x"$enable_gui" = x"yes" -o x"$enable_gui" = "x" ')'; then
@@ -169,11 +174,13 @@
       AC_MSG_RESULT(no: not found by pkg-config)
     fi
 
-    if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
-      PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[dbus_found=yes],[dbus_found=no])
-      if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
-        with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
-        AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+    if test x"$enable_dbus" = xyes; then
+      if test x"$MINGW" != x1 && ! echo "$host" | grep -q -i apple ; then
+        PKG_CHECK_EXISTS([Qt5DBus],[dbus_found=yes],[dbus_found=no])
+        if test x"$dbus_found" = xyes; then
+          with_qt_pkg_config_modules="$with_qt_pkg_config_modules,Qt5DBus"
+          AC_DEFINE(HAVE_QTDBUS, 1, [Define if QtDBus is present])
+        fi
       fi
     fi

With that I am receiving configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --disable-dbus and
Code:
configure: WARNING: unrecognized options: --disable-dbus

The mkvtoolnix configuration is complete.
Optional features that are built:
   * FLAC audio
   * libMagic file type detection
Optional features that are NOT built:
   * online update check in the GUI
   * AppImage compatibility
   * debugging information
   * compiler optimizations
   * profiling support
   * development technique 'address sanitizer'
   * development technique 'undefined behavior sanitizer'
   * pre-compiled headers
   * make a static build of the applications
   * MKVToolNix GUI
   * man page translations (po4a)
   * translations (gettext)
>>> Source configured.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/work/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0 ...
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/temp/environment: line 1872: rake: command not found
 * ERROR: media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0::testing failed (compile phase):
 *   (no error message)
 *
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line 125:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 1872:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       rake V=1 -j$(makeopts_jobs) || die
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0::testing'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0::testing'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/temp/environment'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/work/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0/work/mkvtoolnix-37.0.0'

build environment
emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fedeliallalinea
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 31431
Location: here

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to change in ebuild $(use_enable dbus) with --enable-dbus=$(usex dbus)
_________________
Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 6198
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somehow the patch got mangled, I'm straightening it out, should have it fixed soon.

Edit to add: yesterday it rebuilt configure when the qt5.m4 file changed, but it's not doing that this morning.
Eta2: I forgot to make sure qt5.m4 was the clean version before I created the diff :roll:
_________________
UM780, 6.12 zen kernel, gcc 13, openrc, wayland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum